Gigabyte X58A UD3R V2 Review

AIDA64 and PC Mark Vantage

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review

AIDA64

AIDA64 uses different methodology to Sandra and it shows with some variance in our results. The CPU Hash benchmark, which is encryption based, follows the CPU speed pretty closely. zLib has slightly odder results giving nothing extra to the 4GHz UD3R result, but then the 4.4GHz overclock decimates the rest of the chart. PhotoWorxx gives the edge at stock to the Sabertooth and CPU Queen has everything back to normal.

Admittedly none of the differences are striking or even remotely large, but they are what they are.

 

PC Mark Vantage

PC Mark always tests the whole of the system and so can usually give a wider range of results on theoretically identical hardware. Running at stock the UD3R really takes the Sabertooth to task, beating it in all of our tests. Some of the improvements can be down to running the Catalyst 10.10c drivers on the UD3R tests instead of the 10.9s we ran on the Sabertooth, but the results cannot be denied.

Once overclocked we can again see how the i7-950 just adores a good overclock with the scores getting further apart the more you overclock it. Yes that might sound obvious, but if the different between 4GHz and 4.2GHz is worth 400 PC Marks then we'd expect the 4.4GHz UD3R v2 to get 10300, but it nearly cracks 11000. The gaming test is an ever starker demonstration of how the i7-950 starts to stretch its legs as you head towards 4.5GHz, and the improved power phases of the UD3R v2 can easily keep up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2010, 05:50:10

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have updated their best selling UD3 motherboard with extra power-phases. Does it help it keep up with the best value boards?

Continue Reading

08-11-2010, 06:44:08

F-alienware
Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.

08-11-2010, 06:57:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.
We'll soon see Ive got the UD7 V2 to do next

08-11-2010, 07:14:19

F-alienware
Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review

08-11-2010, 07:17:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review
Not quite the way to look at it, but i get where you are coming from.

08-11-2010, 09:00:57

THD
I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS

08-11-2010, 09:31:30

F-alienware
Hey THD.

I guess it all depends on looks. Personally I think the Saber kicks the 3's butt when it comes to looks, but hey, performance can not be ignored.

The original UD3 won so many gold awards it would make your head spin. I don't like Gigabyte's colour schemes on their boards but hey, who effing cares when they kick so much ass?

08-11-2010, 11:23:28

kemical
I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what



08-11-2010, 12:13:22

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS
Well I got the same problem. From reading both reviews there is no difference other than looks. I really like the design of the Sabertooth so I'll probably be going with it for my next build. Also I think you get a 5 year guarantee with the Asus. But I guess choose which one you like best from the looks or the name.

Cheers,

08-11-2010, 12:48:52

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what

]


That sabertooth rig looks really cool.

08-11-2010, 15:27:10

Xeno_Crux
Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?

08-11-2010, 15:31:24

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeno_Crux View Post

Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?
Tired?

13-11-2010, 06:21:55

SpriteAlpha
Hi. How does the P6X58D-E compare with this board and the Sabertooth? I'm trying to decide between the 3. I know the P6X58D-E has 16 phase power, so maybe that would help with overclocking?

Thanks.

24-11-2010, 17:22:13

MSIRawZ
Nice board and layout but struggles with high OC's with regards to cold boot failures. I prefer the ASUS P6X58D-E and MSI X58A-GD65, especially the latter.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.