Gigabyte X58A UD3R V2 Review

UD3R Up Close

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review

Up Close

The UD3R v2 certainly doesn't push any boats out when it comes to design, following on perfectly from its v1 counterpart and the rest of the Gigabyte range. An information packed box gives way to the standard blue board with sky-blue and white slots that we're all familiar with.

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review     Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review  

Here you can see the many PCIe slots with the rather curiously placed legacy PCI slot as I mentioned in the video. You can also see on the bottom right the red-marked "Charge" USB header. This allows a much greater power-draw than USB standards so you can charge your iPhone/Mobile much quicker than normal.

The CPU area is where the main changes are found with the increased amount of power circuitry to better deliver smooth power and greater overclocking performance. The Gigabyte heatsinks always look lovely with clear writing and a nice deeper blue than that of the slots.

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review     Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review  

The RAM area is kept fairly clear. Normally this is where companies cram those few things they couldn't find room for elsewhere but Gigabytes design keeps everything in sensible places and allows this to have maximum airflow to keep the DIMMs and CPU cool.

Despite still retaining FDD and IDE compatibility the focus is definitely on SATA slots with 6 SATA 2 and 4 SATA 6G/bps sockets covering your storage requirements.

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review     Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review  

The front panel connectors, so often a bane of our lives, are once again well served by Gigabytes continued use of a very clear, colour-coordinated, header.

The IO panel contains everything you'd expect to see from PS2 ports, SPDIF, USB 3.0 to Audio, Firewire and LAN.

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review     Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2010, 05:50:10

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have updated their best selling UD3 motherboard with extra power-phases. Does it help it keep up with the best value boards?

Continue Reading

08-11-2010, 06:44:08

F-alienware
Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.

08-11-2010, 06:57:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.
We'll soon see Ive got the UD7 V2 to do next

08-11-2010, 07:14:19

F-alienware
Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review

08-11-2010, 07:17:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review
Not quite the way to look at it, but i get where you are coming from.

08-11-2010, 09:00:57

THD
I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS

08-11-2010, 09:31:30

F-alienware
Hey THD.

I guess it all depends on looks. Personally I think the Saber kicks the 3's butt when it comes to looks, but hey, performance can not be ignored.

The original UD3 won so many gold awards it would make your head spin. I don't like Gigabyte's colour schemes on their boards but hey, who effing cares when they kick so much ass?

08-11-2010, 11:23:28

kemical
I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what



08-11-2010, 12:13:22

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS
Well I got the same problem. From reading both reviews there is no difference other than looks. I really like the design of the Sabertooth so I'll probably be going with it for my next build. Also I think you get a 5 year guarantee with the Asus. But I guess choose which one you like best from the looks or the name.

Cheers,

08-11-2010, 12:48:52

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what

]


That sabertooth rig looks really cool.

08-11-2010, 15:27:10

Xeno_Crux
Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?

08-11-2010, 15:31:24

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeno_Crux View Post

Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?
Tired?

13-11-2010, 06:21:55

SpriteAlpha
Hi. How does the P6X58D-E compare with this board and the Sabertooth? I'm trying to decide between the 3. I know the P6X58D-E has 16 phase power, so maybe that would help with overclocking?

Thanks.

24-11-2010, 17:22:13

MSIRawZ
Nice board and layout but struggles with high OC's with regards to cold boot failures. I prefer the ASUS P6X58D-E and MSI X58A-GD65, especially the latter.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.