Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

The Board Itself

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

The Board Itself

Damn it's a looker. This board, clad in black and orange, is so gorgeous that we had to keep VB locked in a cage to stop him slavering over it too much, being the orange and black lover that he is. He isn't alone. If red and black apes the classical hot-rods it's something we've grown used to. We can only recall one other black and orange board, and by god does the X58A-OC look the absolute Daddy.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review  

Many manufacturers claim they have a good overclocking motherboard, or even that theirs is specifically designed for overclockers. Gigabyte have stolen a march with the X58A-OC though, as it's specifically designed for extreme overclockers. Rather than simply give an extra couple of power phases, the whole CPU area has been designed to be as flat as possible to ensure that the important protective putty is easy to apply, and also that even enormous pots for DICE or LN2 can be accommodated without any fuss at all.

Here we see the overclock buttons and voltage monitoring points in all their glory.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review  

It is such a beautiful board that we really can't stop ogling it. Everywhere you look there is something to catch your eye from the clever heatsink design to the placement of the CMOS battery well away from any potential sub-zero covering.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review  

Even the PCIe slots have an extra large space between them to ensure either great airflow, or easy application of the board-saving putty.

Just take a look at the CPU area one more time. When you compare it to any similar socket area you can really get an appreciation for the thought behind the X58A-OC.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-06-2011, 08:10:17

tinytomlogan
Today we have something different at OC3D, a review of the dedicated overclocking board from Gigabyte, and starring 20KG of DICE.



Continue Reading

27-06-2011, 09:12:53

SieB
Brilliant review, I enjoyed watching all the vids and following all the updates on FB. Also refreshing to see a review done in a different way, was a good break from the norm.

The Board is not only a looker but also a performance beast and if I was going x58 i'd definitely be tempted to buy it.

27-06-2011, 09:35:15

jonowee
TTL has got his bounce back after having his sub-zero cherry popped . There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.

27-06-2011, 09:39:27

dugdiamond
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

... There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.
the thanks and member's acknowledgements is enough is for me. cheers peeps

27-06-2011, 16:15:39

GODuk
73Ghz WHAAA!!

Bloody hell...

28-06-2011, 09:01:30

marsey99
the gold and performance awards are nothing, the big cheesey ttl grin award is priceless

28-06-2011, 09:02:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

TTL has got his bounce back after having his sub-zero cherry popped . There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.
Cant put it everywhere, Dug was credited on the TTL facebook page though

28-06-2011, 16:59:39

kilobravo
This is one of the best reviews on any review-site.Looked at all the videos on the gigabyte x58a-oc.Farking amazing stuff

28-06-2011, 17:32:22

Bungral
Nice review mate. Was wondering where you'd been hiding.

Locked yourself away with some hardware and dice!

16-07-2012, 00:12:37

Humanoid1
hehe, looks like you guys had some fun with this one

I just got hold of one of these myself and an X5650 with some 8-8-8-24 1600MHz memory
- and as soon as my Noctua NH-D14 arrives I will be seeing where I can go with all this little setup

Whatever it's going to be a Great step up from my trusty aging Q6600 @ 3.5GHz

I Love this sense of anticipation

oh, and thanks for the great reviews, you saved me from buying a Thermolab Trinity. Budget was running low and seemed a great cooler for the price on other review sites...
But the D14 with its lack of thermal runaway kinda swung me ~_^

26-09-2013, 10:24:58

nrage
"designed for one this above all others" .. thing perhaps?

26-09-2013, 11:06:48

SuB
Err Necro because?

26-09-2013, 11:33:03

Spiderz
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Err Necro because?
probably because it was posted to the OC3D facebook page earlier on

26-09-2013, 14:55:07

SuB
Oh aye see nobody tells me these things >.<
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.