Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

Special Features

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

Special Features

To say the X58A is singular in its purpose is doing it a disservice, but the box reflects this hardcore ethos by being one of the most minimalist affairs we can recall. Around the front at least. Round the back there is a plethora of elements highlighting the parts of the board that really matter for those world-breaking overclocks.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review  

Let there be no doubt that this board can supply more power than you could ever possibly hope to need. 1.2 KW of CPU power sir? Combine this with the exceptional quality of the power-phases employed on the X58A-OC and you start to get a glimpse of the levels that the Gigabyte board can attain.

As we shall see later on, the ability to tweak the board to a near infinite degree is absolutely vital. We've seen a few boards that come with BCLK adjustments, but the amount that have a ratio adjuster built in are less than a handful. It's some measure of the board that there is an automatic 4GHz button. When the LGA1366 was first upon us 4GHz was a magical benchmark that only the finest could hit. Here it's considered such a given that it's a one-button base-camp before you begin to climb Everest.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review  

Of course heat is the absolute killer when it comes to overclocking, and so it's no surprise to find the X58A-OC is replete with 7 fan headers, all of them the 4-pin variety. Rather than cut corners, Gigabyte have sharpened them.

At the potentially incredible (insane?) speeds available power is the other primary concern and fantastic amounts are available on both the CPU side of things and, as we see here, on the PCIe side too.

Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review     Gigabyte X58A-OC Sub Zero Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-06-2011, 08:10:17

tinytomlogan
Today we have something different at OC3D, a review of the dedicated overclocking board from Gigabyte, and starring 20KG of DICE.



Continue Reading

27-06-2011, 09:12:53

SieB
Brilliant review, I enjoyed watching all the vids and following all the updates on FB. Also refreshing to see a review done in a different way, was a good break from the norm.

The Board is not only a looker but also a performance beast and if I was going x58 i'd definitely be tempted to buy it.

27-06-2011, 09:35:15

jonowee
TTL has got his bounce back after having his sub-zero cherry popped . There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.

27-06-2011, 09:39:27

dugdiamond
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

... There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.
the thanks and member's acknowledgements is enough is for me. cheers peeps

27-06-2011, 16:15:39

GODuk
73Ghz WHAAA!!

Bloody hell...

28-06-2011, 09:01:30

marsey99
the gold and performance awards are nothing, the big cheesey ttl grin award is priceless

28-06-2011, 09:02:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

TTL has got his bounce back after having his sub-zero cherry popped . There has to be a way to credit dugdiamond with the 980X coffin model image in the written review and maybe add in the description on youtube.
Cant put it everywhere, Dug was credited on the TTL facebook page though

28-06-2011, 16:59:39

kilobravo
This is one of the best reviews on any review-site.Looked at all the videos on the gigabyte x58a-oc.Farking amazing stuff

28-06-2011, 17:32:22

Bungral
Nice review mate. Was wondering where you'd been hiding.

Locked yourself away with some hardware and dice!

16-07-2012, 00:12:37

Humanoid1
hehe, looks like you guys had some fun with this one

I just got hold of one of these myself and an X5650 with some 8-8-8-24 1600MHz memory
- and as soon as my Noctua NH-D14 arrives I will be seeing where I can go with all this little setup

Whatever it's going to be a Great step up from my trusty aging Q6600 @ 3.5GHz

I Love this sense of anticipation

oh, and thanks for the great reviews, you saved me from buying a Thermolab Trinity. Budget was running low and seemed a great cooler for the price on other review sites...
But the D14 with its lack of thermal runaway kinda swung me ~_^

26-09-2013, 10:24:58

nrage
"designed for one this above all others" .. thing perhaps?

26-09-2013, 11:06:48

SuB
Err Necro because?

26-09-2013, 11:33:03

Spiderz
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Err Necro because?
probably because it was posted to the OC3D facebook page earlier on

26-09-2013, 14:55:07

SuB
Oh aye see nobody tells me these things >.<
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.