Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

X58-OC Hardware p0rn

   Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

First Look

Now I'm not going to babble (too much) here. Get the tissues, sit back and enjoy.

 

Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview

    Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview    

  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview
  Gigabyte X58-OC Preview  

Ok that's it I'm spent. Clean up and then join me over the page for the video and to get this little lot wrapped up.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-04-2011, 07:00:18

tinytomlogan
We take a first look at what could be the best hardcore overclocking motherboard on the planet...



Continue Reading

21-04-2011, 08:28:26

Ya93sin
Forget tissues, I needed towels

21-04-2011, 08:31:20

Alicarve
i do like the colour scheme, cant wait to see the performance it is gonna kick out

21-04-2011, 09:17:50

Taurus
cant wait to see the full review!!

21-04-2011, 09:49:57

Karlos_the_n00b
Thanks for the preview Tom. Really looking forward to see what you can do with it.

Anyone else think those sata power connectors for the PCI-E slots are genius? Why haven't we seen those before instead of power connectors mounted half way up the board? Really hope those catch on.

21-04-2011, 11:18:53

SieB
/Drools

21-04-2011, 12:08:57

marsey99
Karlos its what happens when they let an end user design the product, we know that placing things in the right place can make things so much better for us. The fan headers are another example of this tbh.

Really I think its because when you put the board on subzero cooling the more normal places for them are unavailable as the pot/mount/insulation block access.

Don't forget Tom, you will need food xD

Can't wait to see what you can get out of it

21-04-2011, 12:41:07

dugdiamond
nice board... just one comment:

why do the board manufacturers forget about the system panel connectors alignment, compared with the latest 'chunky' 2 (and 3 slot) GPU cards?

these GPUs overhang over the connectors, making it impossible to fit the last graphics card into last PCI-E (#4 in the scenario).

unless you broke your GPU warranty, but replacing their cooling solution with your own, four-way crossfire would be unobtainable!

21-04-2011, 12:55:51

rybo
what do you no about the gigabyte x58-oc? magic,hole lotta magic! this thing f rocks!

21-04-2011, 14:42:23

marsey99
the people who buy these boards wont be putting them in a case dug so front panel connectivity isnt an issue, it has power buttons on board and they are what will be used.

its a board for benching not to live in a case imo.

21-04-2011, 15:03:56

dugdiamond
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

the people who buy these boards wont be putting them in a case dug so front panel connectivity isnt an issue, it has power buttons on board and they are what will be used.

its a board for benching not to live in a case imo.
so.... why put those pins there? they have taken other 'things' off

21-04-2011, 15:21:06

Grizzly
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

so.... why put those pins there? they have taken other 'things' off
If they put them on there then the board is likely to appeal to a wider range of people, the option to put it in a case is still there.

If they took the headers off then nobody but benchers would buy the motherboard.

21-04-2011, 16:14:37

marsey99
pretty much what grizzly said, people are going to see this board stomp all over the wr for overclocking and then buy it for their machine regardless of whether they are ocing to extremes or not, some just want the epeen.

22-04-2011, 00:50:12

Game Over
If I had that Board, I would go with a blue and orange theme, paint the confederate flag on the top, the number 01 on the side and name it the General Lee.

22-04-2011, 04:24:09

dipzy
to solve the front panel connector issue, i think manufacturers should put them at a 90 degree angle like the sata ports, that would be much better me thinks

22-04-2011, 05:12:30

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Game Over View Post

If I had that Board, I would go with a blue and orange theme, paint the confederate flag on the top, the number 01 on the side and name it the General Lee.
lol

23-04-2011, 06:47:13

wotevajjjj
Hicookie already went 7gHz with a 990x on this board

23-04-2011, 18:42:44

HeaT
Sexy mobo!

24-04-2011, 13:11:55

pazman4
great overview as always tom

24-04-2011, 13:36:04

Rasmus66
It's a good looking board but the price tag is

To exspensive for my taste. I'd rather have a R3E Black Edition where you get that sound/network card.

24-04-2011, 13:46:17

Steve Barnes
I know this is an overclockers board,but will be interesting to see how well games play on it.

24-04-2011, 17:54:25

MxFScotch
Tom must be still playing with this thing... I'm reall interested in seeing what he gets. I wanta video . Ill wait patiently, seeing a few from hicookie at 6.580ghz. Under ln2 of course.

24-04-2011, 17:57:25

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MxFScotch View Post

Tom must be still playing with this thing... I'm reall interested in seeing what he gets. I wanta video . Ill wait patiently, seeing a few from hicookie at 6.580ghz. Under ln2 of course.
Youll be waiting for a while matey, its not a 5minute thing and Ive not turned it on since thursday

24-04-2011, 18:14:03

MxFScotch
I completely understand that bro. I'm patient. Just looks like that'd be a fun board to play with.

04-05-2011, 12:01:15

Mr Moose
I really want to get my hands on one of these, and if the price is right (as you just wrote on facebook) then I think I might have to take one for a spin .

12-05-2011, 06:19:19

Jerome
wow! Glad for you guys that is mmmm nice I like that you know what your doing, I wana learn Amazing the power it likes My electronics college teachers would be very satisfied if they see that, gosh The love in that board, amazing Good luck Tom, good luck

Thanks

01-06-2011, 06:31:33

Bosskahuna
This looks like the cats meow! I just hope you don't have to do anything silly to it like I had to mill off about 4mm on the heatsink for the mosfets. Only 2 touched the thermal pad, the rest of the heat sink hit other components on the board. So much for MSI's flagship... I hope Gigabyte will do me proud!

07-06-2011, 03:57:25

SirPhilby
Hey Tom what's happening with this board?

22-06-2011, 13:20:51

RizeAllard
I can't wait for the results... Just to see the differences between OC and UD7...

22-06-2011, 14:35:45

Celticbattlepants
Just watched the new vid....dry ice! Hoohoo gonna be good. I would say one thing about dry ice though, if you have any left over on friday night and you go to the boozer, one wee block of dry ice in your mates pint can have a spectacular effect Just wear gloves though...

22-06-2011, 22:38:04

yggdrasil
I just watched the Matrix first look video then watched the Gigabyte X58A-OC video.

I would love to see these two together

23-06-2011, 04:08:10

kohlm901
Hey, just watched the Gigabyte X58-OC - dry ice video. Sorry if this is the wrong thread to ask this question.

Why do you have to import dry ice into the UK??

I can go to my local grocery store and just ask for some.

Its not "sold on the shelves," but I can just go in the back to the meat department and they'll gladly give me a couple pounds (lbs.) for free!

I use it to ship perishables to family across the country and not pay over-night rates.

(Yes, I know the package has to have ventalation).

Just curious, seems odd.

I'm not a Yank, btw, I'm a Cajun

23-06-2011, 08:14:21

Celticbattlepants
Hey kohlm901,

We dont have to import dry ice, its made in the uk! Most suppliers do mail or internet order, as it has a limited shelf life and doesnt have a huge number of uses outside industry (do smoke machines still use CO2?). The lab I work in goes through hundreds of kilos a year, all made locally!

Just realised why may have asked that. Tom lives on the Isle of Wight (I think!) and they may not have local suppliers there.

23-06-2011, 08:38:46

kohlm901
OK, thanks Celticbattlepants.

Like I said, that seemed odd. But if Tom is on a small Isle, that makes sense.

BTW, I'd like to see the guys' faces if I said I needed 50lbs. of dry ice to use on my computer!

Anyway, good luck TTL!

23-06-2011, 11:17:46

Rasmus66
Nice videos

Looking forward to seeing some results.

But next time give the board some plastic paint around the socket area it's easy to remove again and gives a bit more protection against condensation

23-06-2011, 12:29:36

Ming
I'm moving to Sandown (Isle of Wight) in a few months, got a job as a complimentary therapist there. See ya soon Tom lol.

Cant wait to see the rest of the video's, hopefully Gigabyte won't want the board back!!

23-06-2011, 18:57:00

jonowee
I'd thought I'd share with non TTL facebook peps with some updates.

Attachment 3270

23-06-2011, 19:31:09

nothingspecial
Methinks Tom should shove a cam in the corner and pop his good self on Ustream next time he has a go at this.

Would be fun to watch him cursing at the test bench!

24-06-2011, 04:16:39

Chaney
Looking at toms info under his postings he just hit 6ghz on the 990x, looking forward to the video tomorrow

24-06-2011, 09:33:37

kilobravo
Watched the videos,very exiting stuff
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.