Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Review

Test Setup

Intel Core i5-2500K
Gigabyte P67A-UD7
Muskin Joule 1200w
4GB Kingston Genesis 2133MHz
Noctua NH-D14
nVidia GTX570
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Firstly we need to mention that with the i5-2500K being such an outstanding choice of processor we will be using it for all our LGA1155 reviews. Although the i7-2600K has hyper-threading the 2500K is such a bargain and will be so popular we wanted to use what you're all likely to use.

Secondly as you may have noticed we've adjusted the way we do our graphs. With the new chipset comes a chance to give a larger selection of results. For the moment we're comparing the Gigabyte UD7 against the reference Intel motherboard housing both the i5-2500K and i7-2600K.

The final chance is that rather than stick to a certain speed of overclock to make sure that all the motherboards have a chance to demonstrate their underlying performance we will be using whatever the best stable overclock we can attain is.

Overclocking

Overclocking on the UD7 is, in keeping with the new range of Intel hardware, simplicity itself.

With the previous boards it looked like the only possible way to overclock was to change the turbo multiplier and gain the benefits of your overclock when the processor is under heavy loading.

However Gigabyte have shown this is not the case, as we can overclock the i5-2500K in the same manner we are used to with the processor being constantly running at its new higher speed. You just go to the CPU Configuration part of the BIOS and litterally disable everything, just make sure you leave the active cores section alone! Once you have done this the bios wont have Turbo enabled and allow you to crank the CPU Multiplier way past the maximum that you will find on many other boards to levels normally only available to turbo clocks.

This is an example taken from a Gigabyte press pack that is doing the rounds.

 Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Review bios     Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Review bios

You can still use the Turbo overclocking method if you wish of course, and take the energy savings that it brings. But for our purposes in which a seemingly endlessly moving CPU speed is more of a hindrance than a benefit, we're delighted to be able to have a more stable platform from which to tweak.

Reaching 4.6GHz is now so easy that anyone who can change their boot order in the BIOS can do it. Simply up your multiplier, put the CPU volts to around 1.3 (CPU dependant as ever this will not work for everyone), and enable Load Line Line Calibration to assist with the vdroop when under load.

Going beyond that does require a little tweaking, but nothing like the levels we've seen on previous chipsets. Whereas the Maximus IV topped out at 4.6GHz the Gigabyte UD7 BIOS is slightly more mature and quite happily strolls along at 4.9GHz without getting above 70°C on our Noctua cooler.

Pretty amazing I think you'll agree.

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Overclocking Result CPUz

wPrime

So what are the benefits of such a high clock speed? wPrime takes advantage of everything you can throw at it and therefore the 2500K is naturally beaten by the hyper-threading enabled i7s. However the UD7 shows its class by being a long way ahead of the reference Intel board.

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-01-2011, 03:14:22

tinytomlogan
Next in line from the new P67 Chipsets is the high-end UD7 from Gigabyte. A thing of pant-wetting beauty. Does it perform as well as it looks?

Continue Reading

14-01-2011, 03:45:11

Zeals
1.044v to get 4.9GHz???? HOLY S****!!!!

14-01-2011, 03:45:34

Stromatolites
Very nice review, the UD7 is one hell of a board to look at.

14-01-2011, 03:47:24

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

1.044v to get 4.9GHz???? HOLY S****!!!!
CPUZ reports it (Vcore) wrong IIRC....

14-01-2011, 03:49:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

1.044v to get 4.9GHz???? HOLY S****!!!!
Yeah read the review not just look at the pictures! Its 1.4v but cpu isnt reading it correctly.

14-01-2011, 03:49:54

thestepster
yeah just watched the vid and he says its wrong its set at 1.4v

14-01-2011, 03:50:17

Zeals
On another note, Tom do you think you would be able to go over 5GHz on this board when the bios are fully matured?

EDIT: But the pictures are so pretty

14-01-2011, 04:05:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

On another note, Tom do you think you would be able to go over 5GHz on this board when the bios are fully matured?

EDIT: But the pictures are so pretty
You can now, if you bother to read the review or watch the video youll know why mate.

14-01-2011, 05:52:28

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You can now, if you bother to read the review or watch the video youll know why mate.
I'm the skip to conclusion type of guy xD

14-01-2011, 06:01:36

Alicarve
I wonder if all the gigabyte boards will be as gd as this one

14-01-2011, 06:03:19

jsy982002
hi tom. Uhmm can you help me with one quesiton.

I am planning to buy this board but due to the height of the NF200 heatsink, I know

that my X-Fi Titanium HD Soundcard will not fit.

Can I use the other PCIx16 or PCIx8 slots for my soundcard? Will it still be compatible?

14-01-2011, 06:34:33

tinytomlogan
any pcie slot is fine.

14-01-2011, 06:35:17

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsy982002 View Post

hi tom. Uhmm can you help me with one quesiton.

I am planning to buy this board but due to the height of the NF200 heatsink, I know

that my X-Fi Titanium HD Soundcard will not fit.

Can I use the other PCIx16 or PCIx8 slots for my soundcard? Will it still be compatible?
Your soundcard will fit and work in any PCIe slot.

14-01-2011, 08:42:45

killablade
Such an AMAZING board. Wow.

14-01-2011, 08:51:49

thestepster
have to fight the urge! i fear i am loosing tho!

14-01-2011, 11:55:55

khorngor
Tom, do you know if Gigabyte will add UEFI to the board later?

The improved boot times over standard BIOS seems to make it a must have on such a high end board.

It seems they can fit one on the bios chips are they are 4mb, or is it totally out there beliving they will add it later on.

14-01-2011, 11:57:49

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by khorngor View Post

Tom, do you know if Gigabyte will add UEFI to the board later?

The improved boot times over standard BIOS seems to make it a must have on such a high end board.

It seems they can fit one on the bios chips are they are 4mb, or is it totally out there beliving they will add it later on.
The Asus didnt boot any quicker but I have heard they will update it as a downloadable upgrade down the line

14-01-2011, 12:02:00

khorngor
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The Asus didnt boot any quicker but I have heard they will update it as a downloadable upgrade down the line
Damn that was a fast reply.

Sounds awesome, was having second thoughts since i really wanted UEFI, but ill go ahead and buy it and hope they do that down the line.

Judging from your review i wont regret my decision

14-01-2011, 12:03:35

jsy982002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Your soundcard will fit and work in any PCIe slot.
thanks for the reply and above.

Was just scared for a moment as i tried it on my Asus Rampage III extreme but failed to work. After goind around a bit, realized that the drivers were messed up due to my previous sound card.

14-01-2011, 14:25:58

sheroo
I have just bought an ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, as I thought it was the best bang for my buck @ 180. I did contemplate this board but thought it a little pricey. Then having heard you rave about it so much, almost as much as the Noctua, it started me thinking. In your opinion, is this board worth the additional 75 over the ASUS? I'm still waiting on my chip, so could send it back as I haven't played with it yet?

I will probably have this board for 3-4 years. I hate making the wrong h/w purchase - it kinda drives me nuts...

14-01-2011, 14:50:09

Xeno_Crux
Just looking at the board makes me say wow.

14-01-2011, 15:59:28

sotonswan
I just wanted to say thanks to TTL and the support crew for the Youtube vid, and subsequent review. I had picked the UD7 as my preferred board for 2 x GTX570 SLI by Wednesaday evening and was in the process of trying to talk myself down. But the YT vid removed the final doubts and I ordered last night.

Today's review just puts it in black and white. It all takes time. It's hard work. Appreciated.

I still think it's an expensive board and if I were buying 1366/X58 I'd probably go Sabretooth. (The 1155 Sabretooth looks like a dust trap ugh.) And if I already had an 1366/X58 system I'd undoubtedly stick and wait for 2011. But that's not where I am, so this is the board for me.

If I had to nit pick, it's going to be a tight fit for 2xSLI at X16 - right up against each-other, but I'm not losing sleep over it with th HAF-X.

Thanks guys.

14-01-2011, 17:36:53

SadButTrue
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotonswan View Post

The 1155 Sabretooth looks like a dust trap ugh.
Verily. I seriously doubt the wisdom of the 'thermal armour' idea behind all that plastic. Shouldn't they be trying to maximize the airflow over the board? You don't armour yourself against heat when the primary source of heat is likely to be the board itself. It's like putting on a sweater on a hot day if you ask me.

14-01-2011, 18:14:05

jsy982002
by the way, does it not include brackets or connectors for the USB 3.0 mid board pins? Kind of dissapointing for them not to include this accessory. Does anyone know where to buy one of these?

14-01-2011, 18:14:52

murphy7801
Such pretty board but think I will stick with my rampage 3 extreme

14-01-2011, 19:22:22

sheroo
The only problem with this board is that its beauty is hidden underneath that ugly ass Noctua, I hope that the new H60 due out in March is a real performer, because they would compliment each other perfectly.

15-01-2011, 04:17:05

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsy982002 View Post

by the way, does it not include brackets or connectors for the USB 3.0 mid board pins? Kind of dissapointing for them not to include this accessory. Does anyone know where to buy one of these?
Our sample was a very early release and we had none of the accessories that a normal retail model would have sadly, so we reported what we could which was the performance

15-01-2011, 06:03:12

THD
Great review! You mention that there seems to be some sort of cap at 4.9. I seen talk on even lower caps and argued that it could be due to the bios. You guys think that could be valid or is it much more likely the cpu itself (as you mentioned in the vid) ?

15-01-2011, 06:09:18

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

Great review! You mention that there seems to be some sort of cap at 4.9. I seen talk on even lower caps and argued that it could be due to the bios. You guys think that could be valid or is it much more likely the cpu itself (as you mentioned in the vid) ?
Its not a cap just the limit of the CPU we tested.

Some other sites are saying they have lower limits but from what Ive seen its just uneducated overclockers.

15-01-2011, 08:25:36

jsy982002
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Our sample was a very early release and we had none of the accessories that a normal retail model would have sadly, so we reported what we could which was the performance
It's a great review by the way.

Yet, even with the retail version of the board, USB 3.0 brackets were not included this was really a let down as it's currently almost impossible

to find a separate bracket that would fit the headers. I understand that currently there's still no standard setting for the pin headers and as such, mobo manufacturers have

been developing there own unique assignments. such a small flaw for a flagship board of this caliber

15-01-2011, 14:21:05

SadButTrue
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheroo View Post

The only problem with this board is that its beauty is hidden underneath that ugly ass Noctua, I hope that the new H60 due out in March is a real performer, because they would compliment each other perfectly.
I saw a cooler recently called the Titan EVO, that was in a black and gold colour scheme. It would go SO well with this board. Sadly, I tried to find a Canadian price for it and it isn't available here. Newegg in the US has some Titan coolers, but not this model.

You can buy it in the UK for 36.98 inc. VAT at Aria. Take a look. The only thing it leaves you wishing for is a set of black and gold LED case fans.

One other comment on that: the idea of a black anodized finish on the cooling fins themselves is a really good one. Any physicist will tell you that black bodies radiate heat much more efficiently.

15-01-2011, 14:47:11

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadButTrue View Post

I saw a cooler recently called the Titan EVO, that was in a black and gold colour scheme.
noooo, that's just too blingy, its like pimp my ride on steroids. 2 images pop into my head, a duracell battery and James Bond - Goldfinger.

15-01-2011, 20:11:59

SadButTrue
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheroo View Post

noooo, that's just too blingy, its like pimp my ride on steroids. 2 images pop into my head, a duracell battery and James Bond - Goldfinger.
Maybe, but there isn't that much gold on either the board or the cooler. I don't think it would be Mr. T. neckwear overwhelming or anything.

On a more serious note, I was just kidding about the black LEDs, but it turns out -- they make them! Who'd a thunk it?

21-01-2011, 14:28:43

Luke:)
Nice Review and a great mobo by the looks of things.

23-01-2011, 04:03:26

RJ1D
im leaning more to get this than the maximus iv for my i7 2600k. but seemed like its best paired with the i5 2600k?

25-01-2011, 04:28:06

G.E.X
Nice review, awesome bord, i wanted to ask about pcie lanes, how they wil operate when 2xGPU + pcie sound card installed, x16/x8/x8 or x8/x8/x8?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.