Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

Looking Closer

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

Looking a Little Deeper

One of the few elements we can tell you is the two NEC USB 3.0 controllers. A fully USB 3.0 board. Very nice. From the rear IO we can also see the standard stuff we expect as well as two LAN connections.

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview     Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

A few older SATA2 ports sit nicely alongside a bunch of SATA3 6Gbp/s ones. Considering the backwards compatibility it's a strange thing to still see SATA2, but everything happens for a reason.

Below those we have the usual quality Gigabyte front-panel interface along with plenty of USB headers and a diagnostic 7-segment display.

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview     Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

Can I interest you in the sexiest heatsinks ever seen? Thought so. Look at the MOSFETs and chokes around the CPU socket. Should prove an overclocking monster if the LGA1155 chips are up to it, and we've no reason to think they aren't.

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview     Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

Finally we'll leave you with a couple of shots of the Gigabytes northbridge and southbridge heatsinks. Makes a heavenly change from the blue don't you think?

Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview     Gigabyte P67A-UD7 Preview

We can't wait to get our hands on this in a benchable situation and see what the latest chipset has to offer.

Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2010, 21:42:53

tinytomlogan
Fancy a sneaky peek at the next UD7 motherboard from Gigabyte? Thought you would.

Continue Reading

21-11-2010, 22:21:21

Delusion77
Like I said on the video comments: "Wow a gigabyte board that id actually want to show off! "

21-11-2010, 23:03:20

Dewinte
Looks really good, wish I could use one looking like that in my build! I'm a little lost to just how anal intel are about Sandy Bridge 6 weeks prior to launch, and with the premium side of the chipset also. Unless it's in preparation for the enthusiast stuff to come later down the line by learning during the 1155 initial period. I'm just wondering how many people would want a premium 1155 board and the "mainstream" Sandy Bridge chips. I'd have thought most who'd be looking at premium boards would be looking to the enthusiast chipset whenever it's due a year +/- rather than at 1155. Curious I guess .

Did like to see the unboxing and such though, it adds to it somehow.

22-11-2010, 00:42:29

murphy7801
Yay a its not blue and silver and its looks damn sexy.

22-11-2010, 05:10:10

Mr. Strawberry
now that has got to be one of the best looking boards to ever go on sale (when it does)

cant wait to see the LGA2011 version

22-11-2010, 05:57:59

Todd
That thing is smexy. I totally agree with Mr. Strawb on this one - if that's the baby brother I wonder what the bigger one would look like

22-11-2010, 07:59:12

AMD_PBz
Finally a Gigabyte board that isn't atrocious blue and light blue.

Glad to see this as hopefully a sign of things to come from Gigabyte they'll match black Enhanced Ridgebacks Perfectly!

22-11-2010, 08:34:11

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Strawberry View Post

now that has got to be one of the best looking boards to ever go on sale (when it does)

cant wait to see the LGA2011 version
You might not have to wait that long.......

22-11-2010, 09:07:05

Complex!
uber smexy board. Will probably upgrade to a new platform next year (if I haz moneyz:P) so this might well be the board I'll get

22-11-2010, 11:10:28

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You might not have to wait that long.......
if you have one then i am going to break into your house and steal it

22-11-2010, 11:33:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Strawberry View Post

if you have one then i am going to break into your house and steal it
I wouldnt go that far yet.........

22-11-2010, 11:41:23

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

I wouldnt go that far yet.........

22-11-2010, 12:12:05

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

I wouldnt go that far yet.........
Why not ? you have more stuff to steal

22-11-2010, 12:32:07

AMDFTW
i can imagine tom does but i can also imagine some guards with mp5's and dobermans pattrolling the house and grounds

and you needing a special pass sent from tom with a watermark and hologram just to enter the gates

his misses included

22-11-2010, 12:42:12

Dewinte
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

i can imagine tom does but i can also imagine some guards with mp5's and dobermans pattrolling the house and grounds

and you needing a special pass sent from tom with a watermark and hologram just to enter the gates

his misses included
Paid for by intel

23-11-2010, 06:22:42

Techyandy
I think in terms of getting it right, the only other board that comes close was the EVGA board, but even that didn't look nearly as good as this. I'm not sure i would have used gold on the accents, I think red or blue would have been better, but hey, that's just me

24-11-2010, 12:20:04

yggdrasil
I am not normally one to like gigabyte hardware but I'm really liking those colors.

Also the 3way Sli is cool, It's tempting if the GTX460 scales well in 3way sli.

24-11-2010, 13:07:59

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

I am not normally one to like gigabyte hardware but I'm really liking those colors.

Also the 3way Sli is cool, It's tempting if the GTX460 scales well in 3way sli.
Can't do 3 way SLI with GTX460 .

24-11-2010, 15:55:59

Jamzieth
Gigabyte certainly have been reading there fashion mags this time round XD. Seriously good looking board.

11-12-2010, 21:39:46

MRFS
PCI-E x1 Gen2 is limited to 500 MB/second

Is this correct?

The Marvell 88SE9128 controllers are wired to an x1 PCI-E Gen2 lane,

so they do not support the full SATA/6G standard.

MRFS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.