Gigabyte G1 Assassin Review

Unigine

Gigabyte G1 Assassin

Unigine 0xAA

Unigines Heaven benchmark shows how GPU specific it is in that even with our overclock the results don't really differ much from stock. Although naturally the extra horsepower ensures that our minimum frame-rate doesn't drop to anywhere near the levels of the stock test.

8xAA

With the image quality up to 8xAA we gain a single frame at average and once again the overclock enables the card to keep running at full tilt rather than have a brief low moment as it struggles to keep up with the eye-candy demands of Unigine.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-02-2011, 06:03:06

tinytomlogan
It's been a while since we've seen a new X58 motherboard, and Gigabyte have just solved that with one of the highest spec models we've ever seen. The Assassin.



Continue Reading

21-02-2011, 06:36:35

Taurus
Great review, nice to see x58 stuff. I'm sick to death of seeing sandy bridge reviews and all its problems. Not sure about the price though seen it on various sites for around 450. Looking forward to seeing reviews of the cheaper Sniper & Guerilla boards.

Love the Assassin build videos watched them all multiple times

21-02-2011, 06:44:26

ciksas
The board is immense so the price fits it quite right. I would have anything against if it would be cheaper so I could replace my ep43 ds3l with it

21-02-2011, 08:08:51

dugdiamond
i was looking forward to this review fella, and you didn't let us down - that board is a beast

21-02-2011, 08:41:52

JCBenton
Looks fantastic.

As for P67, it's still a viable option for noobs, I hope. Especially if we don't use the S2 ports.

21-02-2011, 08:44:39

SieB
Silly Magazine heatsink (IMHO) or not, this board is indeed a beast and well worth the money, if you can afford it

I missed out on X58 and went strait from 775 and P45 to P67 and 1155 but if I hadn't done that I probably would have gone for this board.

21-02-2011, 09:01:39

Filekutter
That rig hits my sweet spot in so many ways. First its pretty, its mean, its lean, and its black with green. Put it on the runway. The benchmarks were what I was waiting to see and I was happily grinning to see 'em, very nice. I mean, being able to run any of my games at those settings, with those framerates... that's LAN intimidating, friend smashing, and giggling like a maniac fun. The onboard sound was the final kicker for me. That just saves you a couple hundred bucks to turn around for SSDs or the watercooling etc etc. About the only thing I'd do if I were lucky enuff to be able to afford such a monster would be the case. I'd be pondering, and have been pondering on what I'd do to make the case even more match what's inside. And then I realized... I'd distress the paintjob and make it look like its been thru "heck". I do like the case, and the color scheme all told is very nice... but a little bit of stressing done with some imagination would really bring out something .. "else"? hehe. just my humble opinion, its just the green is sooo bright. I would prefer it a tad muted. so.. picky picky. But, just dreaming anyway.

21-02-2011, 09:50:43

CueBall
Great review and indeed green team all the way. Although the case you used not mine style but that board looks friggin awesome.

Now I have a Q for ya TinyTom, what would you prefer, this gigabyte board or a EVGA classified board ?.

I`ll take your advise thoug a 970, a couple of dominators and some green stuff.

21-02-2011, 09:53:03

GODuk
If only i had the money. Can't wait to see ehat Gigabyte come up with the 1155!

Wow

21-02-2011, 10:15:23

VSOP
This is availabe for purchasing now?

21-02-2011, 10:27:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSOP View Post

This is availabe for purchasing now?
Pre Order only atm.

21-02-2011, 11:11:08

Scubasage
Damn, that's one hefty price tag. I'd love to get it, but I'm too poor

Here's hoping the Sniper is affordable for me xD

21-02-2011, 11:14:36

Aurus_OC
Great board and great review . Love the content that you were putting on YouTube aswell.

21-02-2011, 12:09:57

Jerome
Nice gear, nice review. I did a comparison. I know that rig'll eat multimedia, 3D animation and stuff. My test was for FPS today gaming AvP benchmark. 1920x1080p, i5 750 @ 4Ghz and 2 480's @ 850mhz the difference was 2-18 FPS i think. FPS gain was slower. I enjoy overclocking and when the PC buzz'd and froze

A good overclocker motherboard is necessary, the root of the computer.

+???? lots of points for that ASSASSIN G1

Thanks OC3D my overclocks are OC3D enhanced

21-02-2011, 12:56:18

Mark26
If they removed the stanag mag and the network adaptor and put a standard one on too drop the price a bit I would be much more interested in it

21-02-2011, 13:28:29

MichaelH
do want.

21-02-2011, 17:22:06

murphy7801
Think stick to the rampage extreme 3 at that price point and spend my cash on the new priced dropped i7 970!

21-02-2011, 23:03:51

Jerome
Them Metro 2033 results are excellent. Is it tested with Advanced DOF?

22-02-2011, 05:49:16

coolgame
@tomlogan:u said that the zotac cards were noisy in ur exclusive gtx 580 review.how is the msi reference one compared to that?can u review the 560ti sli in stock/oc vs a single gtx 580?

22-02-2011, 06:26:00

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

@tomlogan:u said that the zotac cards were noisy in ur exclusive gtx 580 review.how is the msi reference one compared to that?can u review the 560ti sli in stock/oc vs a single gtx 580?
These are the AMP! Models dude. We think now the original 580 I had, had a faulty vapor chamber causing the fans to spin up.

22-02-2011, 09:40:33

SilentTyrant
that is one hell of a price tag indeed... but when you take away the cost of a high end sound card off it..then its not looking so bad

22-02-2011, 09:42:36

I Hunta x
Link on the picture in your first prost is borked tom, http://http:// is how it starts, redirects to somewere offsite in firefox atleast.

22-02-2011, 15:55:33

MichaelH
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Hunta x View Post

Link on the picture in your first prost is borked tom, http://http:// is how it starts, redirects to somewere offsite in firefox atleast.
Yeah all it is is an unneeded "http//" (if you hover over the link, the link location is http://http//)

22-02-2011, 17:25:00

Jerome
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

These are the AMP! Models dude. We think now the original 580 I had, had a faulty vapor chamber causing the fans to spin up.
Hi. Is the cards with personal custom fan settings to go with 900mhz core frequency or Zotac's standard? Thanks

Excellent scores and Crysis play well done

I'm surprised with CPU Crysis results as my temps are alot lower @4Ghz than BFBC 2 @3.8Ghz

25-02-2011, 10:59:16

crimson2404
For 450 its just an over hyped rip off, for that money you could get a 2600k and an asus p8p67 deluxe.

25-02-2011, 11:58:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimson2404 View Post

For 450 its just an over hyped rip off, for that money you could get a 2600k and an asus p8p67 deluxe.
How narrow minded are you!

27-02-2011, 21:59:10

Jerome

01-03-2011, 05:38:42

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

How narrow minded are you!
It is quite a pricey mother board though You could get a rampage 3 with 970 for the same price of this with a 950 I know what Id choose. Is this motherboard worth it for how much more power its gives per cost I don't think does then again you have both boards so I cant really judge.

02-03-2011, 14:25:44

Sheppy
Thanks to your great review of the G1 Assasin. I am now looking to upgrade my curremt MOBO to the G1 Sniper. Also looking at the corsair vengance, silverstone HDDboost and the coolermaster haf x nvidia.

Current system:-

case Antec 1200

ram OCZ 2000MHZ Gold

cpu I7 930

cooling Corsair h50

MOBO Gigabyte ga-x58a-ud7 rev2

gpu Gigabyte GTX460 oc
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.