Gigabyte G1 Assassin Motherboard Video Preview

Gigabyte G1 Assassin Motherboard Video Preview

  Gigabyte G1 Assassin Motherboard Video Preview  

Introduction

Some times things are best left short and sweet, so in the best possible "its nearly 6pm and I want my dinner" humor we just wanted to wet your appetite with this stonkingly good looking new board from Gigabyte before we head off to try and satisfy our own!

 

If you can stand the suspense we will be back Friday with the full review including i7 950 and 980X tests plus a pair of GTX580's just for good measure. As ever you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2011, 13:02:15

tinytomlogan

14-02-2011, 13:23:29

xSwallowxYourxPridex
That is one sexy motherboard

14-02-2011, 13:44:52

wraithien
In my opinion very tacky and from the prices I've just read ridiculously expensive.

14-02-2011, 14:24:35

xenochrophis
I like the black and slightly dark green colours.

14-02-2011, 14:25:55

Aurus_OC
Looks really nice in that Haf X. Looking forward to seeing the rig built

14-02-2011, 14:36:57

SieB
I do like this motherboard, all but the magazine heat sink that is, I just think it looks a bit kiddish TBH. I know the motherboard is marketed towards younger gamers but I think it's a bit too much. Just my opinion anyway.

14-02-2011, 14:48:06

Ghosthud1
i disagree with the immature nonsense. This board screams Testosterone, a magazine with a full metal jacket .50 cal poking out the top with a sleek black matte finish. venom green accents? you guys haven't got your heads screwed on!

This is true cheese

14-02-2011, 14:53:27

SieB
LMAO at the 5970 case every time I see it

14-02-2011, 15:03:52

chudley
Looks absolutely stunning in the case, I can see why you chose it. In regards to the magazine and the other mock rifle parts on the board i.e the stock, if it works for the modern Armies of the world keepint their barrels cool in very hot countries it should surely work well on the board as well. Will be interesting to see teh full setup this friday....drools and hopes their is no white out on friday

14-02-2011, 15:04:51

hdaviator
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

LMAO at the 5970 case every time I see it
Funny as it is, it gets sales, trust me.

14-02-2011, 15:08:41

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdaviator View Post

Funny as it is, it gets sales, trust me.
I agree, but it is still aimed at a younger gamer. I'm not saying it's a bad thing i'm just saying for me it's a bit kiddish

14-02-2011, 16:01:42

adicool96
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

I agree, but it is still aimed at a younger gamer. I'm not saying it's a bad thing i'm just saying for me it's a bit kiddish
And to think I almost got it. Oh wait I am 14 arent I .

14-02-2011, 16:02:44

Mark26
If this board is any good I might pick it up but think is a waste as I hate the stanag mag and would have to remove it but could put on a waterblock on it. Also on here its shows a front panel that adds usb3 to the front and looking at the connection looks to connect straight to the board which would be cool. http://www.gigabyte.com/microsite/259/features.htm

14-02-2011, 16:09:11

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by adicool96 View Post

And to think I almost got it. Oh wait I am 14 arent I .
I'm 28 but if I was 14 I probably would like and want it

14-02-2011, 17:02:02

Sihastru
I like the fact that it has an actual hardware sound chip, looks to be surrounded by a few quality components so hopefully it won't suffer too much electrical interference, I think the Killer chip is a waste of space (it's not like there's nothing between it and the servers you play on), should really be standard ATX, I'll be happy with just two properly spaced PCIe 16x slots and the rest can be PCIe 1x, pehaps one PCIe 4x just in case.

The heatsinks aren't going to be everyone's cup of tea, not mine anyway.

So... very good departure points from the current X58 boards (the UD3/5/7):

- well spaced PCIe 16x

- well spaced PCIe 16x/8x for folding maniacs

- Creative hardware sound chip with apparently good adjiacent components

Not so good:

- not standard ATX

- Killer chip is useless

- heatsink design

- aditional power required??? (dual MOLEX, perhaps only for extreme configurations, more then 2 video cards)

14-02-2011, 17:50:41

Scubasage
Wow that board looks fantastic. Makes me regret buying a RIIIE lol.

Not crazy about the "magazine" heatsinks, but they don't really look TOO much like an actual gun, and I'm loving the color scheme. My whole rig is black/green minus the ram (the top of the heatsinks are black though, so without looking from an angle they will match), and my motherboard.

Maybe I'll sell off the RIIIE and buy this, not too happy with Asus' support atm.

14-02-2011, 18:09:08

daantjuh44
I love the color scheme on this one !

Not too fond about the magazines either though.

14-02-2011, 18:54:02

chaotic_russ
thats one fugly mobo tbh

14-02-2011, 20:14:52

rumblejack101
This board makes me want to start a hole new build. love it!

14-02-2011, 20:38:34

GODuk
Thanks for uploading that Tom straight away IT LOOKS AMAZING

You remind me of my best mate with your manarisms, your quirks, choice of words and you even look a bit like him lol

Love the nVidia matching green

Yeah, good review, i'm also on the fence with the SandyBridge and the X58..wgich one to get in the future???

15-02-2011, 07:46:03

tinytomlogan
Be more going live today.... Thought Id chuck in a curve ball by making a project out of a review, watercooling did you say Sir? Oh yes, yes I did!

15-02-2011, 13:09:19

Xeno_Crux
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Be more going live today.... Thought Id chuck in a curve ball by making a project out of a review, watercooling did you say Sir? Oh yes, yes I did!
You are talking about this right?



'Cos it looks like sex.

15-02-2011, 13:10:45

Mark26
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Be more going live today.... Thought Id chuck in a curve ball by making a project out of a review, watercooling did you say Sir? Oh yes, yes I did!
Really like the latest video Tom, cant wait until its finished to see it . The blue bits on the psu are annoying though they should be black.

15-02-2011, 13:21:54

tinytomlogan
..............and theres more!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3i9EV3P9gQ

15-02-2011, 14:00:52

SieB
Can't wait to see it all finished, it's nice to see the water cooling set up as well because I don't know anything beyond a H50/70 about water colling, so seeing it set up has explained a few things about it to me.

15-02-2011, 14:11:31

adamjamesroe
Great video Tom. This rig is going to be epic

15-02-2011, 14:13:05

daantjuh44
That looks amazing !! Loving the green

15-02-2011, 14:24:52

adamjamesroe
@tinytomlogan. Any news in the RAM? Got Mushkin to make some custom green RAM?

That would be nice.

15-02-2011, 15:09:24

Brooksie
mmmmmmm so sexy

15-02-2011, 15:13:44

Tainted
That is one hell of a sexy board. Gotta say the green and black set it off really well. Excellent job on the review and build so far!

15-02-2011, 18:08:54

theWarrden
All of the above, it's one sexy build this one it's so cute and co-ordinated! Green mushkin would be nice as well x

15-02-2011, 18:10:58

Karlos_the_n00b
New member to the site and never posted before but wanted to come an say how much I’ve enjoyed your video’s and love how you’re turning this review into a project like this. I think these videos are going to be the highlight of my week (yes I know my life is in need of an upgrade).

The green an blacks ok though I can’t say I like the bullet clip and the chamber and barrel heat sinks but I’ve been waiting on this board since hearing about its release just because I’m intrigued by the on-board creative labs sound chips and killer network interface so I’m really interested in this board.

Out of interest Tom, will you be doing anything that focuses on the creative and killer parts of this board? Personally I’d be interested to know how the network interface on the board compares to a normal killer 2100 card and maybe a standard Gigabyte board and something similar with the creative on-board sound too but I understand that maybe that’s a lot of messing about for something most people probably won’t care about.

Anyway, love your work.

16-02-2011, 02:04:45

Filekutter
I learned my lesson, and this time covered my desk with thick plastic. It was bad the first vid, but ... I mean, come on TTL... that second vid with the watercooling and that case, and all that... touching the case... and.. and... all the color coordinating fans was cheating! *sob* The plastic melted. NOW I GOTTA GET ANOTHER KEYBOARD ! *grumble* You meanie.

16-02-2011, 04:57:53

dipzy
It should be called the "Call of Duty Edition" lol

16-02-2011, 05:14:08

Icekube
I don't suppose the lovely ppl over at Mushkin have done you some lovely black n green heatsinks?

16-02-2011, 08:38:40

tinytomlogan

16-02-2011, 09:15:47

SieB
OMG, HC porn!!!!!!!!

16-02-2011, 09:20:00

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

I do like this motherboard, all but the magazine heat sink that is, I just think it looks a bit kiddish TBH. I know the motherboard is marketed towards younger gamers but I think it's a bit too much. Just my opinion anyway.
It's not to my taste either, but for those case/rig lovers - it definitely has flavor !

(bit of a tease seeing it base system in them photos )

I've often wondered if psu manufacturers cringe at the sight of their psus installed upside down.

EDIT: flat mobos ftw for me. Big thumbs-up to the G1.

16-02-2011, 10:18:16

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

It's not to my taste either, but for those case/rig lovers - it definitely has flavor !

(bit of a tease seeing it base system in them photos )

I've often wondered if psu manufacturers cringe at the sight of their psus installed upside down.

EDIT: flat mobos ftw for me. Big thumbs-up to the G1.
Don't get me wrong, I do like the motherboard, I just don't like the magazine heat sink. The rest of it looks great though.

16-02-2011, 10:24:49

tinytomlogan


And............ hardware p0rn shots!

























16-02-2011, 10:42:05

SieB
I can't take anymore of these vids, they are too X-rated. God damn that build is sexy

16-02-2011, 10:54:26

Zone
Very good work there Tom, I am looking forward to the finished project Bet the Zotac's blow you away, graphically speaking of course don't want to lead all the youngsters astray.

16-02-2011, 10:56:46

Alicarve
whats gonna happen to the rig when you finished all the reviewing? be a dissapointment having to take it all apart, if having to send parts back

but looking good

16-02-2011, 11:22:03

tinytomlogan
The mobo leaves me Monday next week. So yeah the rig will all come apart again. Massive amount of work to do before that though!

16-02-2011, 12:54:16

JCBenton

17-02-2011, 00:30:45

Filekutter
I"m not going to use keyboards anymore when looking at this series of vids, I've already spent all my money and only have beans and rice left. Gorgeous rig, and so well thought out TTL, thank you so much. 3rd vid made me squeal like a little girl.

17-02-2011, 11:38:51

Calico
I'm not a fan of the case to be honest.. but the interior looks great! The black & green highlights go really good together!

17-02-2011, 18:12:41

chudley
No3 vid short and sweet I think the fans looked really cool, in the way they reminded me of the 2012 olympic logo the vid is also funny (could not help myself) looking forward to the review on monday watch yer fingers!!!

17-02-2011, 18:36:17

SieB
Just watched the latest vid, OMG, "DO WANT"

17-02-2011, 19:34:00

Mr Muggles
Tom

Why have GPU developers never solved the issue of the cards being upside down when installed?

17-02-2011, 22:27:32

Mark26
Really cant wait too see this finished looks mint. Are you going to do a project build on your own future one also tom?

18-02-2011, 00:48:53

Filekutter
Its just getting sexier and sexier.

18-02-2011, 01:30:20

TheWhiteRose000
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The mobo leaves me Monday next week. So yeah the rig will all come apart again. Massive amount of work to do before that though!
Don't worry about the snow white thread.

I'm keeping them highly entertained with my random questions.

also can I get a total specification breakdown of the motherboard?

XD!

18-02-2011, 04:03:28

dugdiamond
i am really looking forward to these reviews today

18-02-2011, 04:21:21

Fodr Kreatr
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBenton View Post
Bazooka ^^

18-02-2011, 06:31:42

tinytomlogan
More goodies............





















18-02-2011, 07:07:29

dugdiamond
im liking the godray effects on the 1st pic

awesome

18-02-2011, 09:47:24

Fodr Kreatr
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

im liking the godray effects on the 1st pic

awesome


The cards look l33t in that light!

It's like a cybergoth club in it's own right

19-02-2011, 04:31:18

ShortAlieN
so when do the g1 boards get released? i kinda really want one.

19-02-2011, 05:33:44

Aurus_OC
Looking nice and sharp, with those lights. Can't wait for the actual review

23-02-2011, 23:07:56

VSOP
The desgin looks cool, but the colour, dont like the green pci slot.

28-02-2011, 23:23:18

Cool Ali
Give it to me.... I want one.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.