Gigabyte EX58-UD3R X58 Motherboard

Test Setup

Test Setup
 
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below: 
 
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 (2.66Ghz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24 1600Mhz
Graphics Card: NVidia GTX280
Power Supply: Gigabyte Odin 1200W
CPU Cooling: Stock Intel Cooling
Hard Disk: Hitachi Deskstar 7K160 7200rpm 80GB
Graphics Drivers: Geforce 180.60 CUDA
Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1
 
During the testing of the setup above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used before the benchmarking began, with a full defrag of the hard drive once all the drivers and software were installed, preventing any possible performance issues due to leftover drivers from the previous motherboard installations. For the 3DMark and gaming tests a single card configuration was used.
 
memory clearence heatsink clearance
 
As you can see from the pictures above, clearance should not be an issue for either over sized CPU heatsinks or memory modules. With the UD3R only catering for four memory slots there is plenty of room around the modules should you wish to add additional cooling. Looking at the memory area, I can only assume Gigabytes reason for not including six memory slots was a cost cutting exercise as this is a sparse area of the motherboard with only a couple of capacitors obstructing the area.
 
To guarantee a broad range of results to best evaluate the motherboards performance, the following benchmark utilities were used:
 
Synthetic CPU Test
• Sisoft Sandra 2009
• PassMark CPU test
• SuperPI 1m, 8m, 32m

Memory Test
• Sisoft Sandra 2009
• Everest 4.60

File Compression & Encoding
• Sisoft Sandra 2009
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra 2009

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark 05
• 3DMark 06
• 3DMark Vantage

3D Games

• Crysis
• Far Cry 2
• Call of Duty 4
Overall System Performance
• PCMark Vantage
 
 
Power Consumption

Power consumption is an aspect often forgotten when it comes to enthusiast motherboards but in todays climate, with rising utility bills special consideration needs to be taken when choosing you components as over a period of time, one components can prove to be much more expensive than another over its lifetime. Power consumption was measured at the socket using a plug-in mains power and energy monitor. Idle readings were taken after 5 minutes in Windows. Load readings were taken during a run of 3DMark Vantage.
 
 
 
 
Overclocking

Here's a couple of the obligatory CPU-Z screenshots at stock:
 
stock memory
 

Using a respectable Vcore of 1.40v set in the BIOS, the remainder of BIOS voltage settings were left in their stock state to ensure equality throughout the testing. Here's what I managed out of the motherboard:
 
pi 
 
As with the majority of motherboards on test, specifically the other Gigabyte motherboards, the UD3R topped out with a maximum overclock of 4.2GHz, confirming my earlier suspicions that this is indeed a CPU limitation rather than a motherboard. There have however, been a few boards which have surpassed this value slightly but by no great margin.
 
BIOS recovery was very good, with the motherboard resetting itself back to stop settings but withholding the failed settings in memory for you to adjust slightly rather than resetting the whole BIOS. This is a good little feature of the Gigabyte boards which saves both time and patience when attempting those high clockspeeds. On no occasion was I required to use the on-board jumper to reset the BIOS which is an achievement in itself as the Gigabyte boards were by far the best at recovering from failed overclocking attempts.
 
Vdroop was minimal with 0.024v differential when under load, despite having loadline calibration enabled. Vdrop was pretty much none existent at 1.4v set in the BIOS.
 
Returning the Gigabyte EX58-UD3R and the CPU to their stock settings I then ran the standard suite of benchmarks and compared the boards performance to a number of other X58 motherboards. Let's see how it got on...   
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-05-2009, 04:18:20

w3bbo
Budget does not always mean a comprimise on performance. Gigabyte's entry level X58 motherboard might just throw up a few surprises in our latest motherboard review...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162023939s.jpg

Read the full review HERE

05-05-2009, 08:30:17

Ham
Nice review mate.

If I were to get the inkling to go I7, this board would probably make the shortlist. Performance at a good price is always a winner.

05-05-2009, 10:56:45

prosser13
Teehee 158 for "budget"...

*wanders off muttering to self about what the motherboard market has come to*

05-05-2009, 14:21:49

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
Teehee 158 for "budget"...

*wanders off muttering to self about what the motherboard market has come to*
This isn't that outrageous for the "next" Intel board. We just got used to new 775 being in $100 range... New means long time til mainstream for cheapness... but very sad if you want the best. Stupid Best/New tax

05-05-2009, 14:29:18

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
Teehee 158 for "budget"...

*wanders off muttering to self about what the motherboard market has come to*
Agreed. It's still outrageous.

Considering the kind of systems u can still buy with 775 and get an equal terms use out of it. Performance on a par.

Nice mobo, but u can get an EP45-DS5 for around 120 (at least I did), and clock the eff out of whatever proven cpu. And that's a ddr2 option. Heck get urself 8g of nothingness whilst ur at it and u still have cash left, from what u didn't buy the I7 kit with, to buy a GTX260/275/280/285 to build a rig not to be sniffed at.

06-05-2009, 14:50:44

w3bbo
Prices of motherboards have been rising for a long time now. You are always going to pay top dollar for cutting edge technology. Take SSD's for example: for a 30GB SSD you could have 2TB of standard drives in raid 0!

06-05-2009, 14:59:33

prosser13
Aye w3bbo - I'm just reminiscing of the old days, in 939 and the like, where 150 would buy you the best board out there

06-05-2009, 15:08:57

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Prices of motherboards have been rising for a long time now. You are always going to pay top dollar for cutting edge technology. Take SSD's for example: for a 30GB SSD you could have 2TB of standard drives in raid 0!
The point being the 2TB drives are there as an alternative though. Or you can just buy one 500GB drive and save loads.

You just cant do that with I7 mobos.

06-05-2009, 17:18:12

w3bbo
EVGA Classified - 380

Gigabyte UD3R - 150

Less than half the price?

06-05-2009, 17:25:48

Mul.
X58 boards are expensive yes, but it's fair to say that there's a reason why. The X58 chipset as such is not exactly basic with the sheer number of PCI-E lanes, triple channel memory controller and as I understand the power regulation on these boards must have to be fairly strong for these 130W TDP CPU's. Combined with the fact that Intel is well aware that there is no true Core i7 competitor that they are free to price their CPU's and Chipsets accordingly. That being said, I don't believe that the overall i7 adoption cost is so bad these days with the price of respectable DDR3 kits taking a nose dive and more "budget" friendly i7 boards like the EX58 UD3R making an appearance.

I see prosser13's argument with regards to AMD boards and I do recall my legendary DFI LanParty UT nF4 series motherboard that at 90 would reach high base HTT's in excess of 300MHz but the AMD nForce boards were historically cheaper than Intel equivalents like for like. I remember the Canterwood 875P boards sitting around the 100 mark but that was ever so long ago and ever since I recall the higher end 925XE, 955X, 975X, X38/48 boards all exceeding 175. The X58 is no exception.

I do however like what this 160 motherboard acheives and think it's a fantastic buy if you believe that you can take advantage of the perks from the Core i7 platform but have a restricted budget. Excellent review W3bbo

06-05-2009, 17:37:26

PeterStoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
X58 boards are expensive yes, but it's fair to say that there's a reason why. The X58 chipset as such is not exactly basic with the sheer number of PCI-E lanes, triple channel memory controller and as I understand the power regulation on these boards must have to be fairly strong for these 130W TDP CPU's. Combined with the fact that Intel is well aware that there is no true Core i7 competitor that they are free to price their CPU's and Chipsets accordingly. That being said, I don't believe that the overall i7 adoption cost is so bad these days with the price of respectable DDR3 kits taking a nose dive and more "budget" friendly i7 boards like the EX58 UD3R making an appearance.

I see prosser13's argument with regards to AMD boards and I do recall my legendary DFI LanParty UT nF4 series motherboard that at 90 would reach high base HTT's in excess of 300MHz but the AMD nForce boards were historically cheaper than Intel equivalents like for like. I remember the Canterwood 875P boards sitting around the 100 mark but that was ever so long ago and ever since I recall the higher end 925XE, 955X, 975X, X38/48 boards all exceeding 175. The X58 is no exception.

I do however like what this 160 motherboard acheives and think it's a fantastic buy if you believe that you can take advantage of the perks from the Core i7 platform but have a restricted budget. Excellent review W3bbo
Exactly what I was going to say (you said it better )

06-05-2009, 17:38:51

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Prices of motherboards have been rising for a long time now. You are always going to pay top dollar for cutting edge technology. Take SSD's for example: for a 30GB SSD you could have 2TB of standard drives in raid 0!
I object to the term "cutting edge" being used on I7

As for SSD, I can't see me ever buying a current day SSD. I'm confident enough to allow quote-age on that.

07-05-2009, 10:05:17

GigaMan
BTW, this board DOES support SLI and the warranty will NOT be affected.

It's just a BIOS (F5) update - that is it!

Maybe other brands will void the warranty, but not Gigabyte.

And well done for picking up our new EZ-Share technology

Allowing you to share and safe profiles.

You should receive a prize for that

09-05-2009, 07:29:36

w3bbo
Ah cool.

So will Gigabyte be stopping production of the UD3R - SLI then?

13-05-2009, 12:45:11

GigaMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Ah cool.

So will Gigabyte be stopping production of the UD3R - SLI then?
No, the UD3R - SLI will go ahead, we think that it will just make sense and will create less confusion in the market.

13-05-2009, 12:57:47

limpkorn
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
EVGA Classified - 380

Gigabyte UD3R - 150

Less than half the price?
Agree, this is a great price for an X58 mobo, and if it overclocks well it's kind of pointless to go with the 775 mobo unless you're trying to build a budget system.

13-05-2009, 13:49:59

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GigaMan'
No, the UD3R - SLI will go ahead, we think that it will just make sense and will create less confusion in the market.
Ah ok.

BTW, welcome to the forums GigaMan. It's always nice to have company reps give feedback and add info as appropriate.

19-05-2009, 17:09:01

w3bbo
Review updated and score ammended to reflect the fact that this motherboard now supports SLI with the latest BIOS update. Well done Gigabyte!

19-05-2009, 18:52:03

sammytomjohn
Its a good thing all these companies make so many different models of boards, chips, graphics, chips,, etc... as it means we can still get our hands on a wide variety of performance parts

I mean otherwise the only places that would be seeing these i7 and quad cores would be corporate and buisness sectors!!

i do think they should get some sort of regulations about newer products should always be significantly more powerful than older model's and the improvement % should be equivalently higher!!

as every1 knows : you do get headaches upgrading all the time!!

19-05-2009, 18:57:32

Rastalovich
Just to put that side of ur mind at rest, I work at one of the biggest corporations in the country and nation-wide they use 10s of 1000s of pcs, mostly p4 with a large sprinkling of c2d. Very small % of 45nm.

... and tbf they do their job.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.