Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

3D Benchmarks

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

3D Benchmarks

For our 3D Mark Vantage and gaming tests we ran all three test systems at their maximum stable overclock. It's really at this end of the scale where the differences between each system, especially for gamers, shine or fail.

3D Mark Vantage

As we saw earlier on, the UD7 is capable of overclocking much better than our recent AMD review boards. This is really born out here when we're comparing like for for like. It might only be 100 points in Performance mode, but once we move into gaming at higher resolutions that margin will only increase.

 

Crysis Warhead

Proof, if proof were needed, that increase it does. Just over 3FPS Average better than its nearest rival, which is a lot in Crysis as we all know.

 

Mafia II

At first it seemed that something was amiss in the Mafia II results, because the difference between the 890FX-A UD7 and the rest is way more than 200MHz on the overclock would give us. However when you look at the Metro results below it's clear that something is definitely rocking and rolling on the UD7.

 

Metro 2033

In keeping with the Mafia II scores, Metro 2033 absolutely loves something about this particular combination and gives us about 40% higher frame-rate than our other two setups. Whilst with Mafia it's only making something smooth, as smooth, here the difference is from unplayable to just about playable if you grit your teeth. Good stuff.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-10-2010, 20:01:20

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have taken the latest AMD chipset and applied their high-end UD7 magic to it. How does it stand up?

Continue Reading

04-10-2010, 21:57:15

AMDFTW
shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome

05-10-2010, 04:48:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome
Explain why really makes any difference? Cos other than sli I can see anything really.

05-10-2010, 05:47:13

AMDFTW
as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6

05-10-2010, 06:20:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6
Every motherboard doesnt have to have everything dude. Some people may just want to use one card or something, if you fit everything it will cost more.

05-10-2010, 07:02:19

AMDFTW
i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO

05-10-2010, 07:43:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO
Really depends if they read our review as we are the only people who have had it...... The Giga will outsell the MSI easily just on the fact its the top of the range Giga AMD board.

05-10-2010, 08:16:24

AMDFTW
but like you said all 3 have something about them i just think the MSI has lil more

but thats just my opinion fella

05-10-2010, 14:48:54

VonBlade
Luckily the concept of reviews is that people can make their own choice on what they buy.

After all, we all know that people have brand loyalty and the Lucid Hydra setup is really only beneficial for people with two high-end graphics cards from the competing manufacturers. Which only accounts for a nth of the potential audience.

All three are very good boards, with slight variances depending upon personal taste.

22-10-2010, 22:05:52

Goralux
Does the heat-pipe 2 work with the Noctua DH-14? It should, but Noctua themself just say "The Silent-Pipe 2 module might not be usable." on their compability page. So if you got it to work with the noctua please reply. This board seems to be winner for my new rig, i just want to make sure everything will fit.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.