Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

SiSoft Sandra

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

SiSoft Sandra

Processor Benchmarks

Our standard two tests using SiSoft Sandra are the Processor Arithmetic and Processor Multi-Media benchmarks. As we'd expect with such a closely matched set of components the differences are slight at best.

Once again our overclock really frees up the 1090T processor as we get results either on or just above what pure maths would suggest our overclock would give. The Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 definitely responds well and allows our components to breathe.

Processor Arithmetic

Processor Multi-Media

 

Memory Bandwidth

If I can borrow a quote from Lewis Carroll, curiouser and curiouser. Whereas Everest showed the UD7 falling well short of the Crosshair 4 Extreme and 870A Fuzion, here it pips them both. The importance of looking at all the results before drawing conclusions is demonstrated clearly here as both Everest and Sandra give different results, yet our other tests show no great loss or benefit either way.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-10-2010, 20:01:20

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have taken the latest AMD chipset and applied their high-end UD7 magic to it. How does it stand up?

Continue Reading

04-10-2010, 21:57:15

AMDFTW
shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome

05-10-2010, 04:48:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome
Explain why really makes any difference? Cos other than sli I can see anything really.

05-10-2010, 05:47:13

AMDFTW
as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6

05-10-2010, 06:20:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6
Every motherboard doesnt have to have everything dude. Some people may just want to use one card or something, if you fit everything it will cost more.

05-10-2010, 07:02:19

AMDFTW
i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO

05-10-2010, 07:43:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO
Really depends if they read our review as we are the only people who have had it...... The Giga will outsell the MSI easily just on the fact its the top of the range Giga AMD board.

05-10-2010, 08:16:24

AMDFTW
but like you said all 3 have something about them i just think the MSI has lil more

but thats just my opinion fella

05-10-2010, 14:48:54

VonBlade
Luckily the concept of reviews is that people can make their own choice on what they buy.

After all, we all know that people have brand loyalty and the Lucid Hydra setup is really only beneficial for people with two high-end graphics cards from the competing manufacturers. Which only accounts for a nth of the potential audience.

All three are very good boards, with slight variances depending upon personal taste.

22-10-2010, 22:05:52

Goralux
Does the heat-pipe 2 work with the Noctua DH-14? It should, but Noctua themself just say "The Silent-Pipe 2 module might not be usable." on their compability page. So if you got it to work with the noctua please reply. This board seems to be winner for my new rig, i just want to make sure everything will fit.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.