Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

Everest, CineBench and POV-Ray

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

Everest Ultimate Edition

CPU Benchmarks

At stock, unsurprisingly, all three boards perform pretty much the same. The extra overclocking performance of the UD7 shines through when compared to both the MSI and ASUS offerings. It's almost like the kick-on from 4GHz to 4.2GHz finally frees up the 1090T to do its thing.

 

Memory Benchmarks

This is curious. Everything being equal we should have fairly identical memory results, but the UD7 trails in a little behind the 870A and CH4E. Although the overclock gives us a serious boost, it's not quite as amazing as we were hoping for. Lets see if the other testing bear this result out or if it's an anomoly.

 

CineBench R11.5

What better place to start than with rendering. Something that definitely requires as much memory performance as possible. Here the UD7 shines. Running with an identical setup it scores 0.15 points more than its competition. Although that might appear small, in CineBench terms it's a serious improvement.

When we apply our overclock it rockets up, as you'd expect. What we didn't expect is to get a nearly linear "clock for result" improvement. Really demonstrating that the UD7 doesn't take any performance away from our setup.

 

POV-Ray

The freeware Persistence Of Vision Raytracing program nicely backs up our CineBench results with the UD7 gaining an edge on the MSI and ASUS boards. The most impressive result is that when overclocked the 890FX-A UD7 gives us over 1000 Pixels Per Second Per CPU. Incredible.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-10-2010, 20:01:20

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have taken the latest AMD chipset and applied their high-end UD7 magic to it. How does it stand up?

Continue Reading

04-10-2010, 21:57:15

AMDFTW
shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome

05-10-2010, 04:48:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome
Explain why really makes any difference? Cos other than sli I can see anything really.

05-10-2010, 05:47:13

AMDFTW
as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6

05-10-2010, 06:20:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6
Every motherboard doesnt have to have everything dude. Some people may just want to use one card or something, if you fit everything it will cost more.

05-10-2010, 07:02:19

AMDFTW
i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO

05-10-2010, 07:43:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO
Really depends if they read our review as we are the only people who have had it...... The Giga will outsell the MSI easily just on the fact its the top of the range Giga AMD board.

05-10-2010, 08:16:24

AMDFTW
but like you said all 3 have something about them i just think the MSI has lil more

but thats just my opinion fella

05-10-2010, 14:48:54

VonBlade
Luckily the concept of reviews is that people can make their own choice on what they buy.

After all, we all know that people have brand loyalty and the Lucid Hydra setup is really only beneficial for people with two high-end graphics cards from the competing manufacturers. Which only accounts for a nth of the potential audience.

All three are very good boards, with slight variances depending upon personal taste.

22-10-2010, 22:05:52

Goralux
Does the heat-pipe 2 work with the Noctua DH-14? It should, but Noctua themself just say "The Silent-Pipe 2 module might not be usable." on their compability page. So if you got it to work with the noctua please reply. This board seems to be winner for my new rig, i just want to make sure everything will fit.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.