Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

Pictures

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

First Look

Gigabyte have always kept a clear look to their packaging, placing an emphasis upon the features rather than anything else. This very much continues with the UD7 advertising the main events of the 333 support (USB3, SATA3, 3 times USB power) and hex-core support.

On the reverse we have details of the many high-quality power elements that go into making the UD7s such good overclockers. Crisp and clear best describes the box, conveying a lot of information without becoming overwhelming.

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review     Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review  

As is becoming the norm with high end motherboards, the UD7 comes with a window underneath the top flap that allows prospective purchasers to view the contents before laying down their hard earned cash. We also have the usual comprehensive Gigabyte manual that covers the major points you could hope for.

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review     Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review  

Within the box we have the standard contents one would expect. SATA cables, e-SATA bracket, Crossfire bridges etc. In what looks like a matchbox from this shot we have the alternative chipset heatsink. More of that on the next page.

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review     Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review  

Finally here is the motherboard itself. It's been a few years now since Gigabyte switched so a two-colour motherboard and it is as cool looking now as it was then. A quick glance and you can identify a Gigabyte, and that's surely mission accomplished?

The IO section contains everything you'd expect from such a high-end motherboard. Linkable LAN ports, USB3 and USB2 ports, SPDIF and sound outputs. Even a combined PS2 port.

Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review     Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-10-2010, 20:01:20

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have taken the latest AMD chipset and applied their high-end UD7 magic to it. How does it stand up?

Continue Reading

04-10-2010, 21:57:15

AMDFTW
shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome

05-10-2010, 04:48:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

shame it has no lucid chip as this would of been awsome
Explain why really makes any difference? Cos other than sli I can see anything really.

05-10-2010, 05:47:13

AMDFTW
as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6

05-10-2010, 06:20:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

as its new tech and it seems odd to go back to normal with just usb3 and sata6
Every motherboard doesnt have to have everything dude. Some people may just want to use one card or something, if you fit everything it will cost more.

05-10-2010, 07:02:19

AMDFTW
i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO

05-10-2010, 07:43:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

i reckon most people will opt for the MSI IMO
Really depends if they read our review as we are the only people who have had it...... The Giga will outsell the MSI easily just on the fact its the top of the range Giga AMD board.

05-10-2010, 08:16:24

AMDFTW
but like you said all 3 have something about them i just think the MSI has lil more

but thats just my opinion fella

05-10-2010, 14:48:54

VonBlade
Luckily the concept of reviews is that people can make their own choice on what they buy.

After all, we all know that people have brand loyalty and the Lucid Hydra setup is really only beneficial for people with two high-end graphics cards from the competing manufacturers. Which only accounts for a nth of the potential audience.

All three are very good boards, with slight variances depending upon personal taste.

22-10-2010, 22:05:52

Goralux
Does the heat-pipe 2 work with the Noctua DH-14? It should, but Noctua themself just say "The Silent-Pipe 2 module might not be usable." on their compability page. So if you got it to work with the noctua please reply. This board seems to be winner for my new rig, i just want to make sure everything will fit.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.