Foxconn Renaissance X58 Digital Life Motherboard

Encoding Benchmarks

ViMark logo


ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D motherboard testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding raw video into Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif formats. As always, a total of 5 benchmark runs were performed with the highest and lowest scores removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 scores.

ViMark windows media
 
ViMark Quicktime
 
ViMark GIF

7-Zip logo


7-Zip is an open source Winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including its own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.

7-Zip compression and decompression

Results Observations

Again, encoding performance has significantly increased over stock settings in both of our ViMark and 7-Zip benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-02-2009, 07:22:04

PV5150
Will the X58-based Foxconn Renaissance be the shining light for Foxconn's Digital Life multimedia range of motherboards?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...040726214s.jpg

Check out the review here

08-02-2009, 07:32:42

zak4994
I was waiting for the review of this.

Awesome looking board and the northbridge looks epic.

08-02-2009, 07:35:26

VonBlade
Not a bad looking board. That heatsink is strangeness personified though. Why produce a board that is unlikely to handle the huge heatsinks most people use? Very odd choice.

Like the colour scheme though. As those who've seen my profile can attest lol.

Quite a steep price for such an average overclock. The Bloodrage is only 30 quid more.

08-02-2009, 07:36:38

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Not a bad looking board. That heatsink is strangeness personified though. Why produce a board that is unlikely to handle the huge heatsinks most people use? Very odd choice.

Like the colour scheme though. As those who've seen my profile can attest lol.

Quite a steep price for such an average overclock. The Bloodrage is only 30 quid more.
This has 6 RAM slots while Bloodrage has only 3.

24GB anyone?

08-02-2009, 07:56:23

w3bbo
Nice review m8.

Couple of questions for you:

The CPU-Z screeny shows 1.216v. Was this max Vcore you used?

What was the Vdrop/droop like?

08-02-2009, 08:00:40

PV5150
Thanks all for comments so far

@ webbo: Nah voltage was set at 1.4v in BIOS mate.

08-02-2009, 08:31:54

AntiHeroUK
Good job on the review Matthew

I would however have the Bloodrage over this any day..

08-02-2009, 08:37:33

w3bbo
Horses for courses I think. The bloodrage is targeted to a different audience (hardcore benchers) whereas the renaissance is more a workstation based platform.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.