Foxconn Digitalife A79A-S Motherboard

Encoding Benchmarks

ViMark logo
 
ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D motherboard testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding raw video into Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif formats. As always, a total of 5 benchmark runs were performed with the highest and lowest scores removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 scores.
 
 
ViMark results
 
 
7Zip
 
7-Zip is an open source Winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including its own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.
 
 
7-Zip results
 
 
Results Observations
 
The ViMark benchmark yielded a slightly mixed bag of results, with the Apple Quicktime and AVI encoding scores suffering when compared to Windows Media and GIF encoding. 7-Zip on the other hand, managed respectable increases in decompression and compression performance figures over the stock clocked AMD Phenom processor.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2008, 08:18:11

PV5150
In the market for an AM2 motherboard to double as a multimedia all-rounder? Foxconn has released their A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard based upon the 790FX + SB750 chipset and we simply had to take a look.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135029989s.jpg

Read the review here

21-11-2008, 08:49:22

Hassan
Is there any possibility of finding out on how it compares with a Intel Q6600?

21-11-2008, 09:46:29

PV5150
I was going to do a series of performance numbers from a stock clocked Q6600 as a reference only, but it usually gets misconstrued as a comparison. Hence the reason I left them out.

21-11-2008, 14:57:28

w3bbo
I'm in the middle of an AMD head to head based on the same chipset so can include a Q6600 result set for a comparison.

Nice read as always PV.

21-11-2008, 15:23:09

FarFarAway
Excellent well written review Peevs, good work

21-11-2008, 15:27:34

Rastalovich
Bah, I got disappointed when I left reading the price til the end.

It's a decent mobo - but that's it, decent. Colors are quite alarming, although I'm not sure using red to make it go faster actually worked

If I'd got to the conclusion page and saw a UK price sub 150 I might feel different. 200 for the mobo isn't tastey to me at all. If there was an extremely sexy bundle with it, I might think around 175 because of it alone.

Foxconn make some really great looking and performing Intel mobos, maybe a little overpriced also, but the likes of the Black Ops include test beds, ln2 pots .. other crazy things, but it helps justify the pricing, not totally, but it helps ur conscience.

I'd expect a price drop.

22-11-2008, 00:45:14

PV5150
Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

@ Rast: I totally agree with what you're saying. If the bundle had been better and the price wasn't GBP200 then it certainly would have been a more attractive deal. Given the board's overclocking capability and stability, it's a shame to see it being passed by simply because of an exorbitant price.

22-11-2008, 10:14:41

Rastalovich
Is there anything to be gained from an eventual AM3 'designed' specific mobo ?

I do in all honesty, think the mobo manufacturers have let their creative juices go stagnant when it comes to AMD design in general.

I mean people would invest in a new AM2+ mobo if they rearranged some of the onboard stuff, socket areas, something beneficial to a cooling setup. Use the feedback that I'm sure AMD users have about little niggles when installing giant coolers, air flow, getting the ati cards in there and still having 3 or so pci slots avilable ??

I dunno. Something purely creative that gives them an advantage and ease for the enthusiast.

These mobos look like pre K7 boards.

22-11-2008, 11:46:35

nepas
damm shame about the price,it is not the cheapest board with the 750 chipset,which makes you wonder why you pay that much for a foxconn board
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.