Foxconn Digitalife A79A-S Motherboard

Packaging and Contents

Packaging

The Foxconn A79A-S is packaged in a bold and highly visible cardboard box with a predominantly black and white theme. On the front of the box is an image of cartoon-like people going about their business with motherboard components featuring as furniture and digital appliances. On the rear of the box, Foxconn has included an image of the A79A-S motherboard with arrows pointing to the prominant features of the motherboard.

Foxconn A79A-S packaging front Foxconn A79A-S packaging rear

On the leading edges of the box there are further images illustrating that the Foxconn A79A-S motherboard supports AMD's Phenom processors, ATI Crossfire and is Windows Vista ready. Foxconn has also included a very brief specification list which can be seen below (right).

Foxconn A79A-S support Foxconn A79A-S specifications

Foxconn appears to be taking a leaf out of ASUS' book when it comes to packaging. On the top of the box is a secondary lid that when opened reveals additional information about the A79A-S' features.

Foxconn cover insert Foxconn cover insert

Opening up the box we can see the usual double-walled cardboard box that houses both the motherboard and the included bundle. This method of packaging hardware is proven, and subsequently, should provide maximum protection for the motherboard contained within.

Foxconn A79A-S box opened Foxconn A79A-S motherboard box
Motherboard box opened Motherboard and bundle box

Opening up the box we can see the Foxconn A79A-S motherboard securely situated on top in an anti-static bag. Underneath the motherboard is a secondary box that houses the bundle.

Contents

Opening up the bundle box we were greeted by a mass of SATA and Molex-to-SATA power cables. You would be excused for thinking that Foxconn had a special on them at the moment. As well as the cabling, Foxconn has included a standard array of bits and bobs in the bundle, I have made a list of them for you below:
 
* OEM I/O backplate
* 6x SATA cables
* 6x 4-pin Molex to SATA power cables
* 1x IDE cable
* 1x Floppy cable
* 1x USB 2.0 and IEEE1394 cable extender
* Support CD
* Motherboard manual
* Specification summary


Foxconn A79A-S bundle_1 Foxconn A79A-S bundle_2

Now that we've seen what you can expect in the packaging and contents department of the Foxconn A79A-S motherboard, let's head over the page to see the motherboard itself in detail...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2008, 08:18:11

PV5150
In the market for an AM2 motherboard to double as a multimedia all-rounder? Foxconn has released their A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard based upon the 790FX + SB750 chipset and we simply had to take a look.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135029989s.jpg

Read the review here

21-11-2008, 08:49:22

Hassan
Is there any possibility of finding out on how it compares with a Intel Q6600?

21-11-2008, 09:46:29

PV5150
I was going to do a series of performance numbers from a stock clocked Q6600 as a reference only, but it usually gets misconstrued as a comparison. Hence the reason I left them out.

21-11-2008, 14:57:28

w3bbo
I'm in the middle of an AMD head to head based on the same chipset so can include a Q6600 result set for a comparison.

Nice read as always PV.

21-11-2008, 15:23:09

FarFarAway
Excellent well written review Peevs, good work

21-11-2008, 15:27:34

Rastalovich
Bah, I got disappointed when I left reading the price til the end.

It's a decent mobo - but that's it, decent. Colors are quite alarming, although I'm not sure using red to make it go faster actually worked

If I'd got to the conclusion page and saw a UK price sub 150 I might feel different. 200 for the mobo isn't tastey to me at all. If there was an extremely sexy bundle with it, I might think around 175 because of it alone.

Foxconn make some really great looking and performing Intel mobos, maybe a little overpriced also, but the likes of the Black Ops include test beds, ln2 pots .. other crazy things, but it helps justify the pricing, not totally, but it helps ur conscience.

I'd expect a price drop.

22-11-2008, 00:45:14

PV5150
Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

@ Rast: I totally agree with what you're saying. If the bundle had been better and the price wasn't GBP200 then it certainly would have been a more attractive deal. Given the board's overclocking capability and stability, it's a shame to see it being passed by simply because of an exorbitant price.

22-11-2008, 10:14:41

Rastalovich
Is there anything to be gained from an eventual AM3 'designed' specific mobo ?

I do in all honesty, think the mobo manufacturers have let their creative juices go stagnant when it comes to AMD design in general.

I mean people would invest in a new AM2+ mobo if they rearranged some of the onboard stuff, socket areas, something beneficial to a cooling setup. Use the feedback that I'm sure AMD users have about little niggles when installing giant coolers, air flow, getting the ati cards in there and still having 3 or so pci slots avilable ??

I dunno. Something purely creative that gives them an advantage and ease for the enthusiast.

These mobos look like pre K7 boards.

22-11-2008, 11:46:35

nepas
damm shame about the price,it is not the cheapest board with the 750 chipset,which makes you wonder why you pay that much for a foxconn board
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.