Foxconn Digitalife A79A-S Motherboard

Conclusion

Conclusion Foxconn A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard
 
So how well did the Foxconn A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard perform in today's performance review?
 
The Foxconn A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard is an unusual beast that has some great points, but again it has some not-so-great ones at the same time. The Foxconn A79A-S bundle isn't anything to "write home to mum about", but it does provide everything that you'll need to get your system up and running. I guess that I've been spoiled by the vast amount of accessories that you get when you purchase say an ASUS motherboard. You just don't feel like you're getting value for money when you're paying a premium price for a motherboard. Furthermore, the motherboard colour scheme isn't the best and is quite ugly.
 
The Foxconn A79A-S has probably the best layout of any AM2 motherboard that I have seen to date. The overclocking experience on a Phenom X4 is good thanks to the inclusion of ACC. The extra overclocking headroom made available to you by the Advanced Clock Calibration (ACC) function is certainly a welcome addition, and an unlocked mmultiplier certainly helps too. The Foxconn A79A-S DigitaLife is also extremely stable when overclocking. That being said, I did find the HTT overclocking experience on this motherboard very poor, but it is never usually fantastic with these motherboards anyway. During out trip around the BIOS, I mentioned that it feels extremely 'clunky' in that the processor and memory settings are in completely different areas of the BIOS. This makes adjustments tedious at best, and becomes extremely frustrating at times. On a couple of occasions I found myself just getting up and walking away.
 
Pricing for the Foxconn A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard, unfortunately, is where everything really comes unstuck. Ebuyer have the motherboard advertised for £204.45 inc vat, and further searching didn't yield many better offers. Our Australian readers can get their hands on the A79A-S from Altech Computers for AUS$499 inc GST. For a motherboard at this price point I just feel that it isn't particularly worth the premium that you are having to pay for it. There are better alternatives out there for your hard earned cash.
 
The Good
+ Stability
+ SB750 and ACC feature
+ Exceptional layout for an AM2 motherboard
 
The Mediocre
* BIOS layout could have been better
 
The Bad
- Price
 
Overclock3D Reviewed Award
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Altech Computers for providing today's review sample
 
Discuss this review in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2008, 08:18:11

PV5150
In the market for an AM2 motherboard to double as a multimedia all-rounder? Foxconn has released their A79A-S DigitaLife motherboard based upon the 790FX + SB750 chipset and we simply had to take a look.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135029989s.jpg

Read the review here

21-11-2008, 08:49:22

Hassan
Is there any possibility of finding out on how it compares with a Intel Q6600?

21-11-2008, 09:46:29

PV5150
I was going to do a series of performance numbers from a stock clocked Q6600 as a reference only, but it usually gets misconstrued as a comparison. Hence the reason I left them out.

21-11-2008, 14:57:28

w3bbo
I'm in the middle of an AMD head to head based on the same chipset so can include a Q6600 result set for a comparison.

Nice read as always PV.

21-11-2008, 15:23:09

FarFarAway
Excellent well written review Peevs, good work

21-11-2008, 15:27:34

Rastalovich
Bah, I got disappointed when I left reading the price til the end.

It's a decent mobo - but that's it, decent. Colors are quite alarming, although I'm not sure using red to make it go faster actually worked

If I'd got to the conclusion page and saw a UK price sub 150 I might feel different. 200 for the mobo isn't tastey to me at all. If there was an extremely sexy bundle with it, I might think around 175 because of it alone.

Foxconn make some really great looking and performing Intel mobos, maybe a little overpriced also, but the likes of the Black Ops include test beds, ln2 pots .. other crazy things, but it helps justify the pricing, not totally, but it helps ur conscience.

I'd expect a price drop.

22-11-2008, 00:45:14

PV5150
Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

@ Rast: I totally agree with what you're saying. If the bundle had been better and the price wasn't GBP200 then it certainly would have been a more attractive deal. Given the board's overclocking capability and stability, it's a shame to see it being passed by simply because of an exorbitant price.

22-11-2008, 10:14:41

Rastalovich
Is there anything to be gained from an eventual AM3 'designed' specific mobo ?

I do in all honesty, think the mobo manufacturers have let their creative juices go stagnant when it comes to AMD design in general.

I mean people would invest in a new AM2+ mobo if they rearranged some of the onboard stuff, socket areas, something beneficial to a cooling setup. Use the feedback that I'm sure AMD users have about little niggles when installing giant coolers, air flow, getting the ati cards in there and still having 3 or so pci slots avilable ??

I dunno. Something purely creative that gives them an advantage and ease for the enthusiast.

These mobos look like pre K7 boards.

22-11-2008, 11:46:35

nepas
damm shame about the price,it is not the cheapest board with the 750 chipset,which makes you wonder why you pay that much for a foxconn board
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.