EVGA X58 x3 Classified Motherboard

PCMark Vantage



PCMark Vantage is the latest benchmarking suite from Futuremark. Differing significantly from their 3DMark suites, PCMark performs a series of benchmarks designed to recreate and benchmark scenarios of a PC being used for everyday tasks. Vantage has a Vista only requirement as it actually relies on several different components from the OS in order to run correctly.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Results Analysis
 
Although the Classified started out well, confirming what we had seen already with the gaming and hard drive performance results, the EVGA motheboard began to suffer at the hands of the music and productivity test. Not this was a bad performance but I fully expected the motherboard to do a clean sweep once more, or at least be the best board on average.
 
Let's head over to the conclusion where I attempt to put today's testing into perspective...  
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-08-2009, 12:34:27

w3bbo
In todays economic climate, shelling out over 300 for a motherboard may seem like madness but EVGA have a product that may sway your opinion - May I present you with the X58 3x Classified...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...085609800s.jpg

Full review HERE

15-08-2009, 06:25:16

Rastalovich
Being honest, I read the spec page and quickly turned to the benchmark section.

For me, the X58 mobos from all manufacturers u can just about slip a piece of paper in between all the benchmarkers if taken as an overall picture. Some peak in somethings, whilst dropping in other areas - but even these highs and lows aren't worth batting an eyelid at imo.

So yeah, good mobo. Very pricey. Layout would be a preference to what u want to do.

Thing for me here is that fundamental tech for peripherals is around the corner, in more than one fashion, and even with some mobos seeming faking the access speeds with bolted on controllers, 300 for what could be "older tech" (in the peripheral pov) is not a sound idea.

15-08-2009, 07:43:22

w3bbo
I agree Rasta, there isn't alot to compare between the performance of the X58 motherboards. Unless of course you read the whole review to get a balanced opinion as the major differences between them are aesthetics, design, BIOS and overclocking which you say you skipped.

I do agree however that because of the new SATA III standard just around the corner it's going to be hard to sell this 'older' tech.

17-08-2009, 12:05:28

clone38
Loving mine 759 runs great.

17-08-2009, 12:19:33

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Unless of course you read the whole review to get a balanced opinion as the major differences between them are aesthetics, design, BIOS and overclocking which you say you skipped.
Sorry m8, it's not a reflection of the review(s), it's just like similar to SSD reviews for me - there are key things I quickly look at first (probably to see if anything stands out). With SSD it's /G/Speed inherently, with mobos, especially now, it's /stats/Newtech implementation.

With mobos now, we could be on the verge of a double set of standards that will be with us for a long time. Pretty much a b1tch back in the day if u got a mobo with USB1.1 when USB2.0 was just coming out. Similarly with SATA3. If u spend zillions on SSDs with a SATA2 controller, u could be upset.

18-08-2009, 02:19:15

buburuza76
I like this board.Elegant.However i heard that EVGA will have to do better with their BIOS in the future. It`s not old tech like someone said, i think after a price drop this board could be a best buy from OCC`ers. Maybe not all of them are asking for new tech like SATA III which i doubt it will be really something much better in speed than SATAII

18-08-2009, 08:14:21

Rastalovich
So u'd be happy to spend 300 on the mobo and pci/e cards to have the SATA3 & USB3 that ur m8 gets on a cheaper mobo ?

(assuming cheaper, as 300 for a mobo is outrageous in itself)

18-08-2009, 08:28:25

FarFarAway
I'm with Rasta, a 300 board released now is almost idiocy. With SATA III and USB III on the way, why would anyone in their right make such a large investment in something so handi-capped?

It's not a reflection on the (as usual), excellent review, but it is something to think about.

18-08-2009, 08:44:10

valor
Agree with that too, but i can`t wait to see how USB 3.0 and SATAIII will perform.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.