DFI X58 T3eH8 Ultra Motherboard

Introduction

Introduction

DFI have long been known as the board of choice for overclockers. The DFI
Nf4 boards were massively superior to anything the competition could muster, so much so that everyone believed, myself included, that the Intel derivative of the Lanparty boards would be a resounding success. Sadly, this was not the case. Production problems meant more often than not, DFI were late to the table with their offerings and as such, the boards were not taken up in the numbers they had enjoyed previously. This isn't to say the boards were bad, it's just they offered little over the competition and as most enthusiasts had already bought P45 and X48 boards, most weren't about to trade up 6 months down the line when DFI released their variant. I half expected X58 to be a similar story but I am pleased to announce DFI are on time with the X58 T3eH8 Ultra motherboard.

Being an Ultra, the T3eH8 is being touted as a flagship model with all the premium additions you would expect from a top end motherboard. On-board switches, a plethora of jumpers, Bernstein HD Audio, Volterra Digital PWM as well as support for CrossfireX and Tri SLI are just some of the massive array of features this board has to offer. Being an overclockers board it goes without saying that it should be well cooled. True to form, DFI have once again outdone themselves with some jaw dropping heatsinks ensuring the board is cooled sufficiently even under heavy overclocking conditions.

DFI are focused purely on performance. You won't find unneeded power saving features on this motherboard as it was not designed to save the planet, it was designed to blow it apart. I sometimes wonder why some manufacturers make a big deal out of the green features of it's boards but then add useless extras that negate the power saving cost in the first place. DFI simply do not play that game. Raw speed is all they are about, DFI leave the tree hugging and saving the whale to someone else. Let's hope this consensus has been transferred to the ethos of the X58 T3eH8.

Specification
CPU
* LGA 1366 socket for Intel® Core™ i7 processors
* Intel® QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) technology - point-to-point interface that connects to X58; providing a dynamically scalable interconnect for increased bandwidth, lower latency and stability
* Integrated Memory Controller (IMC) supports 3 channels of DDR3
* Intel Hyper-Threading Technology delivers 8-threaded performance
* 8-phase digital PWM provides stable voltage to the CPU

Chipset

* Intel chipset
- Northbridge: Intel X58 Express chipset
- Southbridge: Intel ICH10R

QPI
* System bus - 4.8GT/s to 6.4GT/s

System Memory
* Six 240-pin DDR3 DIMM sockets
* DDR3 800/1066/1333/1600(O.C.) MHz DIMMs
* Triple-channel memory architecture
* Supports up to 24GB system memory
* Delivers up to 43.2GB/s bandwidth
* Unbuffered x8/x16, non-ECC and ECC, up to 4Gb DDR3 devices
Windows® 32-bit operating system is unable to accurately detect more than 4GB system memory. Therefore, if you are using this operating system, we strongly recommend that you install a less than 3GB system memory.

Expansion Slots
* 3 PCI Express (Gen 2) x16 slots
a. 2-way CrossFire at x16/x16 transfer rate lanes; or
b. 3-way SLI at x16/x8/x8 transfer rate lanes
* 1 PCI Express x4 slot
* 2 PCI slots

BIOS
* Award BIOS
* 8Mbit SPI flash memory
* CMOS Reloaded

Graphics
* Multiple GPUs (Graphics Processing Unit)
- 3 graphics cards in 3-way SLI or Quad CrossFireX configuration

Audio
* Bernstein audio module
- Realtek ALC889 8-channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- Center/subwoofer, rear R/L and side R/L jacks
- Line-in, line-out (front R/L) and mic-in jacks
- 2 coaxial RCA S/PDIF-in/out jacks
- 1 optical S/PDIF connector
- 1 CD-in connector
- 1 front audio connector
* 108dB Signal-to-Noise ratio (SNR) playback (DAC) quality and 104dB SNR recording (ADC) quality

LAN
* Marvell 88E8052 and Marvell 88E8053 PCIE Gigabit LAN controllers with Teaming technology
* Fully compliant to IEEE 802.3 (10BASE-T), 802.3u (100BASE-TX) and 802.3ab (1000BASE-T) standards

Storage
* Intel ICH10R chip
- Intel Matrix Storage technology
- Supports up to 6 SATA devices
- SATA speed up to 3Gb/s
- RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 0+1 and RAID 5
* JMicron JMB363 PCI Express to SATA and PATA host controller
- Supports up to 2 UltraDMA 100Mbps IDE devices
- Supports 2 SATA devices
- SATA speed up to 3Gb/s
- RAID 0 and RAID 1

IEEE 1394
* VIA VT6308P
* Supports two 100/200/400 Mb/sec IEEE 1394a ports

Rear Panel I/O
* 1 Mini-DIN-6 PS/2 mouse port
* 1 Mini-DIN-6 PS/2 keyboard port
* 1 IEEE 1394 port
* 6 USB 2.0 ports
* 2 RJ45 LAN ports

Internal I/O
* 3 connectors for 6 additional external USB 2.0 ports
* 1 connector for an external COM port
* 1 connector for an IEEE 1394 port
* 1 connector for the Bernstein audio module
* 1 IrDA connector and 1 CIR connector
* 8 Serial ATA connectors
* 1 40-pin IDE connector and 1 floppy connector
* 1 24-pin ATX power connector
* 1 8-pin 12V power connector
* 2 4-pin 5V/12V power connectors (FDD type)
* 1 front panel connector
* 8 fan connectors
* 1 diagnostic LED
* EZ touch switches (power switch and reset switch)

Power Management
* ACPI and OS Directed Power Management
* ACPI STR (Suspend to RAM) function
* Wake-On-PS/2 / Wake-On-USB Keyboard/Mouse
* Wake-On-LAN and Wake-On-Ring
* RTC timer to power-on the system
* AC power failure recovery

Hardware Monitor
* Monitors CPU/system/Northbridge temperature and overheat alarm
* Monitors Vcore/Vdimm/Vnb/VCC5/12V/V5sb/Vbat voltages
* Monitors the speed of the cooling fans
* CPU Overheat Protection function monitors CPU temperature and fan during system boot-up - automatic shutdown upon system overheat

PCB
* 6 layers, ATX form factor;
* 24.5cm (9.64") x 30.5cm (12")


As per norm, the DFI fails to disappoint.  There are however a few points that should be mentioned. The 6+2 USB configuration is less than other boards on the market at the moment. This however can be expanded using the internal USB headers (no bracket included). Although the board supports TRI SLI it will be restricted to eight lanes on the 2nd and third card. This is due to the fact that the board does not have the nf200 chip allowing 16 lanes on all PCIe slots. As all the slots are PCIe 2.0 standard this is much less of an issue as the bandwidth is much less restricted as it was on PCIe 1.0 standard.

Lets see how DFI have presented the X58 T3eH8...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-01-2009, 09:17:32

Ham
Looking for a high end X58 board that can push your shiny new I7 to it's limit? Today webbo takes a look at the DFI X58 T3eH8 Ultra to see if it checks all the boxes.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164612695s.jpg

Take a look too see how it fairs here.

29-01-2009, 09:45:57

VonBlade
It's nice to know some things never change.

Amazing layout? Check.

Bulletproof? Check.

Incomprehensible BIOS options? Must be a DFI

Some great clocks coming out of that. Agree that the current high-end X58s are way too steep. Although the high-end 775 stuff was eye-watering too.

Thanks for the review.

29-01-2009, 09:46:49

Kerotan
Just spotted a typo:

while at first appearance appears very thick is that that daunting once you realise it is a multi language manual.



Probably wanna replace one of the "thats" with "not". Made for an awesome read though- day I can afford kit like this is the day I win the lottery lol.

29-01-2009, 10:03:02

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kerotan'
Just spotted a typo:

Probably wanna replace one of the "thats" with "not". Made for an awesome read though- day I can afford kit like this is the day I win the lottery lol.
Sounds like he was overcome by the 'Chinglish' manual.

29-01-2009, 10:48:48

soapsupah
its an amazing mobo, it looks pretty good, it has a lot of good points but i still dont know its price, also the asus / msi board results were as good as the DFI mobo, and sometimes even better and i expected more from it afterall DFI is pretty famous, but still its a great mobo

29-01-2009, 14:42:09

w3bbo
Although the results showed the boards to be fairly even (they are afterall all based on the same chipset and run at the same settings), when scoring the boards there are many more points to consider.

The DFI board is not a board to run at stock settings, it isn't designed to do that, anyone who buys this board for that is only after e-peen glory and not using the board for what it was intended for - overclocking. In this area it excels. Therefore DFI have completed what they set out to do. The price they charge reflects the niche market they are aiming for. After all Lamborghinis arn't exactly in the same marketplace or have the same customer in mind as Diatsu.

If you want a board that covers all bases then the Gigabyte board, for me at least, is the better board.

For hassle free 'it just works', reliability then look no further than the Asus P6T.

The MSI, while not a bad board by any stretch of the imagination, offers nothing over the others for the price they are asking.

29-01-2009, 15:00:25

HypoglossalXII
DFI's X58 review! Gonna take my time reading this one. But yes, I love the flexibility the DFI bios offers, however sometimes, most of their settings seem rather redundant, or unnecessary.

But hey, the more there is to tweak, the double the fun.

-HypoG

29-01-2009, 15:09:02

Rastalovich
Don't like it tbh. May sound outrageous, and I do respect the DFI history a great deal.

From the stats, I don't see a separation for any of these mobos. One will show a meager % over another, then on the next line-up it's beaten by one of the other mobos in another respect.

To this end, u could base a decision on price and ease of use. The bios is what it is, does it need to be overly expressive with the apparent limitations in what u can and can't do - probably not. w3bbo's above post iterates what for what.

The challenge I guess would be to get 4g+ from each of the mobos... that being done, which was the easiest (in terms of getting into the bios and changing things easily, getting out, and being stable equally easily) - if more than 2 of them can do that.. do u need the other features today ?

Bottom line for me, the big-arse sink out of the rear is a no-no, and 287 - no thanks.

Great review btw.

29-01-2009, 15:11:46

soapsupah
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Although the results showed the boards to be fairly even (they are afterall all based on the same chipset and run at the same settings), when scoring the boards there are many more points to consider.

The DFI board is not a board to run at stock settings, it isn't designed to do that, anyone who buys this board for that is only after e-peen glory and not using the board for what it was intended for - overclocking. In this area it excels. Therefore DFI have completed what they set out to do. The price they charge reflects the niche market they are aiming for. After all Lamborghinis arn't exactly in the same marketplace or have the same customer in mind as Diatsu.

If you want a board that covers all bases then the Gigabyte board, for me at least, is the better board.

For hassle free 'it just works', reliability then look no further than the Asus P6T.

The MSI, while not a bad board by any stretch of the imagination, offers nothing over the others for the price they are asking.
i understand, but then, the review could be updated someday when you have time, with some "basic" overclock settings and compared with the asus /gigabite if possible, because at stock like you said, it just runs like any other , its hard to get a good opinion of it by the stock, if i understand right, but anyways good review man

29-01-2009, 16:34:00

VonBlade
I think it's vital to test things at stock. That's what the public are buying.

29-01-2009, 21:24:27

fruityness
Sexy. But sexyness comes with a chunky price tag too.

30-01-2009, 05:46:26

valor
Yea...have to sell my entire c2d rig now in order to buy this mb.

Anyway this would be nice to have it in a next contest...

30-01-2009, 05:51:02

valor
Yea...have to sell my entire c2d rig now in order to buy this mb.

Anyway this would be nice to have it in a next contest...

30-01-2009, 07:33:55

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
I think it's vital to test things at stock. That's what the public are buying.
Taking this point up with Mr VonBlade. At the same time as agreeing that testing stock is vital, OC3D does have it's roots in an enthusiasts approach to hardware, whilst regular reviews may be found all over the 'net, I don't think I'm alone in wanting the testers to hammer the hardware if possible.

Then again, u may expect that after the dust settles, a shoot-out between mobos may be reviewed.

EDIT: Seen the MSI X58 Platinum for 226 today, it's a bit of a difference.

31-01-2009, 04:34:50

Hodgstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Taking this point up with Mr VonBlade. At the same time as agreeing that testing stock is vital, OC3D does have it's roots in an enthusiasts approach to hardware, whilst regular reviews may be found all over the 'net, I don't think I'm alone in wanting the testers to hammer the hardware if possible.

Then again, u may expect that after the dust settles, a shoot-out between mobos may be reviewed.

EDIT: Seen the MSI X58 Platinum for 226 today, it's a bit of a difference.
or the Boistar Tpower X58 for 218.49

I agree with both sides of the arguement TBH

I deffinately want to see "the testers hammer the hardware"

but a quick look at base settings performance would not do any harm as some people only overclock to game and/or bench, leaving things at or close to base settings for a large percentage of the time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.