DFI X48 UT-T3RS Motherboard

Encoding & Compression Benchmarks

ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D motherboard testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding raw video into Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif formats. As always, a total of 5 benchmark runs were performed with the highest and lowest scores removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 scores.

 

Windows Media

Quicktime

 


7-Zip is an open source Winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including its own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.

 

Compression

 

Results Conclusions

The DFI X48 board started to show signs of pulling away in some of the benchmarks with the 7-Zip compression test really impressing. The mainboard throughout the testing came out top or a close second, testiment to the improvements on the X48 based chipset.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-08-2008, 15:39:13

w3bbo
"A premium chipset paired with DFI's overclocking prowess - an enthusiasts wet dream? We put DFI's latest motherboard, the Lanparty X48-T3RS, through its paces to satisfy your loins."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...203719426s.jpg

Read the full in-depth review HERE .

27-08-2008, 15:59:47

nepas
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway

27-08-2008, 16:29:14

Rastalovich
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.

27-08-2008, 17:12:52

FarFarAway
I'm sorry Rast, that boards cooling is simply gorgeous. Unless you're watercooling you won't need to replace it.

Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Quote:
Originally Posted by webbo
- EZ Clear switches don't ALWAYS clear CMOS.

- EZ Cear switches look basic in comparison to other boards.
Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest

27-08-2008, 17:51:16

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway
I had that X38 a couple of weeks before I sold it to you m8 and tbh that was pretty similar. I just felt that although the overclock was better than the rest the time it took to get even a half decent (3.6ghz) overclock took alot more effort than with other motherboards and taking into account the numerous (my fingers actually got sore pressing the EZ-Clear switches) BIOS resets it became a frustrating affair rather than a joyous one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.
It IS an outstanding board and it has THE best cooling setup on any board I have ever used, add a thermalright Ultra extreme and you have perhaps the best aircooled solution around - certainly the best looking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest
I guess it comes down to your point of view. Overclocking has never been so easy with other boards, maybe that takes some of the fun out of it or maybe it relieves the stress of endlessly rebooting, stress testing resetting BIOS etc.

Point taken over the switches, I was just peeved while writing the conclusion as I was stupidly running the chip at 3.9ghz( I'm always one to push things as far as possible lol) and had a BSOD when the conclusion was almost complete. The board then wouldn't reboot (again) without a jumper switch. Grrrrr

That said there's simply no doubting it's one hell of a clocker and providing you have the patience, as the review showed, the overclocking results can be astounding.

27-08-2008, 18:18:40

Ham
I wish more companies would adopt the digi PWM. the socket area is just so much cleaner.

Just cries out 'insulate me!'

Fantastic job as ever webbo!

27-08-2008, 20:01:50

Bungral
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg

28-08-2008, 03:17:09

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 04:56:53

Luigi
haha

Either that or DFI engraved it specially

28-08-2008, 09:28:47

Bungral
Ha that would be quite funny actually...

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 09:32:41

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Ha that would be quite funny actually...
Even funnier if the image was reversed and upsidedown

29-08-2008, 12:05:24

w3bbo
Stops the scumbags from stealling my 1337 photography skills
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.