DFI X48 UT-T3RS Motherboard

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
spec sheet
 
During the testing of the setup above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used before the benchmarking began, with a full defrag of the hard drive once all the drivers and software were installed, preventing any possible performance issues due to leftover drivers from the previous motherboard installations.

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities were used:
  
Synthetic CPU & Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark 05
• 3DMark 06

3D Games
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
• Quake 4
 
 
Overclocking
 
I was expecting great things from the DFI X48 UT-T3RS and I wasn't disappointed. Despite a few problematic settings I managed a decent FSB of 474. The time it took to get this FSB however was a little disappointing as I had numerous issues and non-boot scenarios. Some of the non-boot scenarios were down to overzealous memory overclocking resulting in a 'C1' error on the on-board diagnostic LED. Occasionally the only way to clear this error was to manually reset the BIOS by the use of the on-board jumpers as the EZ-Clear was simply not up to the job. 
 
I found the board to be akin to taking a posh girl out on a first date. Treat her well, go slowly and the rewards are yours for the taking, however if you go straight for the money shot you will get slapped and have to start all over again. The DFI needs time and patience if you are going to get the best out of it. It's simply no good upping the FSB and a few voltages and hoping for a good overclock. Frustrating, certainly, but with a little research into the numerous settings  you can push things a little harder with the DFI than you can with other boards but be under no illusion this is no 'point and squirt' board - if you are after a quick and easy overclock then I suggest you look elsewhere.
  
 
Max FSB 
 
Max overclock
 
 
For the maximum overclock we use a maximum voltage of 1.5v and see how far the board can go. Here is where the DFI UT-T3RS shows its strength in the overclocking department. While the maximum FSB may appear to be a little disappointing, the maximum overclock surpasses all its competitors with ease. I should however note that with our sample the Vdroop when under load (even with the setting preventing this set to enabled) was approximately 0.02v. Clearing its nearest rival by 80MHz is no mean feat and puts the DFI board at the top of the overclocking pile. I have no doubts that both the FSB and maximum overclock could be bettered given more time and more research/testing but I was happy the board has proven its salt by becoming our new overclocking supremo. Well done DFI.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-08-2008, 15:39:13

w3bbo
"A premium chipset paired with DFI's overclocking prowess - an enthusiasts wet dream? We put DFI's latest motherboard, the Lanparty X48-T3RS, through its paces to satisfy your loins."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...203719426s.jpg

Read the full in-depth review HERE .

27-08-2008, 15:59:47

nepas
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway

27-08-2008, 16:29:14

Rastalovich
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.

27-08-2008, 17:12:52

FarFarAway
I'm sorry Rast, that boards cooling is simply gorgeous. Unless you're watercooling you won't need to replace it.

Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Quote:
Originally Posted by webbo
- EZ Clear switches don't ALWAYS clear CMOS.

- EZ Cear switches look basic in comparison to other boards.
Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest

27-08-2008, 17:51:16

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway
I had that X38 a couple of weeks before I sold it to you m8 and tbh that was pretty similar. I just felt that although the overclock was better than the rest the time it took to get even a half decent (3.6ghz) overclock took alot more effort than with other motherboards and taking into account the numerous (my fingers actually got sore pressing the EZ-Clear switches) BIOS resets it became a frustrating affair rather than a joyous one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.
It IS an outstanding board and it has THE best cooling setup on any board I have ever used, add a thermalright Ultra extreme and you have perhaps the best aircooled solution around - certainly the best looking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest
I guess it comes down to your point of view. Overclocking has never been so easy with other boards, maybe that takes some of the fun out of it or maybe it relieves the stress of endlessly rebooting, stress testing resetting BIOS etc.

Point taken over the switches, I was just peeved while writing the conclusion as I was stupidly running the chip at 3.9ghz( I'm always one to push things as far as possible lol) and had a BSOD when the conclusion was almost complete. The board then wouldn't reboot (again) without a jumper switch. Grrrrr

That said there's simply no doubting it's one hell of a clocker and providing you have the patience, as the review showed, the overclocking results can be astounding.

27-08-2008, 18:18:40

Ham
I wish more companies would adopt the digi PWM. the socket area is just so much cleaner.

Just cries out 'insulate me!'

Fantastic job as ever webbo!

27-08-2008, 20:01:50

Bungral
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg

28-08-2008, 03:17:09

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 04:56:53

Luigi
haha

Either that or DFI engraved it specially

28-08-2008, 09:28:47

Bungral
Ha that would be quite funny actually...

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 09:32:41

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Ha that would be quite funny actually...
Even funnier if the image was reversed and upsidedown

29-08-2008, 12:05:24

w3bbo
Stops the scumbags from stealling my 1337 photography skills
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.