DFI X48 UT-T3RS Motherboard

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents
 
From the outset it was clear that we were not dealing with any ordinary DFI product. Gone are the cartoon figures of some LAN geek, replaced with a very swish white & gold package. The font is worth mentioning as at first glance it is hard to decipher, my son actually thought it was box for a Digimon, such is the similarity. Dominating the front is the Thermalright 'Flame' in reference to the included Flame Freezer. The rear of the box goes into detail of what the board has to offer.  I must say it's a very striking package and of much better quality than the DFI's of yesteryear.
 
DFI X48-T3RS box front DFI X48-T3RS Box back
 
DFI X48-T3RS Box Side DFI X48-T3RS Bubble box
 
Opening the box we find that the motherboard is encased in a plastic sheet serving to protect the motherboard as well as prevent any static shock. I must say I was very impressed with the packaging which was very solid and should prevent any damage during transit. Doing the 'shake test', nothing inside the box was moving which is testament to the packing methods used. The accessories are also very well packaged having their own separate compartment rather than been thrown into the box as an afterthought. Careful consideration has been taken here and DFI deserve a commendation.
 
 DFI X48-T3RS Accessory box DFI X48-T3RS Accessories
 
DFI X48-T3RS Backplate DFI X48-T3RS Flame Freezer
 
The accessories themselves are of the usual DFI standard. UV rounded cables for both Floppy and IDE are present along with UV SATA cables as per the norm for the Lanparty series. Also included is a fitment kit for the Flame Freezer, a Crossfire ribbon and the Bernstein Audio ribbon. A quick installation manual for the mainboard as well as a separate instruction leaflet for the installation of the Flame Freezer are there along with the usual multi-language motherboard manual. A nice addition is the inclusion of paste and spreader for the mounting of the Northbridge. Perhaps the strangest accessory is the I/O backplate. It is a very heavyweight affair to aid the support of the Flame Freezer itself.
 
DFI X48-T3RS Bernstein DFI X48-T3RS Bernstein module
 
Audio is provided by the Bernstein audio module which is highly regarded throughout the industry. It is attached to the motherboard via a supplied ribbon cable which is a great idea as this means that a PCI slot is not taken up by the use of an optional card. I have used this card before so I am quite conversant with its capabilities and while it is not exactly up there with the X-FI's and Xonar's of this world it is perfectly adequate and a definite improvement over tradition on board solutions. I appreciate that audio quality is a very subjective thing but only the most perfectionist of audiophiles would be disappointed with the module considering its basic functionality.
 
So a well featured and packaged product thus far. With a price tag at the thick end of £200 it should be well spec'd I hear you say but DFI have gone that little bit further to distinguish its product from others on the interweb's store shelves. DFI should rest easy in the knowledge that they have achieved just that with a premium and polished presentation.
 
Lets take a closer look at the motherboard itself...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-08-2008, 15:39:13

w3bbo
"A premium chipset paired with DFI's overclocking prowess - an enthusiasts wet dream? We put DFI's latest motherboard, the Lanparty X48-T3RS, through its paces to satisfy your loins."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...203719426s.jpg

Read the full in-depth review HERE .

27-08-2008, 15:59:47

nepas
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway

27-08-2008, 16:29:14

Rastalovich
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.

27-08-2008, 17:12:52

FarFarAway
I'm sorry Rast, that boards cooling is simply gorgeous. Unless you're watercooling you won't need to replace it.

Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Quote:
Originally Posted by webbo
- EZ Clear switches don't ALWAYS clear CMOS.

- EZ Cear switches look basic in comparison to other boards.
Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest

27-08-2008, 17:51:16

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
nice review mate as always.you sounded a bit unhappy with the fact that you dont get quick and dirty clocks with the DFI,I treat that as one of their trademarks if anything(the bios on a DFI can be a pretty scary place compared to others).Nice to see that it broke the record anyway
I had that X38 a couple of weeks before I sold it to you m8 and tbh that was pretty similar. I just felt that although the overclock was better than the rest the time it took to get even a half decent (3.6ghz) overclock took alot more effort than with other motherboards and taking into account the numerous (my fingers actually got sore pressing the EZ-Clear switches) BIOS resets it became a frustrating affair rather than a joyous one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Nearly bought this board ...

Today I received an Abit IX48 GT3, and have to modify a scythe ninja (trim 4 fins) in order to get past the skycraper of a nb cooler!

What is the deal with all these cokey coolers ? Why we want a wad of heatsink sticking out the back of the case ? Why we want big arse tower things ?

Just give us an oustanding board with decent cooling... most of the hardcored guys take them off anyways.
It IS an outstanding board and it has THE best cooling setup on any board I have ever used, add a thermalright Ultra extreme and you have perhaps the best aircooled solution around - certainly the best looking!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Great review. As always, DFI's are nail-biting, scream-inducing overclocking nightmares but if you fiddle long enough they hit the spot big time

Stretching the mediocre points a little I feel, I've not met an EZ Clear CMOS switch that works every time yet to be honest
I guess it comes down to your point of view. Overclocking has never been so easy with other boards, maybe that takes some of the fun out of it or maybe it relieves the stress of endlessly rebooting, stress testing resetting BIOS etc.

Point taken over the switches, I was just peeved while writing the conclusion as I was stupidly running the chip at 3.9ghz( I'm always one to push things as far as possible lol) and had a BSOD when the conclusion was almost complete. The board then wouldn't reboot (again) without a jumper switch. Grrrrr

That said there's simply no doubting it's one hell of a clocker and providing you have the patience, as the review showed, the overclocking results can be astounding.

27-08-2008, 18:18:40

Ham
I wish more companies would adopt the digi PWM. the socket area is just so much cleaner.

Just cries out 'insulate me!'

Fantastic job as ever webbo!

27-08-2008, 20:01:50

Bungral
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg

28-08-2008, 03:17:09

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Wow... It's so flat and clean it reflects logos that aren't actually there

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131911733l.jpg
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 04:56:53

Luigi
haha

Either that or DFI engraved it specially

28-08-2008, 09:28:47

Bungral
Ha that would be quite funny actually...

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Ahh damnit, looks like webbo forgot to remove the oc3d logo stuck to the lens of his camera for that shot.

28-08-2008, 09:32:41

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Ha that would be quite funny actually...
Even funnier if the image was reversed and upsidedown

29-08-2008, 12:05:24

w3bbo
Stops the scumbags from stealling my 1337 photography skills
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.