DFI Lanparty LT X38-T2R Motherboard

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup

To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
Motherboard(s)
DFI LANPARTY UT X38-T2R (X38)
XFX nForce 780i SLI (780i)
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Asus Striker II Formula (780i)
DFI LANPARTY UT P35-T2R (P35)
 
Processor
• Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
 
Memory Modules
• Cellshock PC2-6400 DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
 
Graphics Card
• Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
 
Hard Disk
• Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
 
Operating System
• Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
 
During the testing of the boards above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used between switching boards, preventing any possible performance issues due to left-over drivers from the previous motherboard install.

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities were used:

Synthetic CPU & Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Overclocking
 
Overclocking has always been one of DFI's strongest areas with many of their motherboards being used to smash benchmarking and raw MHZ world records. We've already seen the extensive BIOS options and superb layout of the board, but will this help in the overclocking department?
 
Maximum Overclock
 
As we can see from the results above, the X38-T2R manages to place itself  among the best boards that we've tested to date by taking our Q6600 up to 3650mhz. Overclocking on the board was extremely effortless, with only the CPU vcore and FSB settings requiring adjustment to take the processor this far.
 
While 3650mhz may not seem amazing as far as overclocking is concerned, please bear in mind that this was performed using Intel's stock cooler along with a maximum vcore of 1.500v.
 
Maximum FSB Speed
 
With many of the lower-end Intel processors showing great overclock potential but often being crippled by low multipliers, having a motherboard that can obtain high-FSB speeds is a must. By reducing the multiplier of our Q6600 test CPU down to x6, the maximum FSB speed we was able to obtain from the X38-T2R was 495mhz. Other reports around the web have seen this board hit in excess of 530FSB on dual core chips, so it's highly likely that our Q6600 quad-core was close to hitting a brick wall (which most Q6600's do at around 500fsb).
 
As a side note, the Northbridge cooler included with the X38-T2R performed excellently during our tests; managing to keep temperatures under control even with 1.555v being applied to the NB chip. Unlike the heatpipe based cooling systems found on most other motherboards, I'd be happy to use DFI's stock cooler as part of my own overclocked system.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-02-2008, 17:46:47

JN
"Some of DFI's previous Lanparty branded boards have reached almost iconic status. Will their latest X38 based board be able to meet our expectations?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162811874s.jpg

DFI X38-T2R Review

13-02-2008, 18:23:53

FarFarAway
I know where you live and I know you still have the board in your possession

13-02-2008, 18:24:10

ionicle
looks sweet, i love the green theme

13-02-2008, 18:35:43

Bungral
Yeah quality review Jim as ever.. That board does look swish! And preforms as well to it seems.

Shame there isn't better availability over here

13-02-2008, 19:12:26

Daza
Looks nice but a tad late in my opinion with the X48 boards coming out soon and no real gains over the T2R Ive got.

13-02-2008, 20:42:28

darkorb
WOW!!!

SUCH A NICE BOARD!!

i was waiting for somebody to review this board, as i had had my eyes on it for the longest time.

Such a nice looking board, and what a performer, gonna be getting this 100% in my next build.

14-02-2008, 01:12:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I know where you live and I know you still have the board in your possession
*licks board*

"Haha now it's got my germs on it!!"

14-02-2008, 09:53:42

kataras
why not try overclock dual-core cpu (e6550, e6750 etc) with the board. to make sure it really is q6600's fsb wall and not motherboards. Just a suggestion.

14-02-2008, 09:58:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kataras'
why not try overclock dual-core cpu (e6550, e6750 etc) with the board. to make sure it really is q6600's fsb wall and not motherboards. Just a suggestion.
No chips to hand i'm afraid. I've got two Q6600's and an E4300 floating about at the moment, and the E4300 maxes out at 375fsb lol.

Don't worry tho, you'll probably be seeing a lot more unofficial results form this board when the QX9650 arrives.

14-02-2008, 10:04:59

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Don't worry tho, you'll probably be seeing a lot more unofficial results form this board when the QX9650 arrives.
benches

Extensive review my good man. Won't get a new mobo until nehlam...

14-02-2008, 14:20:38

!TIMMY!
I am so getting one of these wen i go to the US! Thats along as the X48 and 790i chipsets dont blow this out of the water.

15-02-2008, 03:25:04

JN
It looks like it might be a little while before these bouards are available in the UK, but I've been passed information that they should be available at these places:

States: Motherboardpro

Germany: Alternate

18-02-2008, 04:36:15

Barry
If its as good as my Ultra-D has been, then thats my next mobo.

18-02-2008, 04:59:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Barry'
If its as good as my Ultra-D has been, then thats my next mobo.
Having owned/tested pretty much all of DFI's Intel boards, I would say that this is the closest to how I remember my old NF4 being

18-02-2008, 09:25:06

ionicle
i still run my old SLI-D

love it, perfect board, never had a single problem with it...

my pc's are still 939 and 754, its enough power for me....lol

18-02-2008, 18:54:37

w3bbo
I may go for this board over the rampage as the wait is killing me.

19-02-2008, 13:32:07

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
It looks like it might be a little while before these bouards are available in the UK, but I've been passed information that they should be available at these places:

States: Motherboardpro

Germany: Alternate
It was available at Newegg but has now disappeared.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
i still run my old SLI-D

love it, perfect board, never had a single problem with it...

my pc's are still 939 and 754, its enough power for me....lol
I'm also still runing my SLI-DR what a mobo!

19-02-2008, 14:25:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='!TIMMY!'
It was available at Newegg but has now disappeared.
Yeah I noticed that in a thread on XS. Its still there but hidden. DFI say that there is a big box of the boards arriving with them tomorrow-ish.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.