DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS Plus

Encoding and Compression

 
ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D motherboard testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding raw video into Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif formats. As always, a total of 5 benchmark runs were performed with the highest and lowest scores removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 scores.
 
 
 
 
 
 
7-Zip is an open source Winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including its own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.
 

 
 Result Observations
 
When it came to the encoding benchmarks, the performance of the boards were pretty much neck and neck. The deviation from this trend came during the Quicktime encoding tests, where the DK P45 actually came out on top. A similar trend to the CPU and memory benchmarks emerges in the compression & decompression tests, with the DK being a bit slower than the IP35.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-12-2008, 08:33:19

JN
"No frills boards often get looked down upon by enthusiasts. It's time to see if DFI's efforts can change some minds." - By Graham Newton

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...000515304s.jpg

DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS Plus

19-12-2008, 09:06:34

Jaster
I don't think i've seen a DFI board look so good since the 939 days...

19-12-2008, 09:33:08

Rastalovich
All I get from this tbh is there is absolutely no point in getting it if u have an IP35 Pro. Which in all honesty, including the other 2 mobos, is an absolute disgrace imo.

It also has ALC885 sound.. which is pretty old afaik.

I will say tho, for fear of sounding like a scratched record, I feel these 4 series Intel boards would probably perform better with newer cpus.

Good review, being truthful I`d overlook this unless I see it doing well with newer cpus.

19-12-2008, 09:37:53

Jaster
bah humbug to you rast ...I see what your saying...if it had been released 18 months ago it may have warranted more attention...still a decent performing board for the money though...I wouldn't build a current system round it but if your in the field for a replacement then its worth a look...although I think DFI may have been better looking at 1377 rather then sticking to an already tried (and tried(and tried)) formula....

19-12-2008, 09:44:05

Rastalovich
To be really honest, it`s plain to me that the mobo is less use than the IP35 Pro. I have to wonder how it would cope against the IP35 Pro XE.

So, rather than 18 months, it`d be that time PLUS before the Intel 35 chipset was released.

I seriously don`t see the point in this board. For sure it`s a 35 mobo with a dropped in 45 chipset - purely on availablity I`d imagine.

But does this really signal that the 45 chipset is that much of an insignificance over the 35 ? It does have the advantage of being more ddr3 orientated - so in that sense, why is there not a full bank of ddr3 dimms ? The mere presence of ddr2 dimms means that (from what I read on enthusiast sections) a 45 chipset needs to be crippled to use ddr2. How much I don`t know.

19-12-2008, 10:06:30

Jaster
hmmmm....I can see why they say crippled....but I suppose its down to the DDR2 in question...(and believe me Ive sold E8400's to people using a 4core dual sata which only takes up to DDR667 and only one channel max 2gb some people) ...

Sorry my mistake I read 45 chip not chipset...thought it was reference to the 45nm wolfdales...duh...but the point about the DDR2 in question still is a valid point

19-12-2008, 10:34:26

Ham
To be perfectly honest Rast I've not used a 775 board that tops the IP35 Pro yet. This does come rather close though, and is available in pretty much any flavour you want (P45/X48, DDR2/DDR3). And all at a reasonable price.

I could comapre the two with a E7200 if you wanted to see some results based newerish chip. But said E7200 is a terrible overclocker really.

19-12-2008, 10:35:39

Rastalovich
One thing u can't mock is the price.

19-12-2008, 17:56:32

FarFarAway
And the fact that DFI aren't out of business

Looks lush

19-12-2008, 22:32:34

Ghosthud1
have the same board and ive no trouble getting my q6600 too 4ghz, the real selling point is the looks lolz, looks top dog anyways great review keep em up

20-12-2008, 06:22:00

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
And the fact that DFI aren't out of business

Looks lush
Doesn't bode well for us or the industry if those who don't cease creating mobos produce shoddy products in comparison to the predecessors.

Again tho, historically with tech, it's not about what's the best, it's about cash.

01-01-2009, 22:39:59

baron210
I'm pleased to find this motherboard, Would seem to have everything in place for me until I get to go with a Core I7 with whatever chipset's out in Mid 2010.

I have (at the moment), a broken Asus P5K Pro (fails in Raid 0 , AHCI and even IDE compatability mode's in SATA with three makes of HDD's - Maxtor/ Seagate 500gb 3rd gen drives and WD Raptor 74GB's).

I don't want a repeat of these issue's, and am avoiding any board with the Intel ICH9R southbridge as a result, and sincerely hope that it's fixed in the ICH10R?

Asus Tech support suck's basically, and they don't acknowlege the problem at all, despite loads of threads complaining about this problem, also, I managed to recently break a SATA port off of my P5K Pro (they are the straight mounted type rather than the 90 deg. type of this DFI board), and very breakable, just by pulling it off, although lucky 4 me, it didn't short out the connector, and i gingerly replaced it back as a temporary measure (Ironically, I was removing my SATA devices to replace with a Silicon Image PCI-Express SATA controller card, which didn't totally fiix my issue's because there is apparently a problem with PCI-Express timing with the board, that throws SATA into dissarray).

Look forward to running my Q6600 at 3.6 ghz (with my 120 extreme cpu cooler and 120mm fan).

Happy 2009 - Baron210.

(PS - I have a 8800 GTX Nvidia, and a 7600GT Nvid I would like to run in both PCI E Slot's to enable three monitors to be run, anyone know if this'll work, or would the 7600 hold back the performance of the 8800 ???).

Not talking SLI (I know its purely for ATI X Fire), just three outputs - must require some custom software too i'd imagine?

13-09-2009, 05:12:07

XcvX
The review failed to mention the advanced BIOS mode on this DFI board which is hidden by default, you need to hit the F9 key to see all the BIOS options available so I'm not suprised at the poor overclocking results in the review. I agree with the previous post by windwithme who's also tested this board, overall it's an excellent motherboard for overclocking.

13-09-2009, 06:55:42

w3bbo
Yup, the X58 boards are the same. F9 opens up a new menu but that said, the options in there are not exactly all that and are not likely to suddenly boost overclocking by any huge margin. They are more for stabilising and fine tuning imo.

13-09-2009, 13:01:09

Ham
The review was based on the experience i had with the board with the limited time we have to get reviews out. During that time the extra options never made them selves apparent.

I'd hope that the board received a good enough review for anyone to shortlist it and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it even before I knew about the extra settings (which were used a fair while after the review went like to get 5ghz out a very, very stubborn chip). So really they just make a great board even better!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.