Club3D R9 290 Royal Ace Review

Bioshock Infinite

Club3D R9 290 Royal Ace Review

Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock, with its Unreal 3 engine, continues the good work of the Club3D card. If anything we're becoming even more impressed by the R9 290 than we initially were. It can munch through frames at both resolutions.

Club3D R9 290 Royal Ace Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-06-2014, 06:36:21

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092959940l.JPG

Today we're looking at a tri-fan card from Club3D, the Royal Ace R9 290.


Continue Reading

20-06-2014, 08:00:10

barnsley
Nice to have another 290 with mastered cooling. Its interesting how that vendors that specialise in AMD (with the exception of XFX) have managed to tame the temperatures. Its a shame none of them have blower type coolers :I.

20-06-2014, 09:22:26

Excalabur50
Hey Tom watched the video and YES the sound is MUCH!!! better although I have noticed there seems to be some weird rendering issues in the last few vids you have done, where things flash and slightly repeat is the best way to describe it, but yeah dont know what going on with that but thought I should mention it

20-06-2014, 09:23:09

Watsyerproblem
I do love the backplate on this card, and those are some pretty impressive clocks for a stock 290.

One thing I would like to say though, is there any need to run Cloud gate on these high end GPUs? It is a score that I, and I'm sure many others, don't want to see.

Sky diver would be more relevant, but i do understand that there wouldn't be many cards to compare score though.

You new mic sounds good Tom.

20-06-2014, 10:23:01

RickPlaysWarr
Hi Tom

Very nice looking card. I like the look of the shroud and back plate. Are the club 3D cards only available in Europe? I tried to find a price from a USA E-Tailer and could not find it for sale.

On the audio quality. It is much improved. Your voice sounds good, not brittle, or thin. It provides a nice rounded full sound. Noise from the background is not apparent and that is a good thing. Is it a Omni-directional pattern mic or a Cardioid pattern one?

Thanks again

--Rick-

20-06-2014, 17:57:45

Dicehunter
Great sound on the video but there's quite a bit of echo

20-06-2014, 19:07:08

SieB
Good to see another well done 290, the heat sink is very similar to the one on the Tri-X.

21-06-2014, 22:42:52

Deadtroopers
Sourcing a build for my nephew. This looks the part. Excellent review as always. Nice tribute to a fine comic. Sound wise, you seem a tad shriller. I too noticed slight video glitches. Nothing off putting mind. Other than that it's all gravy.
Chin Chin.

22-06-2014, 17:08:25

Grodmanen
how new is this card? there aren't so many in sweden

22-06-2014, 22:35:14

Wraithguard
Great write up and top job on the video as for the sound it was tip top here very nice card from Club 3D I like the simple clean look it just begs to be painted and OC'd. And love the homage to one of our greatest comics R.I.P Rik "The peoples poet" Mayall, you will be sorely missed.

26-06-2014, 10:25:09

Silver Sparrow
Does this card use the reference board design?

Besides the odd flickering (usually during transitions) nice video

p.s classic Rooney comparison!

14-07-2014, 16:13:43

randomite88
Hello! Thank you for the write up. I had a question about the Hitman: Absolution benchmark.

Are those FPS numbers from the built-in benchmark of the china-town sequence?

14-07-2014, 16:31:10

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomite88 View Post
Hello! Thank you for the write up. I had a question about the Hitman: Absolution benchmark.

Are those FPS numbers from the built-in benchmark of the china-town sequence?
Yes. Why would he benchmark himself when the game already has one? lol

14-07-2014, 16:45:27

MaddenShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Yes. Why would he benchmark himself when the game already has one? lol
If you asked that question to Linus, he would tear you apart. Some people really believe that actual gameplay is more important (not Tom).

15-07-2014, 06:38:25

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
If you asked that question to Linus, he would tear you apart. Some people really believe that actual gameplay is more important (not Tom).
Game play requires playing the same level and playing a LOT more of it to get a decent average score..... Fixed benchmarks are more accurrate unless you are talking multiplayer and I wouldnt want to go ruin games for people like that

15-07-2014, 07:00:46

MaddenShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Game play requires playing the same level and playing a LOT more of it to get a decent average score..... Fixed benchmarks are more accurrate unless you are talking multiplayer and I wouldnt want to go ruin games for people like that
Yeah I understand that, and it takes WAYYY too much work. I also agree that fixed benchmarks are better as they provide consistent results
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.