Biostar 1155 TZ68A+ Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Biostar TZ68A+ Review

Introduction

When the LGA1156 first appeared it was mooted as being the lower cost alternative to the almighty X58. To some degree it was although the cost of the higher-end CPUs and some of the better motherboards didn't leave it far short of a medium X58 setup.

Now LGA1155 has been around for a while and we've had the initial P67 influx, more and more manufacturers are shifting to the Z68 Chipset to power their LGA1155 socket motherboards. Unlike its P55 and, to a lesser degree, P67 brethren most of the Z68 boards we've seen have been definitely at the affordable end of the spectrum.

Biostar have often been a supplier of some no-frills, good performing motherboards at reasonable pricing and todays review, the TZ68A+ absolutely falls into the reasonable pricing category, being available for a hair over £90.

Is it really possible to get all the bells and whistles of Z68 boards but for such a tiny price?

Technical Specifications

Certainly the specifications aren't lacking. Only the limited number of USB ports and inclusion of some fairly last gen stuff such as a Printer Port and a couple of PCI slots hint at its 'value' roots.

CPU SUPPORT
  • 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7 Processor
  • 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
  • 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
  • Maximum CPU TDP (Thermal Design Power) : 95Watt
  • MEMORY
  • Support Dual Channel DDR3 2200(OC)/2133(OC)/2000(OC)/1600(OC)/1333/1066 MHz
  • 4 x DDR3 DIMM Memory Slot
  • Max. Supports up to 16GB Memory
  • It is recommended to install memory module on the red DDR3 DIMM slot (DDR3_A2 or DDR3_B2) to boot the system.
  • EXPANSION SLOT
  • 2 x PCI Slots
  • 1 x PCI-E x1 2.0 Slot
  • 2 x PCI-E x16 2.0 Slot (x16 + x4)
  • STORAGE
  • 2 x SATA3 6Gb/s Connector
  • 4 x SATA2 3Gb/s Connector
  • Support SATA RAID: 0,1,5,10
  • Support Intel Smart Response Technology
  • USB
  • ASMedia ASM1042 USB 3.0 controller
  • 2 x USB 3.0 Port
  • 2 x USB 2.0 Port
  • 3 x USB 2.0 Header
  • LAN
  • Realtek RTL8111E - 10/100/1000 Controller
  • CODEC
  • Realtek ALC892 6-Channel Blu-ray Audio
  • REAR I/O
  • 1 x PS/2 Keyboard
  • 2 x USB 3.0 Port
  • 2 x USB 2.0 Port
  • 1 x HDMI Connector
  • 1 x DVI Connector
  • 1 x VGA Port
  • 1 x RJ-45 Port
  • 3 x Audio Connector
  • INTERNAL I/O
  • 1 x Printer Header
  • 3 x USB 2.0 Header
  • 2 x SATA3 6Gb/s Connector
  • 4 x SATA2 3Gb/s Connector
  • 1 x Front Audio Header
  • 1 x Front Panel Header
  • 1 x S/PDIF-OUT Header
  • 1 x CPU FAN Header
  • 2 x System FAN Header
  • 1 x Serial Header
  • 1 x CIR Header
  • DIMENSION
  • ATX Form Factor Dimension: 30.5 cm x 23 cm ( W x L )
  • «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

    Most Recent Comments

    19-07-2011, 09:10:24

    tinytomlogan
    Fancy entering the LGA1155 world on a budget? Perhaps the latest Biostar board is just the ticket.



    Continue Reading

    19-07-2011, 09:20:41

    SieB
    Not bad and as said in the review it's only 92 and for that it is a good board and value for money.

    19-07-2011, 09:46:46

    Jaster
    for an extra 15 though you can get the gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3...which is much the same ... BUT Biostar have a lot of returns .. and following suit with most e-tailers who now have to return all products to the manufacturers (this is the bain of my working existence)...its far easier to deal with Gigabytes RMA team then Biostars ... as a discussional point the mid range section of all components seems to be getting out of hand ... I spend most of my day explaining that for an extra 5 here and an extra 2 there you can get a better class of component ... check ebuyer for example ... the gulf in class between high end and top mid range (especially graphics cards) is but a few quid ... even though its a good priced board I have a feeling it will disappear amidst the swamp of other boards within this price range that are on the horizon ...

    19-07-2011, 09:53:38

    SieB
    But for someone who is on a budget it's a good deal, there is always something better you can get for a few quid more but for the bellow and around the 100 mark on motherboards there ain't much of a difference anyway. This board is for general use it's not a board you would buy for overclocking or running high end GPUs on and for 92 you get what you pay for.

    19-07-2011, 17:22:08

    murphy7801
    I have to say that is one of the ugliest motherboards. I looks like they went through there stock list of MB fittings and pulled out all there over stock and slapped it on one motherboard. Well good thing its cheap and performs with looks like that (as I once about my ex girlfriend lol).

    20-07-2011, 07:58:26

    sheroo
    Looks like its made from lego...

    20-07-2011, 08:06:39

    badtaylorx
    that is one sad looking VRM cooler.......

    23-07-2011, 19:38:07

    shyguy094
    I can't say anything bad about this board, or any other Intel-based Biostar board, because I don't own one, but I can say I won't waste the money to find out. My A880G board just crapped out( no lan, unstable/wrong CPU voltage). And besides , M/Bs are the second to last place you should cheap out on.(PSU is first. )

    23-07-2011, 20:38:06

    S_I_N
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by shyguy094 View Post

    M/Bs are the second to last place you should cheap out on.(PSU is first. )
    allow me to correct this lol

    M/Bs are the second to last place you shouldNT cheap out on.(PSU is first. )

    24-07-2011, 17:01:51

    F-alienware
    Why is it that el cheapo part makers are determined to make their el cheapo parts look cheap?

    Had they stuck to red and black it would have looked pretty nice. Instead some clever pleb goes "Ooo let's throw some white on there and ruin it!"

    27-07-2011, 16:03:47

    F-alienware
    Hello Den.

    Bye Den.
    Reply
    x

    Register for the OC3D Newsletter

    Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

    Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

    If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.