ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Power Draw

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review

Test Setup

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula
Intel Core i7-4770K
Club3D HD7970 Royal Ace
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz
Corsair AX1200i
Corsair Neutron GTX
Corsair H100i
Windows 7 x64 

Overclocking

Considering that this is allegedly the lesser of the two big ROG boards from ASUS we're delighted that it attained a rock solid stable 4.9GHz on our Core i7-4770K at a very reasonable 1.26v on the VCore. With 2400MHz memory and 4.9GHz on the CPU, there is no doubt that the Formula is a good overclocker.

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review 

Power Draw

The Formula is one of the higher power drawing motherboards that we've tested, although of course they are all within 20 Watts of each other so we're hardly talking deal-breaking territory, even if you never turn your system off. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-11-2013, 11:02:01

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182423517l.jpg

Does the Asus Maximus Formula have what it takes to tempt our purse strings?

Continue Reading

04-11-2013, 11:06:56

AndiTHEBOSS
YES! it is the mother of boards

04-11-2013, 11:34:34

0rpheus
Looks like the presentation should've been 11

04-11-2013, 14:36:23

dhoom

04-11-2013, 15:36:16

Glorfindell
Can anyone tell me can I mount a Cooler Master V8 GTS on this board....it would be a dream combination..... :-D

04-11-2013, 15:39:04

G-Dubs
I happen to be reviewing the V8 GTS a the moment, so if Tom will send me over the board I'll let you know (don't expect to get I back though matey)

04-11-2013, 19:09:28

Glorfindell
Thnx man,much appreciated!

05-11-2013, 01:01:31

NeverBackDown
Sexiest motherboard i have ever seen. Would be better if they made a blue or white version though.

05-11-2013, 21:04:56

ThisMaySting
This board really looks promising. Question: What material is the integrated water block made of? Some boards with water blocks built in use aluminum, which to me is just horrendous. Can we hope that if it's not copper or nickel that it's at least brass?

05-11-2013, 21:20:26

theDTP
Never liked them panels ASUS do on some boards. They cover all the sexy looking stuff

06-11-2013, 06:20:11

KTM_RULZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisMaySting View Post
This board really looks promising. Question: What material is the integrated water block made of? Some boards with water blocks built in use aluminum, which to me is just horrendous. Can we hope that if it's not copper or nickel that it's at least brass?
It's aluminium. Asus claims the coating will pervent any corrosion but who knows.

06-11-2013, 06:25:49

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM_RULZ View Post
It's aluminium. Asus claims the coating will pervent any corrosion but who knows.
Yeah it will work fine, this is just n000bs worrying about nothing tbh

06-11-2013, 14:34:16

MiNo
I have to say this looks amazing.

I've been waiting to see a 'premium' board, with good PCI-E layout for SLI GPU's meaning : once PCI space to the CPU so large CPU air cooler and GPU dont almost touch, and then at least 3 units between first PCI-E slot to the next, so the a dual slot GPU can breathe, AND quality on-board sound.

I simply cannot believe how rare such a board is - nor how common it is for boards to try to accommodate 3 or 4 GPU although hardly any uses such a setup = waste.

It almost makes me sad, that I cannot justify a upgrade at this point as this would go VERY nicely with my Asus GTx780 OC DCUII, but my x58 board with a i7-950 @ 4.0 Ghz is actually still a very capable setup.

06-11-2013, 17:47:32

ThisMaySting
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Yeah it will work fine, this is just n000bs worrying about nothing tbh
Was I just called a n000b by Tiny Tom Logan? That would be awesome. If it wasn't directed at me, damn, guess I am going to have to try harder.

I wasn't aware they "coated" it. This is an interesting take on it. I like this board, a lot.

Time to buy and delid a Haswell...

06-11-2013, 17:53:54

barnsley
Looks great, I love the armor on it. Nice to see they're toning down the ROG stuff (as in less logos), never been a fan of it.

06-11-2013, 17:58:16

Feronix
Can't decide wether I love the stealthy look or I think it looks like a plastic piece of legos.

Seems like a nice performer though and... less overpriced than ROG boards used to be?

07-11-2013, 08:42:21

BurntFiberglass
Think this may be the first major "warning shot across the bow" of sound card manufacturers? The three bits (preview & review vids + article) got my attention. Another great job by TTL & OC3D!

08-11-2013, 18:00:23

ThisMaySting
I would buy it but I would buy an after market NB water block. Call me a noob I honestly could not care less, when I am paying for something I want what I want, and since I work my arse off for my money, then yeah, I am going to GET what I want. Not aluminum with a "coating" and "faith" in ASUS...put too much "faith" in ASUS in the past, and it did sting.

14-04-2014, 16:02:27

MiNo
Hi guys + gals + Gov'

May i suggest a topic/focus area in the reviews on something that just hit a mate of mine really hard:

He got this mobo, + 2 Asus gtx780 Posidon's AND a ASUS RAIDR "SSD" PCIe card. Now, I'd say he has done his homework, but it turned out he missed one critical detail:

When installing two Nvidia GPU's, the last PCIe slot becomes useless. There are no more PCI lanes, as the two previous slots are using 8 each, and there is only 16 to begin with. There is nothing left, for the bottom slot. This is where the RAIDR card, his boot / OS drive, was supposed to go!

Now, this may be apperent to some of you - but unless you really educate yourself in the deepests details of PCI lanes, I have to say it's VERY easy to get this wrong.

It's "ROG" mobo - with 3 PCIe slots. It's SLI certified. What, exactly, is it - that should alert you yo the fact, that the 3 slot cannot be used if you run SLI?

It's not mentioned ANYWHERE and I do not think it's fair to say that it should be obvious to anyone.

It's not like a PSU and QUAD SLI where you can run out of power. The watt needed are clearly mentioned on cards, and the PSU's output is usually printed in big fat numbers.

Now, PCI lane count is just as important as power or physical room inside your case - but nowhere do you seem to get warned or (clearly) informed about this. It is a 'hidden' detail and with no physical manifestations.

In the review here, yes, it does get said that you will get x8, x4, x4 if using all slots. However, it does NOT say (in any clear way) that it means your 3rd physical PCIe slot is now useless if you use SLI.

With (hopefully) more SSD's taking the form of a PCIe card (and thus doing away with the stupidity of using a controller though out for mechanical/rotating discs to access NAND/flash based storage) information on this subject could be useful for many.

Or so I think :-)

25-04-2014, 11:21:47

vajoiner
to me the sexiest part of this mobo is the lack of a ps2 port.

25-04-2014, 11:26:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by vajoiner View Post
to me the sexiest part of this mobo is the lack of a ps2 port.

vajoiner hahahahaaaaaaaaaa


http://static.comicvine.com/uploads/...6256-11834.jpg
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.