ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review

Up Close

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review

Up Close

There is no other way to say it, the Maximus VI Formula is gorgeous. It has all the usual ROG hallmarks of black and red, with the excellent tabbed PCIe and Memory slots. However the inclusion of the shield that first appeared on the Sabertooth really brings it to life, covering all the uninteresting capacitors and things with sleekness.

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review     ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review  

The sound solution on the Formula is one of the best around, with all the major components of the Phoebus soundcard included. The days of crackly and horrible sound couldn't be more in the past. Everything is exactly where you'd hope to find it, and the red and black contrast has never looked so inviting.

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review     ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review  

The heatsink around the power phases and surrounding the CPU socket is a particular work of art. We've seen hybrid offerings before, but never so beautifully crafted. Normally the need for water cooling makes the air-cooling merely average, but here ASUS have gone overboard with something so attractive that you don't feel left out if you're on air, but nor is it clearly going to need replacing anyway if you're on water.

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review     ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review  

One of our biggest gripes is the lack of USB ports on modern motherboards. With nearly every peripheral we use utilising a USB connection, and in the case of some keyboards two of them, you can quickly fill up even the most well stocked motherboard, especially if you're using them to charge your iPod and/or phone. It's fantastic to see so many on the IO portion of the Maximus VI Formula and we hope that other companies follow suit. Speaking of suits, the shield on the Maximus VI Formula isn't merely a frontal affair, all fur coat and no knickers, but rather an all encompassing arrangement that ensures the PCB stability under even the most demanding scenarios. And it looks fantastic.

ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review     ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Formula Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-11-2013, 11:02:01

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182423517l.jpg

Does the Asus Maximus Formula have what it takes to tempt our purse strings?

Continue Reading

04-11-2013, 11:06:56

AndiTHEBOSS
YES! it is the mother of boards

04-11-2013, 11:34:34

0rpheus
Looks like the presentation should've been 11

04-11-2013, 14:36:23

dhoom

04-11-2013, 15:36:16

Glorfindell
Can anyone tell me can I mount a Cooler Master V8 GTS on this board....it would be a dream combination..... :-D

04-11-2013, 15:39:04

G-Dubs
I happen to be reviewing the V8 GTS a the moment, so if Tom will send me over the board I'll let you know (don't expect to get I back though matey)

04-11-2013, 19:09:28

Glorfindell
Thnx man,much appreciated!

05-11-2013, 01:01:31

NeverBackDown
Sexiest motherboard i have ever seen. Would be better if they made a blue or white version though.

05-11-2013, 21:04:56

ThisMaySting
This board really looks promising. Question: What material is the integrated water block made of? Some boards with water blocks built in use aluminum, which to me is just horrendous. Can we hope that if it's not copper or nickel that it's at least brass?

05-11-2013, 21:20:26

theDTP
Never liked them panels ASUS do on some boards. They cover all the sexy looking stuff

06-11-2013, 06:20:11

KTM_RULZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThisMaySting View Post
This board really looks promising. Question: What material is the integrated water block made of? Some boards with water blocks built in use aluminum, which to me is just horrendous. Can we hope that if it's not copper or nickel that it's at least brass?
It's aluminium. Asus claims the coating will pervent any corrosion but who knows.

06-11-2013, 06:25:49

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM_RULZ View Post
It's aluminium. Asus claims the coating will pervent any corrosion but who knows.
Yeah it will work fine, this is just n000bs worrying about nothing tbh

06-11-2013, 14:34:16

MiNo
I have to say this looks amazing.

I've been waiting to see a 'premium' board, with good PCI-E layout for SLI GPU's meaning : once PCI space to the CPU so large CPU air cooler and GPU dont almost touch, and then at least 3 units between first PCI-E slot to the next, so the a dual slot GPU can breathe, AND quality on-board sound.

I simply cannot believe how rare such a board is - nor how common it is for boards to try to accommodate 3 or 4 GPU although hardly any uses such a setup = waste.

It almost makes me sad, that I cannot justify a upgrade at this point as this would go VERY nicely with my Asus GTx780 OC DCUII, but my x58 board with a i7-950 @ 4.0 Ghz is actually still a very capable setup.

06-11-2013, 17:47:32

ThisMaySting
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Yeah it will work fine, this is just n000bs worrying about nothing tbh
Was I just called a n000b by Tiny Tom Logan? That would be awesome. If it wasn't directed at me, damn, guess I am going to have to try harder.

I wasn't aware they "coated" it. This is an interesting take on it. I like this board, a lot.

Time to buy and delid a Haswell...

06-11-2013, 17:53:54

barnsley
Looks great, I love the armor on it. Nice to see they're toning down the ROG stuff (as in less logos), never been a fan of it.

06-11-2013, 17:58:16

Feronix
Can't decide wether I love the stealthy look or I think it looks like a plastic piece of legos.

Seems like a nice performer though and... less overpriced than ROG boards used to be?

07-11-2013, 08:42:21

BurntFiberglass
Think this may be the first major "warning shot across the bow" of sound card manufacturers? The three bits (preview & review vids + article) got my attention. Another great job by TTL & OC3D!

08-11-2013, 18:00:23

ThisMaySting
I would buy it but I would buy an after market NB water block. Call me a noob I honestly could not care less, when I am paying for something I want what I want, and since I work my arse off for my money, then yeah, I am going to GET what I want. Not aluminum with a "coating" and "faith" in ASUS...put too much "faith" in ASUS in the past, and it did sting.

14-04-2014, 16:02:27

MiNo
Hi guys + gals + Gov'

May i suggest a topic/focus area in the reviews on something that just hit a mate of mine really hard:

He got this mobo, + 2 Asus gtx780 Posidon's AND a ASUS RAIDR "SSD" PCIe card. Now, I'd say he has done his homework, but it turned out he missed one critical detail:

When installing two Nvidia GPU's, the last PCIe slot becomes useless. There are no more PCI lanes, as the two previous slots are using 8 each, and there is only 16 to begin with. There is nothing left, for the bottom slot. This is where the RAIDR card, his boot / OS drive, was supposed to go!

Now, this may be apperent to some of you - but unless you really educate yourself in the deepests details of PCI lanes, I have to say it's VERY easy to get this wrong.

It's "ROG" mobo - with 3 PCIe slots. It's SLI certified. What, exactly, is it - that should alert you yo the fact, that the 3 slot cannot be used if you run SLI?

It's not mentioned ANYWHERE and I do not think it's fair to say that it should be obvious to anyone.

It's not like a PSU and QUAD SLI where you can run out of power. The watt needed are clearly mentioned on cards, and the PSU's output is usually printed in big fat numbers.

Now, PCI lane count is just as important as power or physical room inside your case - but nowhere do you seem to get warned or (clearly) informed about this. It is a 'hidden' detail and with no physical manifestations.

In the review here, yes, it does get said that you will get x8, x4, x4 if using all slots. However, it does NOT say (in any clear way) that it means your 3rd physical PCIe slot is now useless if you use SLI.

With (hopefully) more SSD's taking the form of a PCIe card (and thus doing away with the stupidity of using a controller though out for mechanical/rotating discs to access NAND/flash based storage) information on this subject could be useful for many.

Or so I think :-)

25-04-2014, 11:21:47

vajoiner
to me the sexiest part of this mobo is the lack of a ps2 port.

25-04-2014, 11:26:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by vajoiner View Post
to me the sexiest part of this mobo is the lack of a ps2 port.

vajoiner hahahahaaaaaaaaaa


http://static.comicvine.com/uploads/...6256-11834.jpg
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.