Asus X58 Sabertooth Review

Sabertooth Up Close

Asus X58 Sabretooth Review

Up Close With The Sabertooth

Straight away let's cut to the chase. This is gorgeous. The layout is excellent and we haven't seen as much care taken over the design of an Asus board since the Rampage III Extreme.

The CPU socket is nicely clear of obstructions whilst the power phases still have some beefy cooling.

The RAM slots are the really nice single-latch type and it's nice to see an alternate hue used. One that, as you can see from the ATX24 pin, matches perfectly. No expense spared it seems, as we've seen plenty of otherwise pretty boards be stopped from true greatness by a default colour power connector here and there.

Asus X58 Sabretooth Review     Asus X58 Sabretooth Review  

In keeping with the surprising nature of the X58 Sabertooth, it's still packed with the latest hardware bells and whistles. We have SATA 6Gbp/s and USB3.0.

The rear panel contains everything you could expect. Whilst you might consider the single LAN a slight let down the reality is that few people need twin LAN ports and, especially when you look at the price, if Asus have saved a little bit in unimportant areas we prefer than to money spent just to have a big spec sheet.

Asus X58 Sabretooth Review     Asus X58 Sabretooth Review  

In keeping with the colour-coded nature of the Sabertooth, the PCI slots are also in the same caramel colour as the rest of the board. It's nice to see the USB headers colour-coded too. If anything, and we're being really picky here, it would be great to see the COM header, fan headers and SATA sockets in the same colour. They've gone the extra mile and stopped just before finish line. Admittedly Asus have still gone further than most.

The southbridge heatsink is very cool. It wouldn't look out of place in a science fiction set, or on the back of a Leopard 2A6.

Asus X58 Sabretooth Review     Asus X58 Sabretooth Review  

Finally before we move on, another couple of shots of the colour scheme and heatsinks. The choice of colours really keep nicely with the 'Military Components' theme, and hopefully now you've seen it a few times you can all appreciate the easy-on-the-eye nature of it when compared to the heavily saturated hues we more commonly see.

Asus X58 Sabretooth Review     Asus X58 Sabretooth Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-10-2010, 19:53:38

tinytomlogan
Asus have finally released the Sabertooth in Europe. How 'TUF' is it?

Continue Reading

11-10-2010, 06:00:16

F-alienware
I like it. A lot.

You could do a wicked cammo computer using that. I was thinking about it the other week as it goes. There's this company in the USA that dips things in this weird cammo stuff and it coats it. They used it on American Chopper once to do a military chopper.

11-10-2010, 06:23:16

AMDFTW
i bet this could kill a man

11-10-2010, 08:36:02

AMD_PBz
Color Scheme taken from the pages of noctua

11-10-2010, 09:26:43

hmmblah
Yeah, I really like the color scheme. Getting sick of blue/red.

11-10-2010, 09:32:15

SnW
Indeed a cool looking board al tho i really loved this one,



11-10-2010, 11:45:03

Todd
Wow.. saw it on overclockers a couple of days ago and quite liked it. I think it'll fit in perfectly with a Maelstrom and a pair of MSI Hawks for a good "Military" theme... and then maybe strap a couple of USB 3.0 cannons and machine guns.. and possibly put it in a tank.

11-10-2010, 13:46:04

silenthill
I suppose this M/B is designed to compete with my current M/B from Gigabyte

11-10-2010, 13:53:22

Complex!
It's a great board, but I still don't like the colour scheme. I mean.. it's originial, but I don't like it.

15-10-2010, 13:35:49

sliuman
Wow! I joined the site just because last week I happened to upgrade to an i7 950 (not realising there had been a price drop) and picked up the Sabertooth X58 (store recommendation) to replace my aging P4 board...I'm not an overclocker so I didn't know what to expect, but your reviews of these two core pieces of my new system sure make me happy that I bought them.

Now, Tom, I'll be waiting on that overclocking vid you promised to make...I'm going to need it. If I can unleash a bit more power you'll make me a happy man!

Nice reviews. Keep it up.

18-10-2010, 05:59:52

Tankou
The Sabertooth looks sweet and appears to perform well. But I still like a black and red color scheme more.

04-11-2010, 16:32:51

Black
What is max safe temp on NB?

Mine has 65 in idle and is bloody hot when touching it.

04-11-2010, 16:53:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

What is max safe temp on NB?

Mine has 65 in idle and is bloody hot when touching it.
is it overclocked?

04-11-2010, 17:35:34

Black
Well it is now, but BTW same temp I'm getting with OC and without - not so bad I recon.Under prime and superpi32M at 3.8 GHz I'm getting 80C and this is too much I beleive.

One question, what is best QPI voltage when CPU set at 4 GHz

Is there any VTT voltage?

And should I leave PLL voltage at Auto?

04-11-2010, 20:13:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

Well it is now, but BTW same temp I'm getting with OC and without - not so bad I recon.Under prime and superpi32M at 3.8 GHz I'm getting 80C and this is too much I beleive.

One question, what is best QPI voltage when CPU set at 4 GHz

Is there any VTT voltage?

And should I leave PLL voltage at Auto?
qpi volts depend on the memory speed an amount.

leave the pll at auto as it shouldnt matter.

If you are getting 80c what cooler/vcore are you using?

Whats you bclk and multi?

05-11-2010, 04:10:55

Black
I'm using watercooling for my CPU mate, BCLK 190, multi x20 and vcore 1.225v, RAM 1531 Mhz - 1.64V, QPI voltage 1.25v

I notice when only prime running max I can get on NB temp is 72 C - idle still 65 C.

05-11-2010, 07:13:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

I'm using watercooling for my CPU mate, BCLK 190, multi x20 and vcore 1.225v, RAM 1531 Mhz - 1.64V, QPI voltage 1.25v

I notice when only prime running max I can get on NB temp is 72 C - idle still 65 C.
ram 1.66

qpi 1.45 (for 1600mhz)

turn on LLC

you should get 200 bclk with that and a few more tweaks.

05-11-2010, 07:46:19

Black
Ok thanks mate.

06-11-2010, 10:49:59

PINS
Hi,

Does anyone know if its ok to put a single HD 6870 in the lower PCI express x16 slot, so the regular PCI slot is free for my old soundcard? I think its the "secondary" x16 slot but if I'm thinking if only using one card, all 16 lanes should be available?

Thanks in advance

06-11-2010, 11:43:23

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by PINS View Post

Hi,

Does anyone know if its ok to put a single HD 6870 in the lower PCI express x16 slot, so the regular PCI slot is free for my old soundcard? I think its the "secondary" x16 slot but if I'm thinking if only using one card, all 16 lanes should be available?

Thanks in advance
The black is x4 - The beige ones are both 16x

06-11-2010, 12:16:10

PINS
ok, cheers

06-11-2010, 14:48:03

Black
I'm using the second slot for now, as one of my GTX460 died - what a bad luck.

BTW it is working fine into this slot.

Any way - is it all right that after OC I can't see or i can't set Turbo mode?It is visible only when stock clocks.

12-11-2010, 18:34:08

Suggy
Hello all.

I am interested in getting this board but I have a question regarding PCIe x1 cards. If I went SLI, one of the PCIe x1 slots will be unusable. I intend to use two PCIe x1 cards (TV tuner and sound card). If I move one of the PCIe x1 cards into the third PCI x16 slot (the black one), it looks as though, according to the manual (p. 2-21), that the two PCIe 2.0 x16 slots won't be affected i.e. both lanes will still be operating at 16x.

I am wondering whether anyone would be good enough to confirm this?

24-11-2010, 11:58:41

Todd
It just hit me... One of these, 6 gig of Mushkin Radioactive, scuff the heatsinks up a little, take some of the paint off, pop a 950 in there with an NH-D14 and a pair of MSI "military grade" cards and whack it all in a big 50 cal ammo box. A bunch of fans around it, make it look old and rugged, rusty and stuff, maybe shoot it with a 45 cal (preferably not with the components still in) and you've got an awesome "pre-war" rig. Addicted to Fallout, I am.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.