Asus Striker II Formula 780i Socket 775 Motherboard

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents
 
Packaging has always been one of the strong points with Asus, especially where their Republic of Gamers motherboards are concerned. The Striker II certainly isn't any different and manages to look professional while also maintaining a "Gamer" feel.
 
Asus Striker II Formula Box Front
 
As you can see from above, the cardboard outer-box is printed with a grey gradient along with a bullet hole effect situated just above the large silver "Striker II" lettering. Very little information about the motherboard can be found on the front of the box, however Asus have made it blatantly obvious that a full version of "Company of Heroes - Opposing Fronts" is included as part of the package.
 
Asus Striker II Formula Box Flap
 
Asus Striker II Formula Box Front Asus Striker II Formula Box Front
 
An easy feature to miss on the Striker II packaging is the flap that Asus have placed at the front of the box. Once opened you are presented with two plastic windows that show off the Pin-Fin Thermal Module cooling system along with the SupremeFX II soundcard. Also at the top of the flap is a wealth of information regarding the features of the board along with brief explanations on what they do.
 
Asus Striker II Formula Box Back Asus Striker II Formula Box Specs
 
Around the back of the box Asus have printed the technical specifications for the Striker II. As we saw on page 1, the board provides provides support for all LGA775 processors along with DDR2 memory (1066/800/667/533) and 3-way SLI with all cards in x16 mode.
 
Asus Striker II Formula Box Side Asus Striker II Formula Motherboard Box
 
To allow the motherboard to be seen from the top and side of the outer-box, Asus have placed the board inside a clear plastic moulded shell. This provides good protection against courier inflicted damage and keeps the board separate from other items that could possibly be responsible for damaging the fragile components on the board during transit.
 
Asus Striker II Formula Accessories Asus Striker II Formula Accessories
 
Asus Striker II Formula Accessories Asus Striker II Formula Manuals
 
As you'd expect from motherboard coming from Asus' "Repubic of Gamers" series, the Striker II is bundled with a whole host of goodies. We've already mentioned the inclusion of Relic Entertainment's latest RTS: "Company of Heroes - Opposing Fronts", so let's see what else is included:
 
• LCD Poster
• 2x Optional Fans
• 3 in 1 ASUS Q-Connector Kit
• 1x UltraDMA 133/100/66 cable
• 1x Floppy disk drive cable
• 6x SATA cables
• 2x SATA power cables
• 2-port USB2.0 module
• IEEE1394a module
• I/O Shield
• Cable Ties
• User's manual
• Futuremark ® 3DMark® 06 Advanced Edition
• Kaspersky® Anti-Virus
• SupremeFX II HD sound card 
 
Asus Striker II Formula LCD Poster Asus Striker II Formula Fan
 
Asus Striker II Formula Q-Connectors Asus Striker II Formula SLI Cables
  
Some of the more notable accessories are the items shown above. From top left to bottom right we have: the Asus LCD poster, Asus optional fans, 3-in-1 Q-Connector's and the Dual/Tripple SLI connectors.
 
Starting with the LCD Poster, this device displays information on the motherboard POST sequence. If at any point the board fails to boot or gets stuck during POST, a quick glance at the LCD Poster should identify what component in your system is malfunctioning.
 
Moving on to the optional fans...these coolers have been included with many of Asus' Premium, Deluxe and ROG motherboards for quite some time. Designed to clip on to the finned heatsink that covers the mosfets at the top of the board, the fans pull air up through the heatsink fins and expel the hot air out the back of your PC case. They are reasonably quiet and come complete with 3-Pin connectors so that they can easily be controlled using the BIOS or Asus software.
 
Next up are the 3-in-1 Q-Connectors. These three small blocks are quite simply a godsend for the enthusiast who regularly disconnects their motherboard and is then faced with the frustration of trying to place the power/reset/activity LED connectors back on the motherboard header. They are also very clearly labeled - so no need to refer to the manual while setting your new motherboard up ;)
 
Last but not least we have the Dual and Triple SLI bridges. Interestingly Asus have decided to use a ribbon cable for the Dual-SLI connector. I can only imagine that this will give users the flexability to install dual graphics cards in any of the three PCI-E x16 slots without encountering any of the problems associated with a fixed length rigid bridge.
 
Asus Striker II Formula SupremeFX II
 
Asus Striker II Formula SupremeFX II Asus Striker II Formula SupremeFX II
 
As with the rest of the ROG series, Asus have bundled their add-in SupremeFX II sound card in with the Striker II Formula. With so many decent after-market sound cards available, users of high-end motherboards are more than likely to already own a PCI based solution that will generally outperform any type of onboard sound.

However, in testing it has to be said that the ADI AD1988B based SupremeFX II PCIx card did offer well above average sound quality for a card of its type. Not quite on par with the likes of our Creative X-FI card, but certainly not abusive on the ears either.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-01-2008, 09:06:35

JN
"Armed with Nvidia's 780i chipset the latest addition to Asus' ROG series looks like it could well hit the spot. But can it keep up with the beastly Intel P35 and X38 chipsets?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120538419s.jpg

Asus Striker II Formula Review

08-01-2008, 11:47:10

Brooksie
Ownage

Great review

mmm Triple SLI connector

08-01-2008, 16:19:45

ali_james
Nice review, shame it doesn't oc well. And the chipset coolers don't look pretty.. Kind of last minute job?

08-01-2008, 16:22:51

FarFarAway
Awesome review as usual Jim.

780i = a bit of a disappointment :S

08-01-2008, 16:31:16

JN
Cheers guys. Yeah the cooling isn't the best looking or performing tbh.

I hear there's an Extreme version on the way tho (DDR3). So it'll be interesting to see if anything changes.

08-01-2008, 16:37:33

!TIMMY!
oooohhh a pci-e 2.0 with ddr3, sounds good.

Great review Jim as always!

08-01-2008, 17:00:29

Bungral
Yeah quality review mate...

I'm pretty disappointed with this too to be honest. For 220 and to fall behind the Maximus I know which board I'd choose.

08-01-2008, 17:01:20

Toxcity
Most useful review ever read!

I have to have hats off to Jim because early monday morning the day I was going to order myself the Striker II he PMed me with a little infomation on the board.

I am thankful that he did because I nearly wasted 200quid.

My new fave motherboard is the Maximus and will be with me by the end of the week!

Amazing review and you're great guy, JImbo!

08-01-2008, 17:51:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Most useful review ever read!

I have to have hats off to Jim because early monday morning the day I was going to order myself the Striker II he PMed me with a little infomation on the board.

I am thankful that he did because I nearly wasted 200quid.

My new fave motherboard is the Maximus and will be with me by the end of the week!

Amazing review and you're great guy, JImbo!
No worries fella I've been using the Maximus for a few weeks now and its a stellar board. I'm sure it'll make ya happy

09-01-2008, 06:56:02

mrapoc
Hell 200 is a lot of money for a mobo!

I thought my p5b dlx was expensive xD

21-01-2008, 21:42:07

chillinjim
I want to run this board with an intel E8400 insted of the quad and im thinking that it will do better accross the board with overclocking performance. Also will an intel x38 chipset board run two 8800GT's in SLI or Crossfire format.

Wanting to run

striker 2 board

E8400

4gig balistix ram

asus 8800GT TOP 512 vid maybe 2.

WD Raptor

please let me know what you think thanks.

24-01-2008, 16:13:29

dwarry
Hi mate, Asus 8800 Gt's (or any Nvidia cards for that matter) wont run in crossfire it is only ATI cards and I believe that is hit and miss from the research I have done (could be wrong though...!) If you want SLI then you have to use an Nvidia based MoBo. I have been told that SLI only benefits in resolutions over 1600 x 1050 but I used it at 1280 x 1024 and saw substantial benefits.....I think....!

Striker II Formula looks like a cool MoBo for SLI and is the latest technology at the moment, but it is hard to find (at the moment!)

I think SLI Rocks, but that is just my humble opinion...!

Cheers, DW

24-01-2008, 16:26:36

Hatman
SLI is indeed very good its just the people who buy it for low res and then moan about it that puts it down.

High res for SLI is the best

24-01-2008, 16:38:46

chillinjim
Hey thanks for the info decided to go with this mobo and a 8800 GTS from EVGA I think it will do the job for awhile since im building this system for a friend I dont know if he'll do SLI right now since you cant run dual monitors in SLI or so I've heard (Please let me know if this is correct).

Thanks again

I am interested in overclocking software other than what comes with the mobo to overclock vid card. I've read that you can do 4ghz on the 8400 easy with air cooling since Im running water cooling mabe I could push it even more let me know what you think thanks.

24-01-2008, 19:25:18

Mullet
Nice write up Jim.

Shame about the OC results...no shock tbh tho.

24-01-2008, 20:03:02

ali_james
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='chillinjim'

I am interested in overclocking software other than what comes with the mobo to overclock vid card. I've read that you can do 4ghz on the 8400 easy with air cooling since Im running water cooling mabe I could push it even more let me know what you think thanks.
For the graphics card I would suggest:

Rivatuner

and

ATI Tool

For the cpu, no overclock is guaranteed so you just have to try it and see. From what I've seen, people are getting 4ghz on that chip, as you've got a 9 times multiplier it seems pretty obtainable.

Hope thats some help.

Cheers!

05-02-2008, 13:42:02

sinephase
I like the reviews, but I'm just curious: why would you benchmark an nvidia chipset using an ATI card? I can think of arguments which make sense for using the same card for every test, but it also makes sense to me to use an Nvidia card with similar specs to the ATI one. Also, because it's a PCIe 2.0 supporting board, why not use a GeForce with the same specs but with 2.0 enabled, so we can see what the actual difference is?

Anyway, just my two cents.

07-02-2008, 14:07:10

chillinjim
Well i got everything put together and started her up and the north bridge fried its self before i could instal an OS anyone else have this problem because I've read reviews that it's been happening on 1 out of 6 boards. Should get new board tomorrow guess I'll have to get all of my 7 fans running before I start up.

Let me know if anyones had the same problems.

should of waited for the 790I oh well its only money.

thanks

07-02-2008, 15:01:05

Hatman
If it fried itself you can RMA, just contact your retailer.

07-02-2008, 17:54:37

chillinjim
Yeah I sent it back I guess I was wondering if I should check anything before I start it up for the first time. A buddy of mine said that the heat sink could have poped off the chipset. Who knows.

17-02-2008, 22:56:58

chillinjim
Well got the second one back from zipzoom and it ran for awhile but then it basicly craped out. SO BACK IT WENT. I got the evga 780i board and it runs fine. GO FIGURE!!!.

Please dont by this board its crap!!! you'll be lucky if it works wait for the 790i to come out this summer sound like a big improvment.

18-02-2008, 01:12:39

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='chillinjim'
...wait for the 790i to come out this summer sound like a big improvment.
Bad luck on your run with the motherboard mate, that would be frustrating.

I just pity the people who bought the 780i or 790i (when it comes) to have it made somewhat obsolete by Intel's next offering for Nehalem (on-die memory controller). I think the 790i will only be offering a slight increase in speed over the 780i and the emergence of DDR3 support which is nothing revolutionary. I may be wrong however.

I think a 780i motherboard, a 45nm proc, some fast DDR2 1066Mhz RAM or faster and a couple of decent gfx cards (if you have to have SLI); your system will hang right in there with the 790i systems of the near future.

06-02-2010, 03:32:16

ceolwynn
hey cillinjim.. you still here? I know it was a long time ago when you asked if anyone else had experienced a NorthBridge frying before they got windows installed and it happened to me last thursday 02-04-2010 with a MSI X58 Eclipse. the board started rebooting before windows got 50% installed... on about the third reboot I went into bios and saw a 89 Deg C Temp on the N Bridge. so, I bought two active coolers for the N and S bridge at frys electronics the next day and it was too late.. the only thing the board will do now is a continuous reboot without even getting into POST.

I had assembled another MSI X58 Pro for my chiropractor pal for his office barely a week earlier and he had complained last tuesday that it seemed even slower than the 4 year old machine I replaced... so I went over there yesterday and did a reboot into the bios hardware monitor and it displayed a 76 deg C temp on the northbridge after 15 minutes idling on the bios page. I am sure it is higher than that when it is processing a digital xray ... answering a fax, communicating with the patient files on the server, and printing a report all at the same time. I am surprisd it is not fried yet too. tomorrow I am going toput artic silver under the stock chipset sinks until the active onesshow up in the mail about wed I hope.

when I took the N Bridge cooler off of the fried one here at my house it had zero paste betwen the cooler and the chip, as it was all squished outside the periphery of the flip chip core, and the paste was so dried and hard that when I chiseled it off with a razor knife it made powder...

MSI gtold me there is no known problems with their heat sinks installs but when I searched I found many pages explaining the exact same issue with MIS X58 boards and sveral with pics. I also took pics and will be putting the whole story on my youtube page in a few days.

one thing I hoped toget fromyou chillin jim was a url to any of the reports youfound describing the high N Bridge failure rates ?? if I show enough of this to my chiropractor pal I might get to do the systems for his other machines still

regards... Tom in dallas
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.