ASUS Sabertooth P67A B3 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

ASUS Sabertooth P67A B3 Motherboard Overclock Review

Test Setup

Today's test setup is slightly different to the norm. Usually we use the twin-tower Noctua NH-D14 but because of the need for downward airflow on the Sabertooth we're using the Noctua C12P as our cooler to make sure everything stays chilled.

ASUS Sabertooth P67A B3 Motherboard
Intel Core i5-2500K
4GB Kingston Genesis DDR3 2133MHz
EVGA GTX570
Noctua NH-C12P
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Windows 7 64-Bit

Overclocking

Having recently reviewed the ASUS Maximus IV Extreme and MSI Marshal we were excited to put the Sabertooth on the bench. The X58 Sabertooth made a mockery of its price-tag by keeping up with the very best and both of those are the cream of the P67 lot. So hopes were high.

Whilst the MSI Marshal could get our i5-2500K to 5GHz at 1.464v, and the Maximus IV needed 1.48v, the Sabertooth needed the push into 1.5v to get a reasonably stable 5 GHz overclock. When you consider that this is around half the price of those two we're not too sad. After all, hitting 5 GHz itself is quite an achievement.

ASUS Sabertooth P67A B3 Review Memory

Of course we wouldn't want to use that as our 24/7 overclock, and backing off just a small amount down to 4.8 GHz allowed us to drop a whole tenth of a volt on vCore and be fully stable.

Impressive enough for any board, let alone a £150 one, I think you'll agree.

ASUS Sabertooth P67A B3 Review

Time to get testing.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-04-2011, 08:02:56

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the sequel to one of the finest motherboards we've tested. Does the switch to P67 keep the Sabertooth at the top?



Continue Reading

08-04-2011, 08:24:51

dugdiamond
more drool time

please stop putting XXXXXXXXXXX-rated nerd porn on here - my ticker cannot take it

the whole package - awesome board

08-04-2011, 09:16:29

SieB
Hmmmm.... I need to RMA my B2 P8P67 soon (when I can be bothered) don't know whether to upgrade to the Sabretooth or not but this review certainly has got me thinking about it.

08-04-2011, 10:07:11

hurrakan
What about SATA performance?

08-04-2011, 12:10:05

Pat123
Arrggghh I had decided on the UD4 and now you rave about this. My head can't take it. I think i'll go for this simply because it's ALL black.

Great review as per.

08-04-2011, 13:10:12

zeppas
Awesome, love the sabertooth. Speaking of downward facing coolers, when will we see a head to head, a mano a mano,

an owl to owl (lol) between the NH-D14 and the new NH-C14?

08-04-2011, 13:13:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeppas View Post

Awesome, love the sabertooth. Speaking of downward facing coolers, when will we see a head to head, a mano a mano,

an owl to owl (lol) between the NH-D14 and the new NH-C14?
Ill answer you for it now. The older C12P downward facing cooler is better than the C14. Its no where near as good as the D14 matey.

08-04-2011, 13:27:32

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurrakan View Post

What about SATA performance?
It's the B3 revision, so totally fixed.

08-04-2011, 13:34:16

Tortuga
That is awesome. A motherboard with a color scheme the D14 can actually work with? Crazy. Now we need some military-esque looking ram.

08-04-2011, 15:08:54

Ya93sin
Well for my June Sandy Bridge build, I had my eye on this one because of the styling, which I absolutely love. Either this or perhaps the UD7, but this is great bang for buck.

08-04-2011, 15:44:11

OEOTS
Bryan what kind of temps did you get with the C12P?

08-04-2011, 16:36:49

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortuga View Post

That is awesome. A motherboard with a color scheme the D14 can actually work with? Crazy. Now we need some military-esque looking ram.
Like the Gskill Sniper?

08-04-2011, 16:43:06

Tortuga
Ohh thats awesome, looks like gun parts on the top of the ram. Ok now I need a matte military case. lol

08-04-2011, 18:23:02

t5kcannon
I just got one of these boards, with a 2500K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance (2x4G and a Thermaltake Frio cooler. All going good so far.

Couple things about the installation process I think might be worth mentioning.

1.) The Sabertooth comes with a sticker over the ram slots, which needs to be removed carefully, or else it can tear and leave parts stuck to the slots. Just be careful; I had to take quite a bit of time clearing small parts of sticker off >.>

2.) With a Thermaltake Frio installed and Vengeance in place in slots A2 and B2 (Asus recommend populating these first), there is *no* room left to use slots A1 and B1 with more Vengeance. The Frio blocks slot A1. Ram with lower heat spreaders might fit, I don't know.

It looks like one hell of a lovely board, and I think I'm going to have a fun weekend testing it

09-04-2011, 02:44:45

barbosa
You could do a Asrock Extreme 6 review. Same price than the Sabertooth. Asrock boards are showing to be very good today.

09-04-2011, 04:53:28

steve30x

We've always disliked companies continuing to sell you a product after you've brought it, and this sticker here can be put in that category. Ordinarily this would be a minor issue, but it's vital if manufacturers do want to put sticky things in places you need that the sticker is of the very finest quality, otherwise you have the problem we had. Gently pulling it off it decided to leave bits of it behind. A real pain to clean up. If we've brought the item we know how great it is

Im pretty sure the word you were looking for was bought not brought.

09-04-2011, 05:52:08

piotrekhc
wow nice one from asus, shocked by price in positive way

09-04-2011, 07:22:16

jonowee
Good stuff VonBlade.

Nice review; seeing all these close up photos, I feel like borging together a Sabertooth-est cover out of aluminium for a future build. Teh ideas are aflowing.

24-04-2011, 18:52:31

GameOverAUS
Too many awesome looking new boards with all more or less the same stuff on em coming out.

How's a guy to chose what to swap out for.

dunno bout this one though with the shrowd over most of the mobo, on one hand it looks cleaner, on the other seems like the likely hood of dust getting in is actually greater and then you'd have to remove it to clean it anyway. and weather it would actually help with cooling is another thing.

seems a bit pricey too here's the price at one of my local shops. Our Price: $9999.00

That must be one hell of a board

25-04-2011, 01:46:22

Grizzly
Quote:
Originally Posted by GameOverAUS View Post

Too many awesome looking new boards with all more or less the same stuff on em coming out.

How's a guy to chose what to swap out for.

dunno bout this one though with the shrowd over most of the mobo, on one hand it looks cleaner, on the other seems like the likely hood of dust getting in is actually greater and then you'd have to remove it to clean it anyway. and weather it would actually help with cooling is another thing.

seems a bit pricey too here's the price at one of my local shops. Our Price: $9999.00

That must be one hell of a board
Think you'll find that's a typo.

25-04-2011, 21:21:53

GameOverAUS
Yup, i know that. Typical Asian run computer shops around here, they don't know what they actually stock or what hardware is used for what.

The same place also told some guy that IDE is the same as Sata.

well yes it performs the same function but it's not the same

05-05-2011, 19:15:44

SirPhilby
I really really like this board and would be interested in getting this and an i5 2500k if I didn't have a sneaking suspiscion that they'd release 1154 socket in 3 month's time...

05-05-2011, 20:12:31

marsey99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirPhilby View Post

I really really like this board and would be interested in getting this and an i5 2500k if I didn't have a sneaking suspiscion that they'd release 1154 socket in 3 month's time...
no, its 2011 in 3 months

06-05-2011, 08:07:18

adamjamesroe
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirPhilby View Post

I really really like this board and would be interested in getting this and an i5 2500k if I didn't have a sneaking suspiscion that they'd release 1154 socket in 3 month's time...
No, its all about Socket 1567; would love some company to release a consumer level mobo that supports this 8 Core 16 Threads of pure Xeon X7550 Power!!!

EDIT: Even though the CPU costs like 2300.

06-05-2011, 10:25:22

SirPhilby
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamjamesroe View Post

No, its all about Socket 1567; would love some company to release a consumer level mobo that supports this 8 Core 16 Threads of pure Xeon X7550 Power!!!

EDIT: Even though the CPU costs like 2300.
Go for the throat and wait for everyone else to catch up?

13-03-2012, 15:15:50

toxicbeowulf
Awesome mobo, the thermal Armor really does work and adding the assist fan on the board really helps to blow the hot air away from the cpu and ram slots. I got a -5c degree change in most censors on the board. Adding a 5.99 assist fan is worth the investment. I haven't overclocked my i5 2500k yet I just have the intel heat sink on the cpu so I'm only going to oc it to maybe 4.3 or so. I just need a little assistance on how to oc the cpu with the Asus bios.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.