Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

CPU Performance

CPU Performance

SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC.

CPU Arithmetic

The CPU arithmetic test ascertains the processor's capabilities in terms of numerical operations. Two subtests named Dhrystone and Whetstone are carried out respectively. This is not a measure of latency and thus higher is better.

Right off the bat, the overclocked X4 is taking full advantage of it's 15% overclock, while at stock speeds the Crosshair IV Formula is running on par with it's 890GX based sibling.

CPU Multimedia

The CPU Multimedia Test focuses on CPU based operations that may occur during multimedia based tasks. The magnitude of the score depends on the processor's ability to handle Integer, Float and Double data types.

Once again, there is little separating the two 8 series motherboards, however the scores are both competitive and impressive never the less.

CPU Queen

CPU Queen is based on branch prediction and the misprediction penalties that are involved.

CPU Photoworxx

PhotoWorxx as the name may suggest tests processors by means of invoking functions that are common to Photo Manipulation including Fill, Flip, Crop, Rotate, Difference and Colour to B&W conversion.

CPU ZLib

This is an integer based benchmark that will test the CPU and Memory by means of the CPU ZLib compression library.

Throughout the Everest Ultimate Edition suite, it can be said that the scores are right where they should be for a Phenom II X4 965 CPU. The scores themselves are very respectable and suggests that the 965 Black is fair CPU to use for a high end system such as this.

WinRAR

WinRAR's embedded Benchmark focuses on the processor's File Compression capability.

File Compression is a very important function and one would hate performance to be lacking in this department. Thankfully it isn't as once again the two 890 series boards perform on par with each other and a significant performance boost is exhibited from the overclock.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.