Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

CPU Overclocking

Overclocking

Our overclocking procedure is fairly simple but effective. The first task is to find the motherboard's Maximum Stable Base Frequency. With a maximum base frequency determined, we then try multiple combinations of CPU HTT and CPU Multiplier to find a "sweetspot" processor frequency. Other factors kept in consideration are the Memory Frequencies and the CPU's Northbridge Frequency. 

The return of the dreaded Vdroop?

For those who aren't aware, Vdroop is a sudden drop in supplied Voltage to the CPU when a load is applied. It's been some time since I've written about this however it seemed quite apparent that the Crosshair IV Formula seems to suffer from this. The phenomena was observed with both initial release and the later 0602 BIOS. Given the board's power regulation spec, we were a little surprised to see a VDroop this substantial.

The board does indeed come with Asus' Load Line Calibration feature which completely eliminates the problem. It does remain a little perplexing as to why the VDroop is so bad without LLC and why it wasn't enabled by default. I concede that the LLC feature may occasionally cause instability under certain overclocked configurations but that doesn't explain why anyone would voluntarily prefer to feed their processor a high voltage under idle and a drooped voltage under load from out of the box.

Maximum HTT

We fully appreciate that a large proportion of AMD's Processor line-up are Black Edition processors and therefore have upwards unlocked CPU Multipliers. For many, the Base Hypertransport parameter will be nigh on redundant. Regardless, a motherboard of this calibre must offer the flexibility to use such a fundamental variable to it's maximum ability. Initially our journey was cut short at a maximum bootable frequency of 291MHz. However, with the release of a more recent BIOS (version 0602) this was expedited to a much healthier 330MHz. For those who are too cool for unlocked CPU Multipliers, you're most certainly in luck here.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Maximum CPU Frequency

As always it took some time to find the ideal combination of Frequencies and Voltages but we finally got there. At this point, I would like to say that the Asus Crosshair IV BIOS is a pleasure to work with and regardless of the amount of abuse it received, it always recovered. After applying the new 0602 BIOS, we were able to achieve a final CPU Frequency of 3913MHz, accompanied by a 313MHz base clock, 12.5x multiplier and a whopping 2818MHz Northbridge frequency. We believe that this could well be the fastest configuration we've ever achieved with this particular Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Processor.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

The above overclock was verified OCCT Linpack stable and ready for the testing regime that will soon follow...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.