Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

Asus TurboV & Turbo Key

Turbo V vs Turbo Key...

As you may or may not be aware, there are two different Automatic Overclocking options on the Crosshair IV Formula motherboard. Asus TurboV is the brand's software utility, which deals with both manual and automated overclocking within your Operating System.

Turbo Key

Asus Turbo Key is probably the fastest way to overclock your processor. The only prerequisite knowledge required is how to press a button, as the next time you boot into your operating system you'll find yourself with an overclocked CPU. While the final result is far from optimal, it has certainly done reasonably well by overclocking our Phenom II X4 965 Processor to 3685MHz; an 8% improvement. Unfortunately this 8% improvement in CPU frequency has also resulted in a 10% decrease in Memory Frequency and a Voltage bump of 0.05V.

Not a brilliant overclock but in most tasks should yield a small performance boost. Given the ease of use and time involved, one can't complain.

TurboV

Asus TurboV is a software utility that offers Manual and Automatic Overclocking functionality. As a manual tweaking utility it allows you to manipulate most of the vital parameters you'd find in BIOS. The tool doesn't offer quite as much flexibility as AMD Overdrive however TurboV also allows the user to adjust the CPU Multiplier of individual CPU cores.

 

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula


The automated overclocking tool is probably the most interesting aspect of the application. Like Turbo Key, no prerequisite overclocking knowledge is required; the Auto Tab shows a self explanatory diagram, indicating the key phases of a CPU Overclock (Frequency Increase, Voltage manipulation, Stability Testing etc)

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Once you commence the Automatic Tuner, the TurboV window maximises to occupy the entire screen. This prevents the user from running other tasks at the same time but also provides vital information about the status of the overclock. 

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

After several cycles of the procedure, the system locked up and restarted. Once the operating system had reloaded, Asus TurboV automatically continues where it left off. After a further ten minutes, the tuner confirmed a final frequency of 3838MHz and a marginally reduced memory frequency of DDR3-1504. As far as automated overclocks are concerned, this is rather impressive.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

In short, those who are less keen to learn about CPU Overclocking may find either of these utilities very useful. As always your mileage may vary and any overclock should be followed by an extensive run of CPU Stability tests such as OCCT and Prime95.

Let's move on to manual overclocking shall we?

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.