Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

Creative X-Fi Audio

Creative X-Fi Audio

As previously mentioned, the Crosshair IV Formula supports a variant of Creative's Supreme X-Fi Audio. It should be made quite clear that contrary to what you might believe, the hardware is based upon a VIA Audio Module. As such, if you were to proceed to install the Creative X-Fi software alone, you will find yourself out of luck due to the device being unidentifiable. In order to make Creative X-Fi fully operative, you are required to install the VIA Audio Driver first and then install Creative's X-Fi Software. 

We concede that the solution may not be a dedicated Sound Card alternative for the audiophiles out there, however it's only fair to objectively test the Creative X-Fi software before forming any judgement.

The major component of the X-Fi Software is it's Control Panel.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

The main section of the control panel allows you to define your speaker's configuration. As the drivers default to a 2.1 style setup, being able to reconfigure our speaker configuration to it's true 4.1 configuration made a significant difference to the audio output. The first notable feature is Creative's SVM. Known as Sound Volume Management, the feature does exactly what it says on the tin. The feature acts as a form of normaliser that attempts to maintain a standardised volume level across all music tracks being played back. From our testing, it seems to work reasonably well.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Also included in the Audio Control Panel is Creative' EAX Effects Package. This tends to be a rather marmite feature as it attempts to simulate the echos of different sized rooms and also adjusts bass and treble. It's great to see that the option has been included however we're less than certain that users are likely to use it.

The utility also allows the user to adjust the depth of sound. Two different upmix modes are available; Stereo Surround and Stereo Xpand. For our 4.1 sound configuration, Stereo Surround offered better sound quality.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Finally, Creative have included their X-Fi Crystalizer. This is a feature that aims to restore aspects of sound that are lost during the compression from a high quality format to MP3 or equivalent. While it's arguable as to how much difference it can really make, enabling Crystalizer vastly improved sound clarity over the basic VIA Sound Driver.

As mentioned already, the sound implementation is not necessarily a sound card replacement. As a matter of fact it really isn't as those who truly care about sound quality will go out and buy the latest and greatest sound orientated equipment. However, as far as sound quality goes, it appears to be a better solution than some of Realtek's Audio Modules.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.