Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

Testbed & BIOS

Testbed

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Asus ROG Crossfire IV Formula Motherboard
4GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C8 RAM
HIS Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card
Samsung Spinpoint F1 320GB SATA II Hard Disk Drive
Samsung 22x DVD+/-RW SATA
Arctic Freezer 64 Pro CPU Cooler
BeQuiet! Dark Power 750W 80PLUS PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium x64

BIOS

As a Republic of Gamers motherboard one expects a high quality BIOS heavily orientated towards Overclocking. None the less, this is exactly what you get. The roots of the Crosshair IV Formula are all too apparent when the first menu visible upon entering BIOS is the Overclocking section. Forget setting the time and date of your motherboard, this is much more important.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula      Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

The layout of the System Performance tab remains strikingly similar to the Socket AM3 boards we've previously reviewed. From the top down you're offered the option between Manual and Automated Overclocking, CPU and RAM Frequency Ratios, followed by their corresponding Voltage parameters.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula      Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

For those who use more exotic cooling solutions, Asus have also offered an Extreme Overvoltage option, which enables a higher range of Voltages across the board. With up to 2.1000V available for the CPU and up to 2.9000V for the RAM, it should be said that you won't be left limited on the Voltage front. We'll cover the board's Overclocking Abilities later on...

One of the more important features of the Crosshair IV Formula is it's Core Unlocking abilities. For those who are unaware, AMD removed the quirky (unlocking) Advanced Clock Calibration feature from the new SB850 southbridge so Asus have created their own implementation. You are also at liberty to select which cores you choose to unlock, such that a Dual Core can be unlocked to a Tri Core if one of it's cores are infact defective.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula      Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Another useful ROG feature is the Asus GO Button, which is effectively a hotkey that allows you to switch from your usual overclock configuration to another. Within a separate menu in BIOS it is possible to adjust the parameters you wish to associate with the GO button.

Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

This is not a unique Asus ROG feature, however Asus' EZ Flash 2 utility deserves a mention. EZ Flash 2 allows the user to seek BIOS ROM Files from CD, USB Memory Stick and also your Hard Disk Drive.

 Asus ROG  Crosshair IV Formula

Asus OC Profile permits up to 8 OC Profiles to be saved to your motherboard for you to recall at a later stage.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.