Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

The Motherboard...

The Board Continued...

You shouldn't have much to complain about the board's layout either. Despite the amount of on board equipment, Asus have managed to arrange most components in a logical manner. There's plenty of open space around the CPU, easy access to the side-mounted SATA ports as well as I/O headers.

Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula      Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

 The Rear I/O cluster is fairly conventional. You'll find six USB 2.0 ports, two USB 3.0 (in blue), Firewire, CMOS Clear, e-SATA, Gigabit Ethernet, 7.1 Sound and SPDIF. It is indeed a conventional cluster, but with one exception. You might be wondering what that vertically mounted USB port is for. This is for the ROG Connect Remote Overclocking and Diagnosis feature, which we will cover later.

Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula     


All six of the "Red" SATA ports are operated by the new SB850 southbridge which permits 6.0Gb/s operation. There is also an isolated SATA 3.0Gb/s port powered by a JMicron controller. An interesting observation is that the layout of the Heatpipe Cooler prevented a seventh expansion port from being implemented. As a result, the four PCI-Express slots have been shifted down one space, resulting in the third and fourth slots sitting directly next to each other. This will prove problematic for prospective Quad CrossfireX users but I'm sure it's far from the end of the world for most.

Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

A nifty set of buttons have been implemented at the bottom of the Crosshair IV Formula. From left to right this includes "TURBO KEY", an automatic overclocking function, "CORE UNLOCK" which provides you with the opportunity to unlock your castrated Phenom II X2, X3 or Zosma based X4 (9xxT) Processors. Again, if you intend on occupying the lower most PCI-E 16x slot, these buttons may not be accessible.

Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula

Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula      Asus ROG Crosshair IV Formula


The motherboard's cooler can be removed with relative ease, exposing the 890FX and SB850 chips. Asus have been fairly careful with Thermal Paste application and the quality of contact is very good.

With the cooler refitted, it's now time to really get testing!

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:11:36

tinytomlogan
Its finally time to find out how good this board really is!

Continue Reading

27-04-2010, 00:32:17

I Hunta x
Mmmm pretty damn sexy mobo, any news on the Extreme? ( / Release dates?)

27-04-2010, 01:02:38

Warzone
Wow, this is cheap for a ROG and that is, if it does turn out to launch around this price.

I suspect the Extreme would be more, am guessing around ~200?

27-04-2010, 01:33:23

I Hunta x
Yeah i was thinking around the 225 mark, got a few months till my course starts so more than enough time for some more boards running the new chipset to come out and compare the performance/overclocks, i just hope these keep ahead of them as "Well it is the best board i can buy for it" is more than a good enough excuse to buy such a good looking mobo.

27-04-2010, 03:31:58

alexhull24
Compared to intel offerings with similar features, 167 seems like good value to me. Compared to other AMD boards it's a little pricey, but the performance looks hard to beat.

27-04-2010, 06:13:25

tinytomlogan
Its a very nice board, Im a sucker for good looks it does kinda help its a doddle to use aswell.

27-04-2010, 06:47:18

alexhull24
The inbuilt overclocking features seem quite well executed considering it's such a fine art with a wide range of chips out there. Certainly good to get someone started.

I'm glad they adopted the red/black colours, looks nicer than the C3F imo and brings it into line with the intel boards.

27-04-2010, 07:21:15

tinytomlogan
Ive been saying for a long time that AMD need better motherboards, the Crosshairs seem to be the motherboards I was hoping for both in performace and most importantly looks.

27-04-2010, 11:55:03

Nelly
My first Asus motherboard in 5 years which was an AMD board i.e. Asus A8N-Sli Premium which worked 8+ hours a day for over 4 years before I sold it for only 40 less than I bought it for!

I've never been one for motherboard looks but I must admit I did get suckered in, was the first thing that caught my eye about it, just waiting for my 1090T to arrive - can't wait to get it hooked up.

The worse review I've seen so far out of everyones is bit-tech, lack of depth, lack of benchmarks, lack of detail etc.

Enjoyed the review, can't find fault with it to be honest, not just saying that either if I thought it was crap I would say so.

27-04-2010, 14:31:56

delusion77
Looks like a sick board. If I didnt already have an i7, Id go for this board and the 1090T no questions asked

28-04-2010, 15:31:29

barkaway
it would have been nice if U had tested the 8GB green set dominator from corsair with this nice board8)

29-04-2010, 06:33:24

tinytomlogan
We cant test everything when the first review goes live dude

29-04-2010, 06:37:16

barkaway
Cant is such an ugly word

29-04-2010, 06:38:21

AMD_PBz
Well I have said 8gb kit which I'll be more than happy to give a full run down once the extreme board becomes available

29-04-2010, 06:57:05

barkaway
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P

29-04-2010, 07:04:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
the reason why i want em to test the 8GB set is that i have one myself, but i have never had the chance to test it cause i dont have the motherboard for it

not yet anyways:-P
What I said dude is we have 1 review up for the Hex, there will be more to come. Patience young padawan.

29-04-2010, 07:13:50

barkaway
hey i am patient, bt not that young:-P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.