ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition Review

Test Setup

ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Intel Core i7-4960X
Club3D HD7970 Royal Ace
Corsair Dominator Platinum
Corsair AX1200i
Corsair Neutron GTX
Corsair H100i
Windows 7 x64  

Overclocking

With the improved power delivery and endlessly refined BIOS options the Rampage IV Black makes for a great overclocker. Firstly we wanted to see how far we could push the BCLK, and obtained a superb 145MHz. Naturally this is too far to run with a multiplier, but it at least shows the potential of the Black. Popping a multiplier into the mix and our decent if unspectacular i7-4960X managed to reach 4.75GHz, which wasn't quite stable enough for all of our testing, but considering we're only cooling with an H100i, and we demand that our overclock is 24/7 stable rather than just for show, it's a very good result.

ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition Review     ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition Review  

Combining everything into a benchmark clock, we have 4.6GHz on the i7 and 2400MHz for our DDR3. This matches the 4.6GHz we obtained previously on the Rampage IV Extreme, so means that our graphs will really emphasise the difference in the motherboard itself, rather than pure clock speed differentials.

ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-11-2013, 17:56:42

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...145625435l.JPG

It's been two years to the day since the launch of the Rampage IV Extreme. And now it's back, in black *cue AC/DC*


Continue Reading

14-11-2013, 04:06:12

KyoKomodo
Good review Tom, definetly something I'll keep my eye on.

14-11-2013, 05:07:10

MrKambo
nice review, Tom will you be replacing the bench rig with this and 4960X?

14-11-2013, 05:11:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKambo View Post
nice review, Tom will you be replacing the bench rig with this and 4960X?
I cant really for GPU reviews, theres far too many in the graph to risk it being a bit out. Motherboard reviews wouldnt matter too much but probably not is the quick answer.

14-11-2013, 05:13:16

ShaunB-91
Very nice looking board, 400 though. Ouch. But I guess if your getting built-in audio that is as good as the best of sound cards...it's not that bad.

14-11-2013, 18:43:34

ThisMaySting
Thank you very much for this review Tom. Long awaited! You covered everything, also watched the video, what a beautiful creation this board is.

I think $500 (according to Newegg) is a bit excessive...but we all know you get what you pay for.

I have been waiting for a board before buying the 4930k, the wait is over.

Over the past 6 years that I have been using ASUS motherboards I have had plenty of ups and down with them, but in all honesty I really have become almost "dependent" (more like 100% comfortable) with them.

Thanks again for the review!

14-11-2013, 19:09:37

Luscious
I'm tossing up between this and a mini-ITX system using the Impact and a CaseLabs S3. A price difference of around 2 grand loaded up, but able to water-cool both.

14-11-2013, 22:51:55

Kaapstad
I have had one of these on order for ages and I won't be able to get my hands on it until the end of next week. When it does arrive I can put my four 290Xs to work.

14-11-2013, 23:51:40

Surfie
Having gone through the review, for me personally I see no reason to upgrade. I own the rampage iv extreme already and yes, sound probably is the weak point, but I would sooner shell out a couple hundred dollars for a card to fix this than overhaul the whole motherboard just to get better sound. As for colour, guess I'll need to get some decent paint and brushes to fix it....

30-11-2013, 13:41:41

elite_modder
Still waiting on mine, ordered it last month but the stocks still not hit EU apparently. Looks great though and cant wait, new rig should be good too with this as a base. Anyone else still waiting on theirs?

02-12-2013, 07:23:27

Danno81
One thing I noticed on the pics is there are only 4 full length PCI-E slots rather than the 5 the original extreme had.

It's only going to hit a very small amount of users, however when I had three 7970's in tri-fire (the XFX DD Black edition) the spacing the central pci-e slot, which I believe made it 16x,8x,8x, actually reduced temps on air by a significant amount due to the better spacing. It's a shame as the PCI-E options on the original RIVE this was one of main reasons that swayed me for that board.

I'm always switching GPU setups around with different configs and this was very helpful when using any 3 card setup. With the black edition 3 cards will have to sit against each other as you would in a quad card setup.

This is a personal limitation though and most people probably would not care too much about it. I just thought it might be something to mention anyway.

20-02-2014, 09:48:16

S_I_N
has anybody that used this board felt the need to put a boards blocks on it??? Cant seem to find any decent intel on whether it benefits greatly from it or not. I dont plan any super crazy overclocks but I do plan on overclocking it. Plus running 7970 xfire.

20-02-2014, 09:57:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post
has anybody that used this board felt the need to put a boards blocks on it??? Cant seem to find any decent intel on whether it benefits greatly from it or not. I dont plan any super crazy overclocks but I do plan on overclocking it. Plus running 7970 xfire.
My original RE4 thats in one of the bench rig has had the chipset fan turned off since it became avail in the bios update and pretty much only ever been raged since - never had any issues.

20-02-2014, 10:04:29

S_I_N
cool well the only reason I'm even asking is I re-watched your vid on it again yesterday and you mentioned it (X79 chipset) felt noticeably warm to the touch. But you also said you didnt have it in a case so normal case fans air should negate that. I have 13 fans in my case (yes its still quiet) 10 are used on my 420 and 280 rads push pull the other 3 2 are on a 240mm monsta rad the other is exhaust. Most likely taking the monsta out with the redo coming next week, since the only reason I put it in was 1 because I can and 2 the 9370 gets hot lol. I'm dropping 70TDP out of the system so I dont think I'll need the extra rad. plus making tubing look good with 3 rads is a bytch.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.