ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

BIOS

ASUS Rampage III  Gene Review

BIOS

The Rampage III Gene BIOS is the same brilliant AMI BIOS we've seen on previous boards. The combination of American Megatrends Inc and Asus always give us BIOS capable of tweaking everything we could hope to adjust, and in a very solid and stable manner.

Certainly voltage limits wont ever be hit. You might hit the ceiling if you put 2.5v through the QPI though.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

The Extreme Tweaker naturally comes with plenty of sub-menus to enable you to gain control over everything to eke that last MHz out.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

On the left we have the settings for the Go button. Anyone who's ever overclocked their PC and lost stability, usually right before they needed it for a VOIP or some work, will know how much of a life-saver it can be to have some working settings available at the press of a button.

On the right is one of the many ways you can choose to overclock your system, from a simple "turn my 920 into a 950" to "give me maximum memory speeds".

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

Curious that the BIOS is updated to the 950 but not the 975.

One of the many great features is how clearly the settings of the BIOS are explained in the panel on the right. The level of explanation is almost directly in proportion to the usefulness of the feature and the need for the "average" user to be tweaking it. So BCLK gets a good explanation, clock skew less so.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

Finally some of the levels available in the DRAM and Uncore menus. So if you've got a set of DDR3 3600 kicking around, you can give it the beans here. Just as soon as we've sent it back to you.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-06-2010, 05:48:17

tinytomlogan
Want a high end motherboard but haven't got the room for a full ATX? Try the Rampage Gene

Continue Reading

28-06-2010, 07:27:33

Runebeard
Nice review Tom, love the looks of this board such clean-cut design matching the current gen RoG style. Also congratulations are in order! ASUS have put the review up on Facebook stating,

Wow - Overclock3D have done it again with the WORLDS FIRST REVIEW of the Rampage III Gene!!!!



Excellent publicity. Asus must totally love you dude

28-06-2010, 07:46:59

tinytomlogan
We do try to do our best for you guys..... Lets just say this is the warm up act eh

28-06-2010, 08:46:05

F-alienware
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.

A little while ago you could pick up the latest Alienware chassis on Ebay for about 200 with a 1kw Delta PSU. Few of my friends got them and put in this board.. It kicked seven shades out of the actual Alienware

28-06-2010, 08:49:50

F-alienware
BTW Tom I think this is relevant.. I am an ROG owner. I have noticed the ROG site is immensely slow. Terrible, even.

Is this just me and if not could you have a word with Asus? TBH that's the ONLY gripe I ever had with my board was waiting all day for the updates to download and then finding they had dropped and corrupted..

If this post needs moving then please do so

28-06-2010, 10:12:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.
I doubt anyone is using this, seeing as this is the worlds first RE3G review, the RRP hasnt even been confirmed 100% yet let alone any shops have them!

28-06-2010, 10:36:38

F-alienware
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using then. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.

28-06-2010, 11:01:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using them. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.
faffing right

28-06-2010, 11:52:19

Runebeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Lets just say this is the warm up act eh
Oooh of course! I almost forgot THAT is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but I can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs

29-06-2010, 00:16:11

enyownz
When is the release date?

29-06-2010, 00:17:44

enyownz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='runebeard'
oooh of course! I almost forgot that is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but i can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs
what do you mean "that"

29-06-2010, 02:46:03

wraithien
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='enyownz'
what do you mean "that"
I have an incling it might be Asus's other extreme motherboard (hopefully)

30-06-2010, 04:56:31

Runebeard
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean

30-06-2010, 06:29:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Runebeard'
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean
Not a scooby what you on about. But hands on Horoscope preview will be going live in the morning.

30-06-2010, 11:38:31

Andrew Moore
As Matx go this is an excellent little unit providing a strong base to a powerful lan box that unlike atx should be far more managable.

Nice review!

Andy
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.