ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

Board Overview

ASUS Rampage III  Gene Review

Board Overview

The packaging follows the usual ROG style, being red and silver with a very bold logo in teh boards centre and the ROG splash on the bottom right. The rear panel has the usual Asus clear layout showing the main features and specifications.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

Opening her up we have the clear top we've recently seen on the Rampage III Extreme and Maximum III Extreme. Lifting that out for a moment we find the many inclusions that you always get with a ROG motherboard.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

As well as the things we're all used to seeing, (SATA cables, IO shield, ROG Connect cable etc), we also see a big ROG sticker. Should you wish to adorn the side of your case with something slightly less discrete than the standard case badge.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

Getting our first look we can see that it follows the Rampage IIIs unique heatsink design for the southbridge and chipset coolers, but as we'll see below the power-phase cooling certainly doesn't.

Flipping the coolers off we reveal the chipset in all it's glory. We'll get a closer look at them later on.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

Understandably with this being a compressed mATX board the CPU socket is busy to say the least. The fin style cooler is almost designed to take the skin off your knuckles when installing a large cooler and it's curious to see this fairly old-school sink used on such a modern board.

The DIMM slots have the excellent single tab design we saw previously on ROG labelled boards. The top right of the board has the vertical battery we've seen on other high-end mATXs, so careful with that axe Eugene.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

Below the good-looking chipset heatsink we have the PCIe slots and various headers. Although the PCIe release lever is a vast improvement upon most solutions, it still doesn't really allow you to easily take a full-cover card out. Anyone who's tried to remove a modern reference heatsink card without removing their skin/RAM/motherboard will know what I mean.

On the bottom right we have the normal front-panel headers, SATA ports etc. We also find the "GO" button which allows you to load a specific set of BIOS settings with just the push of a button. Vital for when you are overclocking.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review     ASUS Rampage III Gene Review  

The I/O panel has everything you'd expect to find. The main extras are the ROG Connect, and the CMOS reset on the rear. Always a handy feature.

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-06-2010, 05:48:17

tinytomlogan
Want a high end motherboard but haven't got the room for a full ATX? Try the Rampage Gene

Continue Reading

28-06-2010, 07:27:33

Runebeard
Nice review Tom, love the looks of this board such clean-cut design matching the current gen RoG style. Also congratulations are in order! ASUS have put the review up on Facebook stating,

Wow - Overclock3D have done it again with the WORLDS FIRST REVIEW of the Rampage III Gene!!!!



Excellent publicity. Asus must totally love you dude

28-06-2010, 07:46:59

tinytomlogan
We do try to do our best for you guys..... Lets just say this is the warm up act eh

28-06-2010, 08:46:05

F-alienware
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.

A little while ago you could pick up the latest Alienware chassis on Ebay for about 200 with a 1kw Delta PSU. Few of my friends got them and put in this board.. It kicked seven shades out of the actual Alienware

28-06-2010, 08:49:50

F-alienware
BTW Tom I think this is relevant.. I am an ROG owner. I have noticed the ROG site is immensely slow. Terrible, even.

Is this just me and if not could you have a word with Asus? TBH that's the ONLY gripe I ever had with my board was waiting all day for the updates to download and then finding they had dropped and corrupted..

If this post needs moving then please do so

28-06-2010, 10:12:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.
I doubt anyone is using this, seeing as this is the worlds first RE3G review, the RRP hasnt even been confirmed 100% yet let alone any shops have them!

28-06-2010, 10:36:38

F-alienware
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using then. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.

28-06-2010, 11:01:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using them. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.
faffing right

28-06-2010, 11:52:19

Runebeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Lets just say this is the warm up act eh
Oooh of course! I almost forgot THAT is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but I can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs

29-06-2010, 00:16:11

enyownz
When is the release date?

29-06-2010, 00:17:44

enyownz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='runebeard'
oooh of course! I almost forgot that is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but i can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs
what do you mean "that"

29-06-2010, 02:46:03

wraithien
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='enyownz'
what do you mean "that"
I have an incling it might be Asus's other extreme motherboard (hopefully)

30-06-2010, 04:56:31

Runebeard
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean

30-06-2010, 06:29:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Runebeard'
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean
Not a scooby what you on about. But hands on Horoscope preview will be going live in the morning.

30-06-2010, 11:38:31

Andrew Moore
As Matx go this is an excellent little unit providing a strong base to a powerful lan box that unlike atx should be far more managable.

Nice review!

Andy
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.