ASUS Rampage Extreme Motherboard

Encoding Benchmarks

ViMark 
 
ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D motherboard testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding raw video into Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif formats. As always, a total of 5 benchmark runs were performed with the highest and lowest scores removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 scores.
  
 ViMark Windows Media
 
ViMark Apple
 
ViMark AVI
 
ViMark GIF
  
 
 7-Zip
 
7-Zip is an open source Winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including its own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.
  
 7-Zip compression
 
7-Zip decompression
 
 
Result Observations
 
Once again a fairly even range of results with the DDR3 based Rampage Extreme showing an improvement over the DDR2 based Blitz Formula SE in 7-Zip compressions benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-08-2008, 07:53:45

PV5150
With a Q6600 and DDR3 in hand we set out to clock the nuts off ASUS's latest motherboard aimed squarely at the overclocker.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142055315s.gif

Review

10-08-2008, 10:17:55

FarFarAway
The bad??? 246 bloody pounds, that's the bad!

Nice review mate

10-08-2008, 11:23:18

niky_d
Nice review, mate.

This board is really cool looking, but the price tag hurts my eyes .

They should put that cooler onto the rampage formula and the sound card also .

10-08-2008, 12:45:52

Mr. Smith
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.

10-08-2008, 15:11:21

Hassan
Is that the only award it gets. Editor's Choice

I suggest you go back and put more awards like Gamers Choice and Best in its class

10-08-2008, 17:24:54

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.
My sentiments exactly mate, PC manufacturers should start getting a handle on what an 'enthusiast' is. It's not someone who spends that on a mobo, that's for sure.

8/10 on price is a little generous I feel Matt

Lush board though

10-08-2008, 20:05:24

PV5150
Thanks for the comments and feedback guys it is appreciated. As for the price issue, yes it is a very dear board. But I'd probably pay that for a motherboard of this calibre personally. When I bought my Blitz Formula SE it was nearly AUS$500, and after conversion the ASUS Rampage Formula comes in at AUS$530. It's relative. Hopefully the price will fall significantly in the short term as it is a great motherboard

10-08-2008, 20:07:43

TopSecret
Great review mate. It's made me interested enough to consider trying one I am either going to get this one or wait for the x58's.

11-08-2008, 03:39:50

PV5150
Hi mate and thanks. I'm sure that you'd have a load of fun tweaking this board.

11-08-2008, 07:37:56

PP Mguire
Great review. This board certainly is awesome. I believe the first ROG board was the Crosshair though

11-08-2008, 16:08:00

Mr. Smith
Hey Peevs,

Well I got the Blitz formula at launch too, it was 170 with next day delivery, so I still don't see how you can justify the 8/10 value... Areyou sure youpaid $500 AUS for the blitz? This mobo is the same calibre as the Blitz was at that time. An 80 increase for a top end mobo over such a short time period isn't right. The rest of the review is top notch though

I totally agree with Matt of the Kempez variety on this one, manufacturers need to wake up.

11-08-2008, 16:47:36

-VK-
I'm probably biased on this, but this is my personal not my professional view.

The Rampage Extreme is a kickass board, though a little pricy at this time. As we all know though, these prices tend to drop fairly rapidly and I'd certainly expect the same of the Rampage.

12-08-2008, 11:18:51

Jaster
Wicked board, and I mean wicked in terms of todays youth slang (wicked, yo, cool, innit)....wicked price though....and I mean that in terms of saddam hussein, michael jackson and apple, ie evil....i'd like to see how it fares with a couple of 4870x2's as ATI are now boasting the fastest cards on the market...could be interesting that an ATI/Intel Platform will be the fastest...good review guys...do like the extra optional heatsinks...I am a sucker for hunks of metal though...oooo shiny

12-08-2008, 12:28:22

w3bbo
Way too expensive, other than that looks like a great board. The price of hardware is getting pretty ridiculous these days because like it or not, rightly or wrongly, PC's will always be compared to consoles and its becoming like the price of an upgrade would buy you a new console!

12-08-2008, 13:59:41

PP Mguire
Well this IS a top of the line board. You dont need to buy it to have top notch performance though. Always expect top of the line to be extremely pricey.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.