ASUS Rampage Extreme Motherboard

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup & Overclocking
 
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
DDR2 setup
 
During the testing of the setup above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used before the benchmarking began, with a full defrag of the hard drive once all the drivers and software were installed, preventing any possible performance issues due to leftover drivers from the previous motherboard installations.

For the 3DMark and gaming tests a single card configuration was used.

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities were used:
 
Synthetic CPU & Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark 05
• 3DMark 06

3D Games
• Call of Duty 4
• Quake 4
• Unreal Tournament 3
 
 
Overclocking
 
With so many options available, moderate overclocks were easily gained through the AUTO options and Level up configurations. Better overclocks were accomplished tweaking the Vcore/NB/VTT voltages.
 
Higheast attainable fsb Highest overclock
 
You can see from the included CPU-Z screenshots (above) that the ASUS Rampage Extreme managed to extract just shy of 2000MHz out of my Q6600. This isn't too bad considering that most Quad's will top out around 500 FSB, and is no way a bad reflection on the motherboard - it's an overclocking beast.
 
Increasing the multiplyer to 9 the ASUS Rampage Extreme managed to take my Q6600 processor to over 3.8GHz. The process of overclocking on the board was a pleasure too, with very little adjustments outside of the usual FSB, Vcore and Memory needing to be made. The BIOS also felt extremely mature and recovered extraordinarily well from failed overclock settings.
 
During the benchmarking phase of the ASUS Rampage Extreme our Q6600 'G0' stepping processor will be clocked to 3.6GHz to prevent any bottlenecking.
 
Benchmark overclock DRAM Frequency
 
On to the benchmarks...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-08-2008, 07:53:45

PV5150
With a Q6600 and DDR3 in hand we set out to clock the nuts off ASUS's latest motherboard aimed squarely at the overclocker.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142055315s.gif

Review

10-08-2008, 10:17:55

FarFarAway
The bad??? 246 bloody pounds, that's the bad!

Nice review mate

10-08-2008, 11:23:18

niky_d
Nice review, mate.

This board is really cool looking, but the price tag hurts my eyes .

They should put that cooler onto the rampage formula and the sound card also .

10-08-2008, 12:45:52

Mr. Smith
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.

10-08-2008, 15:11:21

Hassan
Is that the only award it gets. Editor's Choice

I suggest you go back and put more awards like Gamers Choice and Best in its class

10-08-2008, 17:24:54

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.
My sentiments exactly mate, PC manufacturers should start getting a handle on what an 'enthusiast' is. It's not someone who spends that on a mobo, that's for sure.

8/10 on price is a little generous I feel Matt

Lush board though

10-08-2008, 20:05:24

PV5150
Thanks for the comments and feedback guys it is appreciated. As for the price issue, yes it is a very dear board. But I'd probably pay that for a motherboard of this calibre personally. When I bought my Blitz Formula SE it was nearly AUS$500, and after conversion the ASUS Rampage Formula comes in at AUS$530. It's relative. Hopefully the price will fall significantly in the short term as it is a great motherboard

10-08-2008, 20:07:43

TopSecret
Great review mate. It's made me interested enough to consider trying one I am either going to get this one or wait for the x58's.

11-08-2008, 03:39:50

PV5150
Hi mate and thanks. I'm sure that you'd have a load of fun tweaking this board.

11-08-2008, 07:37:56

PP Mguire
Great review. This board certainly is awesome. I believe the first ROG board was the Crosshair though

11-08-2008, 16:08:00

Mr. Smith
Hey Peevs,

Well I got the Blitz formula at launch too, it was 170 with next day delivery, so I still don't see how you can justify the 8/10 value... Areyou sure youpaid $500 AUS for the blitz? This mobo is the same calibre as the Blitz was at that time. An 80 increase for a top end mobo over such a short time period isn't right. The rest of the review is top notch though

I totally agree with Matt of the Kempez variety on this one, manufacturers need to wake up.

11-08-2008, 16:47:36

-VK-
I'm probably biased on this, but this is my personal not my professional view.

The Rampage Extreme is a kickass board, though a little pricy at this time. As we all know though, these prices tend to drop fairly rapidly and I'd certainly expect the same of the Rampage.

12-08-2008, 11:18:51

Jaster
Wicked board, and I mean wicked in terms of todays youth slang (wicked, yo, cool, innit)....wicked price though....and I mean that in terms of saddam hussein, michael jackson and apple, ie evil....i'd like to see how it fares with a couple of 4870x2's as ATI are now boasting the fastest cards on the market...could be interesting that an ATI/Intel Platform will be the fastest...good review guys...do like the extra optional heatsinks...I am a sucker for hunks of metal though...oooo shiny

12-08-2008, 12:28:22

w3bbo
Way too expensive, other than that looks like a great board. The price of hardware is getting pretty ridiculous these days because like it or not, rightly or wrongly, PC's will always be compared to consoles and its becoming like the price of an upgrade would buy you a new console!

12-08-2008, 13:59:41

PP Mguire
Well this IS a top of the line board. You dont need to buy it to have top notch performance though. Always expect top of the line to be extremely pricey.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.