ASUS Rampage Extreme Motherboard

BIOS Options

BIOS Options
 
When you first boot your computer you are greeted by an animated scrrnesaver with the R.O.G logo. It certainly looks better and more foreboding than the one on my ASUS Blitz Formua SE.
 
ASUS Rampage Extreme splash screen
 
In order for the ASUS Rampage Extreme to make full use of its spec it needs to have a BIOS capable of utilising and extracting every last ounce of performance. To be honest, the American Megatrends (AMI) fits the bill to a 'T'. If you're a tweaker or control fanatic then you're going to love this BIOS as it's a tweakers paradise. Upon entering the BIOS you are greeted by the now familiar 'Extreme Tweaker' section, which is great as it means that you can get straight down to business upon entering the BIOS.
 
CPU level up AI Overclock tuner
 
For those who aren't into tweaking as much as the next guy, the ASUS Rampage Extreme BIOS provides both Auto configuration and ' CPU Level UP' and 'Memory Level Up' function. These options essentially allows you to pick a new model of processor or uprated memory speed from the available list and the BIOS will automatically adjust the frequency/multiplier settings to bring your existing processor and/or memory up to the chosen speed. The ASUS Rampage Extreme BIOS also supports Extreme Memory Profiles provided you have DDR3 memory with XMP support.
 
The voltage tweaking options are far too numerous to mention, but pretty much everything is able to tweaked, probed and prodded. Those familiar with a DFI BIOS would feel well at home here. I have taken the liberty of providing some of the more common voltage options and included their configurations a little further down the page.
 
The introduction of Load Line Calibration and CPU GTLVref options in the BIOS are a welcome addition to the overclockers arsenal by allowing a significant reduction on CPU vDroop.
 
 Load Line Calibration CPU GTLV ref
 
ASUS Rampage Extreme voltages
 
Extreme Tweaker Menu 1 Extreme Tweaker Menu_2 
Extreme Tweaker Menu_3 Extreme Tweaker Menu_4
 CPU Clock Skew NB Clock Skew
 
In the 'Advanced' section of the BIOS there are a few familiar options so I won't go into too much detail here. But there are a couple of options that do bear mentioning. Under the 'LCD Poster and LCD Control' heading you are able to control what information is available on your LCD poster if you use that as an overclocking tool.
 
With the ASUS Rampage Extreme having a dual-BIOS you can also configure what happens when the worst happens. You are able to either switch to the other remaining BIOS or try to recover the BIOS that you are currently using.
 
Advanced screen LCD poster and LED control
Dual BIOS switch
 
Finishing off the configurable section of the BIOS is Asus' excellent voltage, temperature and fan speed monitoring system. Fans can be switched on/off at user-defined temperatures or run at percentages of their full speed all from within the BIOS and without the need for any additional software.
 
Power menu Fan control 1
Power menu Voltage control
 
ASUS also has their great EZ Flash utility which makes it considerably safer than doing it through Windows.
 
ASUS EZ Flash
 
Now that we've kicked the tyres and checked what's under the hood, let's take her for a spin.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-08-2008, 07:53:45

PV5150
With a Q6600 and DDR3 in hand we set out to clock the nuts off ASUS's latest motherboard aimed squarely at the overclocker.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142055315s.gif

Review

10-08-2008, 10:17:55

FarFarAway
The bad??? 246 bloody pounds, that's the bad!

Nice review mate

10-08-2008, 11:23:18

niky_d
Nice review, mate.

This board is really cool looking, but the price tag hurts my eyes .

They should put that cooler onto the rampage formula and the sound card also .

10-08-2008, 12:45:52

Mr. Smith
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.

10-08-2008, 15:11:21

Hassan
Is that the only award it gets. Editor's Choice

I suggest you go back and put more awards like Gamers Choice and Best in its class

10-08-2008, 17:24:54

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.
My sentiments exactly mate, PC manufacturers should start getting a handle on what an 'enthusiast' is. It's not someone who spends that on a mobo, that's for sure.

8/10 on price is a little generous I feel Matt

Lush board though

10-08-2008, 20:05:24

PV5150
Thanks for the comments and feedback guys it is appreciated. As for the price issue, yes it is a very dear board. But I'd probably pay that for a motherboard of this calibre personally. When I bought my Blitz Formula SE it was nearly AUS$500, and after conversion the ASUS Rampage Formula comes in at AUS$530. It's relative. Hopefully the price will fall significantly in the short term as it is a great motherboard

10-08-2008, 20:07:43

TopSecret
Great review mate. It's made me interested enough to consider trying one I am either going to get this one or wait for the x58's.

11-08-2008, 03:39:50

PV5150
Hi mate and thanks. I'm sure that you'd have a load of fun tweaking this board.

11-08-2008, 07:37:56

PP Mguire
Great review. This board certainly is awesome. I believe the first ROG board was the Crosshair though

11-08-2008, 16:08:00

Mr. Smith
Hey Peevs,

Well I got the Blitz formula at launch too, it was 170 with next day delivery, so I still don't see how you can justify the 8/10 value... Areyou sure youpaid $500 AUS for the blitz? This mobo is the same calibre as the Blitz was at that time. An 80 increase for a top end mobo over such a short time period isn't right. The rest of the review is top notch though

I totally agree with Matt of the Kempez variety on this one, manufacturers need to wake up.

11-08-2008, 16:47:36

-VK-
I'm probably biased on this, but this is my personal not my professional view.

The Rampage Extreme is a kickass board, though a little pricy at this time. As we all know though, these prices tend to drop fairly rapidly and I'd certainly expect the same of the Rampage.

12-08-2008, 11:18:51

Jaster
Wicked board, and I mean wicked in terms of todays youth slang (wicked, yo, cool, innit)....wicked price though....and I mean that in terms of saddam hussein, michael jackson and apple, ie evil....i'd like to see how it fares with a couple of 4870x2's as ATI are now boasting the fastest cards on the market...could be interesting that an ATI/Intel Platform will be the fastest...good review guys...do like the extra optional heatsinks...I am a sucker for hunks of metal though...oooo shiny

12-08-2008, 12:28:22

w3bbo
Way too expensive, other than that looks like a great board. The price of hardware is getting pretty ridiculous these days because like it or not, rightly or wrongly, PC's will always be compared to consoles and its becoming like the price of an upgrade would buy you a new console!

12-08-2008, 13:59:41

PP Mguire
Well this IS a top of the line board. You dont need to buy it to have top notch performance though. Always expect top of the line to be extremely pricey.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.