ASUS Rampage Extreme Motherboard

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
So how well did the X48 based ASUS Rampage Extreme perform in today's review? ASUS Rampage Extreme
 
In this day and age, the motherboard market is a cut throat affair, and there is a need for products to really stand out from the competition. To be the same in this industry is to be non-existant. With the X48 chipset now an established performer in the market, and the very recent release of the P45 based motherboards showing some very impressive overclocks, it does beg the question as to what motherboard should you opt for. You could even throw the impending arrival of X58 and Nehalem just around the corner into the mix. Obviously, the choice is ultimately yours and at the end of the day I guess the final verdict will be based upon the hole in your wallet and overall performance.
 
Make no bones about it, the ASUS Rampage Extreme is an excellently crafted board. It oozes quality and appeal, and simply begs you to 'clock the nuts off it'. The features that ASUS have engineered into the board are thoughtful and worthwhile, and subsequently make the ASUS Rampage Extreme an ideal candidate as an overclockers board of choice. Sure the features don't quite extend to the insane like the Foxconn BlackOps, but I don't think it was ever meant to be that way. The motherboard provides a highly configurable and tweakable BIOS with components that'll push as hard as you want them to.The ASUS Rampage Extreme provides the perfect balance between form and function - it has killer looks but can push the performance envelope where and when you want it to.
 
Considering that the ASUS Rampage Extreme has only just been released to retail, I did have some trouble finding comparitive pricing for the motherboard. Scan Computers UK does have the Rampage Extreme available for £246.39 inc. 17.5% VAT, but you may find better prices over the next few weeks as it becomes more readily available. Although some people may baulk at the high price of the ASUS Rampage Extreme, it still comes in cheaper than the Foxconn BlackOps, and I think the asking price is still reasonable for a motherboard of this calibre. If you have a DDR3 based motherboard already but are looking for the creme-de-la-creme of the X48 boards for overclocking, then the ASUS Rampage Extreme will fit the bill nicely.
 
Now I just need to get myself a nice E8400 :)
 
The Good
+ Insane performance
+ Quality
+ Rock solid overclocking
+ Looks
+ Features
+ Bundled accessories
 
 
The Mediocre
* Some may baulk at the price
 
The Bad
- Absolutely nothing
 
 
OC3D Editors choice award
 
Overclock3D would like to thank ASUS for making the review of the Rampage Extreme a possibility
 
Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-08-2008, 07:53:45

PV5150
With a Q6600 and DDR3 in hand we set out to clock the nuts off ASUS's latest motherboard aimed squarely at the overclocker.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142055315s.gif

Review

10-08-2008, 10:17:55

FarFarAway
The bad??? 246 bloody pounds, that's the bad!

Nice review mate

10-08-2008, 11:23:18

niky_d
Nice review, mate.

This board is really cool looking, but the price tag hurts my eyes .

They should put that cooler onto the rampage formula and the sound card also .

10-08-2008, 12:45:52

Mr. Smith
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.

10-08-2008, 15:11:21

Hassan
Is that the only award it gets. Editor's Choice

I suggest you go back and put more awards like Gamers Choice and Best in its class

10-08-2008, 17:24:54

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
250! Are they serious?!

8/10 on the price!? Are you serious or have you started crapping 24 carrot turds?

It's a nice mobo (and review) but 250 is beyond a joke. I hope this flops. Top end mobos should be around the 150/175 max. I can't... It's... 250. WTF.
My sentiments exactly mate, PC manufacturers should start getting a handle on what an 'enthusiast' is. It's not someone who spends that on a mobo, that's for sure.

8/10 on price is a little generous I feel Matt

Lush board though

10-08-2008, 20:05:24

PV5150
Thanks for the comments and feedback guys it is appreciated. As for the price issue, yes it is a very dear board. But I'd probably pay that for a motherboard of this calibre personally. When I bought my Blitz Formula SE it was nearly AUS$500, and after conversion the ASUS Rampage Formula comes in at AUS$530. It's relative. Hopefully the price will fall significantly in the short term as it is a great motherboard

10-08-2008, 20:07:43

TopSecret
Great review mate. It's made me interested enough to consider trying one I am either going to get this one or wait for the x58's.

11-08-2008, 03:39:50

PV5150
Hi mate and thanks. I'm sure that you'd have a load of fun tweaking this board.

11-08-2008, 07:37:56

PP Mguire
Great review. This board certainly is awesome. I believe the first ROG board was the Crosshair though

11-08-2008, 16:08:00

Mr. Smith
Hey Peevs,

Well I got the Blitz formula at launch too, it was 170 with next day delivery, so I still don't see how you can justify the 8/10 value... Areyou sure youpaid $500 AUS for the blitz? This mobo is the same calibre as the Blitz was at that time. An 80 increase for a top end mobo over such a short time period isn't right. The rest of the review is top notch though

I totally agree with Matt of the Kempez variety on this one, manufacturers need to wake up.

11-08-2008, 16:47:36

-VK-
I'm probably biased on this, but this is my personal not my professional view.

The Rampage Extreme is a kickass board, though a little pricy at this time. As we all know though, these prices tend to drop fairly rapidly and I'd certainly expect the same of the Rampage.

12-08-2008, 11:18:51

Jaster
Wicked board, and I mean wicked in terms of todays youth slang (wicked, yo, cool, innit)....wicked price though....and I mean that in terms of saddam hussein, michael jackson and apple, ie evil....i'd like to see how it fares with a couple of 4870x2's as ATI are now boasting the fastest cards on the market...could be interesting that an ATI/Intel Platform will be the fastest...good review guys...do like the extra optional heatsinks...I am a sucker for hunks of metal though...oooo shiny

12-08-2008, 12:28:22

w3bbo
Way too expensive, other than that looks like a great board. The price of hardware is getting pretty ridiculous these days because like it or not, rightly or wrongly, PC's will always be compared to consoles and its becoming like the price of an upgrade would buy you a new console!

12-08-2008, 13:59:41

PP Mguire
Well this IS a top of the line board. You dont need to buy it to have top notch performance though. Always expect top of the line to be extremely pricey.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.