ASUS Rampage 4 Extreme Review

Up Close

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

Up Close

Finally, here it is. The Rampage IV Extreme in the familiar red and black flesh, both with and without its cooling.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review  

Considering the absolute art that was the heatsinks on both the Rampage III Extreme and Maximus IV Extreme, it's a bit of a surprise to find the heatsinks on the R4E are fairly bland. Although the sheer volume of stuff, 8 DIMM slots, Quad PCIe, naturally reduces the real estate available for the more arty designs.

The chipset cooler we will talk about on the next page, but it's worth taking a moment to appreciate the PCI Express slot layout. Most people will stick to a single or dual-GPU system and there is a lot of space between the first and third expansion slots, to give your card as much ventilation as possible.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review  

No that isn't a newfangled form of storage connection. We have the standard SATA 6Gbp/s and SATA 3Gbp/s storage options, supporting RAID 0,1,5 and 10. The small box to the right of the SATAII is for reading the temperature of the board, even in sub-zero conditions. So if you're aiming for those world records, it's all a little bit easier to monitor.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

If there is one thing that any overclocking board needs it is lots of power, and the R4E is capable of drawing on a lot of juice thanks to an additional 4pin ATX power connector alongside the standard 8pin number, and nestled to the left of the first PCIe slot we have another 6 pin connector for even more juice.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-11-2011, 03:05:10

tinytomlogan


It wouldn't be a new tech release without a new RoG motherboard to go with it. Welcome to the X79 Rampage IV Extreme review.

Continue Reading

14-11-2011, 03:26:50

Diablo
Thanks for the reviews fellas. Great looking board. I hope so, given I've just ordered one.

14-11-2011, 08:00:58

badtaylorx
cant say i wasnt expecting more but bravo asus!!!

14-11-2011, 08:09:32

Excalabur50
Smashing review loved every minute of it and it was a looong one LOL

14-11-2011, 09:02:32

SieB
Looks like a really good mobo, I thought Asus would have redesigned the BIOS for X79 though and not left it looking the same as the P67/Z68 one. Not that it looks bad or anything I just thought they would have made it look different.

14-11-2011, 12:00:59

cryptz
can you tell me the boards exact dimensions? is it e-atx? i need to see if i can cram it in my lvl10 case.

14-11-2011, 21:01:58

PCTwin
Greatv review Tom, as always

A question

"The small box to the right of the SATAII is for reading the temperature of the board"

These connectors look suspiciously like K type probe connectors, are they?

15-11-2011, 02:24:22

Malarky13
Very nice

15-11-2011, 02:26:13

Malarky13
Ouch I just saw the price on Aria it hurts Maybe next year

15-11-2011, 03:43:30

Diablo
I reckon that's about right for a top end motherboard. I think I paid a similar amount for the 790i on release (wasn't that worth it)

15-11-2011, 04:24:22

yassarikhan786
A monstrous fecking motherboard .

Brilliant review as always and the fan is a no-no for me as well .

15-11-2011, 04:27:14

Malarky13
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas

15-11-2011, 04:33:12

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malarky13 View Post

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas
Maybe's you could , lol.

15-11-2011, 06:24:57

leejc73
The price is actually bloody good I thought. When you consider the 1155 extreme-z is still selling with some retailers at >300 that's missing PCI-e 3 with dual x16 off the chipset and the dongle. Think 1100ish for the latest gear is pretty reasonable. Well until/unless evga launch a dual socket.

15-11-2011, 07:15:03

Diablo
Even if EVGA offer their SR3, you need a new case, probably power supply, two processors, heatsinks, the board itself, enough memory for it etc. I reckon an SR3 board with ram, heatsinks and processors will run up about 2200+. Whereas even the most expensive X79 will be 330 + whatever for the chip, which will be unlocked and able to clock much better.

I can say that the board looks magnificent, although changing the backplate practically made me **** my britches...take off the cpu cover then remove it, then turn over the board for the backplate. Eeeep.

15-11-2011, 12:44:35

Luscious
Totally sexy mobo - can't wait to see this thing with a pair of mars2 cards!!!

About the chipset blower fan, wouldn't it be possible to make it run quieter with an inline resistor? Surely it can be rewired to spin slower if there's no manual BIOS adjustment...

24-11-2011, 12:26:53

MIDNIGHT EYE
i did not like the look of the x79 morthboards at the start but ones i see them with all 8 ram slots full i was like WTH that looks like crazy but the CPUs or not cheep and im not that crazy of a overclocker to buy one but can not what to see videos of it being overclocked to see how fast they can really move

03-02-2012, 15:27:12

kejser11
One thing missing: On-board WLAN!!! Almost all new oem-boards have this feature, so why not this 300+ monster?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.