ASUS Rampage 4 Extreme Review

Accessories

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

Packaging and Accessories

Although the contents are all new, the box is the familiar Republic of Gamers design we've all come to know and love. The user-guide is a weighty tome, as befits something dripping with high-end features.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review  

The collection of accessories is unrivalled. Because the Rampage IV Extreme supports Qual-SLI/Quad-Fire we have an array of bridges to connect your GPUs together. We often remark that the devil is in the details, and so often Crossfire bridges are a coppery colour that to see a black one, which would obviously fit the colour scheme better, is a nice touch.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review  

This bundle of wires on the left are for fine over-volting control on the GPU. Rather than have to trim resistors you can attach one end to the motherboard and the other to your GPU, then control the voltage via the BIOS. In keeping with a theme that you'll be seeing throughout this review this might not be a feature that you thought you wanted, or even one you'll use, but it's a very cool feature nonetheless and only the tip of the iceberg.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

Do you remember the old days when the IO Shield was there to fill up the many gaps you had at the back of the motherboard? There are so many inputs and outputs on the back of the R4E that there is almost no metal left in the shield. We're pretty certain that if they didn't need somewhere for the logo they'd have found something else to put on the board.

The cable on the right is part of connecting the OC Key, which we'll be getting to shortly.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

Yet another one of those cool features the Rampage is bristling with, is this CPU backplate. Bear with me. Rather than have the mounting on the motherboard, necessitating quite a faff if you want to change it, the R4E is capable of supporting both LGA2011 CPU coolers, and current LGA1366 ones too. So if you've got anything from a high-end air cooler, via a CPU water block, all the way up to a pot for sub-zero cooling, it will be able to be used on the Rampage IV Extreme.

Oh and there are a load of SATA cables too.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-11-2011, 03:05:10

tinytomlogan


It wouldn't be a new tech release without a new RoG motherboard to go with it. Welcome to the X79 Rampage IV Extreme review.

Continue Reading

14-11-2011, 03:26:50

Diablo
Thanks for the reviews fellas. Great looking board. I hope so, given I've just ordered one.

14-11-2011, 08:00:58

badtaylorx
cant say i wasnt expecting more but bravo asus!!!

14-11-2011, 08:09:32

Excalabur50
Smashing review loved every minute of it and it was a looong one LOL

14-11-2011, 09:02:32

SieB
Looks like a really good mobo, I thought Asus would have redesigned the BIOS for X79 though and not left it looking the same as the P67/Z68 one. Not that it looks bad or anything I just thought they would have made it look different.

14-11-2011, 12:00:59

cryptz
can you tell me the boards exact dimensions? is it e-atx? i need to see if i can cram it in my lvl10 case.

14-11-2011, 21:01:58

PCTwin
Greatv review Tom, as always

A question

"The small box to the right of the SATAII is for reading the temperature of the board"

These connectors look suspiciously like K type probe connectors, are they?

15-11-2011, 02:24:22

Malarky13
Very nice

15-11-2011, 02:26:13

Malarky13
Ouch I just saw the price on Aria it hurts Maybe next year

15-11-2011, 03:43:30

Diablo
I reckon that's about right for a top end motherboard. I think I paid a similar amount for the 790i on release (wasn't that worth it)

15-11-2011, 04:24:22

yassarikhan786
A monstrous fecking motherboard .

Brilliant review as always and the fan is a no-no for me as well .

15-11-2011, 04:27:14

Malarky13
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas

15-11-2011, 04:33:12

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malarky13 View Post

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas
Maybe's you could , lol.

15-11-2011, 06:24:57

leejc73
The price is actually bloody good I thought. When you consider the 1155 extreme-z is still selling with some retailers at >300 that's missing PCI-e 3 with dual x16 off the chipset and the dongle. Think 1100ish for the latest gear is pretty reasonable. Well until/unless evga launch a dual socket.

15-11-2011, 07:15:03

Diablo
Even if EVGA offer their SR3, you need a new case, probably power supply, two processors, heatsinks, the board itself, enough memory for it etc. I reckon an SR3 board with ram, heatsinks and processors will run up about 2200+. Whereas even the most expensive X79 will be 330 + whatever for the chip, which will be unlocked and able to clock much better.

I can say that the board looks magnificent, although changing the backplate practically made me **** my britches...take off the cpu cover then remove it, then turn over the board for the backplate. Eeeep.

15-11-2011, 12:44:35

Luscious
Totally sexy mobo - can't wait to see this thing with a pair of mars2 cards!!!

About the chipset blower fan, wouldn't it be possible to make it run quieter with an inline resistor? Surely it can be rewired to spin slower if there's no manual BIOS adjustment...

24-11-2011, 12:26:53

MIDNIGHT EYE
i did not like the look of the x79 morthboards at the start but ones i see them with all 8 ram slots full i was like WTH that looks like crazy but the CPUs or not cheep and im not that crazy of a overclocker to buy one but can not what to see videos of it being overclocked to see how fast they can really move

03-02-2012, 15:27:12

kejser11
One thing missing: On-board WLAN!!! Almost all new oem-boards have this feature, so why not this 300+ monster?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.