ASUS Rampage 4 Extreme Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review

Test Setup

Welcome to those of you who have skipped straight to the overclocking results, and a heartier hello to those who have stayed with us through the initial part of the review. 

Our test rig is the same as we used for the i7-3960X, just with the obvious addition of the Rampage IV Extreme (and removal of the Intel DX79SI for the pedants in the audience).

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Intel Core i7-3960X
nVidia GTX570
ForceWare 285.62
16GB G.Skill RipjawsZ 2133MHz
Corsair AX1200 PSU
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Noctua NH-D14
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

The Rampage IV Extreme, as well as offering more user control than many of us are ever likely to need, also has some one-click overclocks available. The Standard profile boost the processor from its default speed up to a healthy 4.375GHz. Not bad for such a simple solution.

At the other end of the scale is the High Current Extreme option, which gets us to 5GHz but this absolutely isn't a setting you want to accidentally apply. 1.624v on the CPU. Heavens.

       Standard OC Profile                                        Extreme High Current OC Profile

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Standard OC     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Overclock  

Back in the sane world we have the ability to modify the BCLK much more than we've recently seen on the original Sandy Bridge stuff, and this is a boon to overclocking and tweaking. The highest BCLK we were able to obtain from a 100MHz start was 130MHz, which is pretty handy. Some gentle playing to find the sweet spot between bus speed and CPU Multiplier ended up with a 4.75GHz overclock at 1.47v, which is what we'll be using today for all of our overclock benchmarks.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme BCLK     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Review  

5GHz

Just to show how flexible the new arrangement is, you can have your 5GHz overclock in two ways, either with a hefty multiplier, or a BCLK increase. 5GHz on a Hexcore with HT still enabled. We're salivating.

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme 5GHz Overclocking settings 1     ASUS Rampage IV Extreme 5GHz Overclocking method 2

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-11-2011, 03:05:10

tinytomlogan


It wouldn't be a new tech release without a new RoG motherboard to go with it. Welcome to the X79 Rampage IV Extreme review.

Continue Reading

14-11-2011, 03:26:50

Diablo
Thanks for the reviews fellas. Great looking board. I hope so, given I've just ordered one.

14-11-2011, 08:00:58

badtaylorx
cant say i wasnt expecting more but bravo asus!!!

14-11-2011, 08:09:32

Excalabur50
Smashing review loved every minute of it and it was a looong one LOL

14-11-2011, 09:02:32

SieB
Looks like a really good mobo, I thought Asus would have redesigned the BIOS for X79 though and not left it looking the same as the P67/Z68 one. Not that it looks bad or anything I just thought they would have made it look different.

14-11-2011, 12:00:59

cryptz
can you tell me the boards exact dimensions? is it e-atx? i need to see if i can cram it in my lvl10 case.

14-11-2011, 21:01:58

PCTwin
Greatv review Tom, as always

A question

"The small box to the right of the SATAII is for reading the temperature of the board"

These connectors look suspiciously like K type probe connectors, are they?

15-11-2011, 02:24:22

Malarky13
Very nice

15-11-2011, 02:26:13

Malarky13
Ouch I just saw the price on Aria it hurts Maybe next year

15-11-2011, 03:43:30

Diablo
I reckon that's about right for a top end motherboard. I think I paid a similar amount for the 790i on release (wasn't that worth it)

15-11-2011, 04:24:22

yassarikhan786
A monstrous fecking motherboard .

Brilliant review as always and the fan is a no-no for me as well .

15-11-2011, 04:27:14

Malarky13
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas

15-11-2011, 04:33:12

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malarky13 View Post

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Maybe's I could convince the kids to have a selection box each for Christmas
Maybe's you could , lol.

15-11-2011, 06:24:57

leejc73
The price is actually bloody good I thought. When you consider the 1155 extreme-z is still selling with some retailers at >300 that's missing PCI-e 3 with dual x16 off the chipset and the dongle. Think 1100ish for the latest gear is pretty reasonable. Well until/unless evga launch a dual socket.

15-11-2011, 07:15:03

Diablo
Even if EVGA offer their SR3, you need a new case, probably power supply, two processors, heatsinks, the board itself, enough memory for it etc. I reckon an SR3 board with ram, heatsinks and processors will run up about 2200+. Whereas even the most expensive X79 will be 330 + whatever for the chip, which will be unlocked and able to clock much better.

I can say that the board looks magnificent, although changing the backplate practically made me **** my britches...take off the cpu cover then remove it, then turn over the board for the backplate. Eeeep.

15-11-2011, 12:44:35

Luscious
Totally sexy mobo - can't wait to see this thing with a pair of mars2 cards!!!

About the chipset blower fan, wouldn't it be possible to make it run quieter with an inline resistor? Surely it can be rewired to spin slower if there's no manual BIOS adjustment...

24-11-2011, 12:26:53

MIDNIGHT EYE
i did not like the look of the x79 morthboards at the start but ones i see them with all 8 ram slots full i was like WTH that looks like crazy but the CPUs or not cheep and im not that crazy of a overclocker to buy one but can not what to see videos of it being overclocked to see how fast they can really move

03-02-2012, 15:27:12

kejser11
One thing missing: On-board WLAN!!! Almost all new oem-boards have this feature, so why not this 300+ monster?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.