ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview

First Look - Continued

ASUS P9X79 Pro X79 Intel 2011 Preview

First Look - continued

We have plenty of SATA connectors, including one designated for SSD Cache. It looks like the Z68 Intel Rapid Storage Technology has made the leap to the X79.

It's great to see a huge amount of fan-headers available. It's something that often gets overlooked and considering how many case fans a modern gaming rig requires we're pleased the P9X79 Pro has so many.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview  

Whilst there are is a decent amount of rear USB ports available, there are more than enough internal headers for every device you own and then some.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview  

Covering the 8 DIMM slots, a number which we're still getting used to, are some hardware highlights so we'll leave them here for you to ponder until we can give you the full review in a couple of weeks.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview

Video Preview



Like what you see? Love the thought of 32GB of RAM? Let us know in the forums.

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-11-2011, 19:16:29

tinytomlogan


The second of our ASUS X79 preview focuses on the P9X79 Pro.

Continue Reading

01-11-2011, 19:24:28

SieB
Bit anti climatic after the Rampage but still a good board non the less.

It's nice to see a X79 board with passive cooling on the southbridge as well, all the rest, the ones I have seen anyway, seem to have active cooling which is going create a bit of noise.

01-11-2011, 19:31:15

Nathlm
I hate the new Asus colour scheme (much prefer the older black/blue and the ROG red/black)

01-11-2011, 20:05:09

badtaylorx
what the heck are you taping up......is there an i9 logo under there???

02-11-2011, 03:57:36

Azurite
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathlm View Post

I hate the new Asus colour scheme (much prefer the older black/blue and the ROG red/black)
Yeah the light blue isnt nice at all. Reminds me of the low end gigabyte boards. Asus should make some MB's in black.....

02-11-2011, 06:21:07

Jambe
I don't give half a toot about the colors.

It looks like the Z68 Intel Rapid Storage Technology has made the leap to the X79.



I believe Asus cooked up its own caching scheme; they're calling it ASUS SSD Caching (shocking). So it's not Intel's RST stuff. At least, that's what tweaktown, legitreviews, pcper et al. are reporting.

02-11-2011, 07:08:48

Rastalovich
I know there's many of these x79 aimed squarely at gamers, but in all honesty you'd need to be a game-building-rig... builder... and a client with cash to spare.

I'm hoping very much that I get proved otherwise in the months to come, cos right now I'm yoyoing over the purchase of these things (not ASUS from previous experience) - results for me don't have the gamers in mind. New gfxcards may change that opinion. And of course there are some gaming boards in the ranges that come with shiny stuff.

On a professional and benching-enthusiast basis, you gotta get onboard. I'd not argue with that. Any meger %age gain is a bonus. If you pay for it yourself - ouch.

Love to see the P9X79 versus the 58/68 in the gaming stakes. Doesn't do anything for me. (right now)

02-11-2011, 07:09:06

Solidarity
Looking good for a lower end x79 board

02-11-2011, 08:55:28

daniSAUR
Why are motherboards with the ability to have 32gb of memory aimed towards gamers? Seeing as games nowadays don't even use 4gb?

Personally I'd have thought they'd be aimed towards people who utilize lots of ram?

02-11-2011, 13:33:53

badtaylorx
i saw whats under that tape elsewhere.......what a letdown!!!!

02-11-2011, 16:02:33

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

i saw whats under that tape elsewhere.......what a letdown!!!!
Killjoy.

13-11-2012, 13:50:23

SuB
Sorry to necro, but did this board ever get a review? I can't seem to find one only a preview.

16-11-2012, 02:52:18

rossi94
Very nice board, but I <3 my rampage .. Thunderbolt for X79 would be very cool.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.