ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview

Intro and First Look

ASUS P9X79 Pro X79 Intel 2011 Preview

Introduction

The second part of our X79 preview focuses on the P9X79 Pro. Considering that the vast majority of us haven't got the finances for something like the Rampage IV Extreme, nor the need for minute adjustments under sub-zero conditions. So the P9X79 Pro is likely to be the more popular choice.

The box is nothing if not bold, but it's the contents we're interested in. Luckily for you we're going to open the box so you aren't limited to peering through the plastic.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview  

Rather than the black and red we're used to seeing from the Republic of Gamers branded items, this harks back to the standard ASUS colouring of blue and white. One thing that does surprise us is that there isn't a fan on this model which there was on the Rampage IV Extreme. This is probably due to the potential increased load from the higher overclocks of the Extreme when compared to the P9X79 Pro. Of course this is all supposition at the moment.

The PCI slot arrangement is slightly different to the Rampage. Flexibility is the key as one would expect on a board that will find its way into many varied systems.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview  

Despite this being a more mainstream board the heat-sinks have still had the design treatment and look gorgeous. It's nice to see those little touches like the matching powder-blue EPS12V connector.

ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview     ASUS P9X79 Pro Preview

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-11-2011, 19:16:29

tinytomlogan


The second of our ASUS X79 preview focuses on the P9X79 Pro.

Continue Reading

01-11-2011, 19:24:28

SieB
Bit anti climatic after the Rampage but still a good board non the less.

It's nice to see a X79 board with passive cooling on the southbridge as well, all the rest, the ones I have seen anyway, seem to have active cooling which is going create a bit of noise.

01-11-2011, 19:31:15

Nathlm
I hate the new Asus colour scheme (much prefer the older black/blue and the ROG red/black)

01-11-2011, 20:05:09

badtaylorx
what the heck are you taping up......is there an i9 logo under there???

02-11-2011, 03:57:36

Azurite
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathlm View Post

I hate the new Asus colour scheme (much prefer the older black/blue and the ROG red/black)
Yeah the light blue isnt nice at all. Reminds me of the low end gigabyte boards. Asus should make some MB's in black.....

02-11-2011, 06:21:07

Jambe
I don't give half a toot about the colors.

It looks like the Z68 Intel Rapid Storage Technology has made the leap to the X79.



I believe Asus cooked up its own caching scheme; they're calling it ASUS SSD Caching (shocking). So it's not Intel's RST stuff. At least, that's what tweaktown, legitreviews, pcper et al. are reporting.

02-11-2011, 07:08:48

Rastalovich
I know there's many of these x79 aimed squarely at gamers, but in all honesty you'd need to be a game-building-rig... builder... and a client with cash to spare.

I'm hoping very much that I get proved otherwise in the months to come, cos right now I'm yoyoing over the purchase of these things (not ASUS from previous experience) - results for me don't have the gamers in mind. New gfxcards may change that opinion. And of course there are some gaming boards in the ranges that come with shiny stuff.

On a professional and benching-enthusiast basis, you gotta get onboard. I'd not argue with that. Any meger %age gain is a bonus. If you pay for it yourself - ouch.

Love to see the P9X79 versus the 58/68 in the gaming stakes. Doesn't do anything for me. (right now)

02-11-2011, 07:09:06

Solidarity
Looking good for a lower end x79 board

02-11-2011, 08:55:28

daniSAUR
Why are motherboards with the ability to have 32gb of memory aimed towards gamers? Seeing as games nowadays don't even use 4gb?

Personally I'd have thought they'd be aimed towards people who utilize lots of ram?

02-11-2011, 13:33:53

badtaylorx
i saw whats under that tape elsewhere.......what a letdown!!!!

02-11-2011, 16:02:33

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

i saw whats under that tape elsewhere.......what a letdown!!!!
Killjoy.

13-11-2012, 13:50:23

SuB
Sorry to necro, but did this board ever get a review? I can't seem to find one only a preview.

16-11-2012, 02:52:18

rossi94
Very nice board, but I <3 my rampage .. Thunderbolt for X79 would be very cool.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.